We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service”
Review of Huyze Die Maene

Huyze Die Maene
Ranked #522 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for lunch, both waiters were rude and running around which did not create a relaxing atmosphere. We had to ask multiple times for service. The food is mediocre. Much better places in Brugges available for the same price. I would not recommend or visit this place ever again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    30
    8
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brugge
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst coffee ever and no service”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Worst coffee ever, coffee not strong and taste like water with a flavor. After informing the waiter, they did not take up at all. No service and only focussed to short term revenue. Price-quality under the limit.

Helpful?
1 Thank netherlands072
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
“Huyze die maene very good food”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My papa eat zeetong and my mom ribe eye and i eat kabljauw salad dessert chocolade mousse and crème bulee and vanille ice i was content with The food elisa belguim

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
197 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, we visited twice”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I'm surprised by the negative reviews recently on Tripadvisor! We visited Bruges just before Christmas and squeezed into this very, very busy restaurant for lunch. We ordered wine which came immediately in an ice bucket and our meal of linguine with smoked salmon and asparagus with parmesan shavings arrived a reasonable time later and was truly delicious. The place was very, very busy but this for us added to the pre-Christmas atmosphere, the whole of Bruges was buzzing. We found the waiters polite and helpful. The following day we returned for lunch and the waiter remembered us from the day before which was lovely, and amazing, seeing as he must have served literally hundreds of people in the intervening time! Another delicious lunch of Flemish Stew and chocolate mousse, followed by excellent coffee and brandy. We will definitely be eating here again on our next visit to Bruges.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst staff ever. Period.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

So we stumbled upon this restaurant after a long day in pretty Brugge hoping to have a decent dinner. Saw the menu displayed outside as Menu 16euro with a list of food in Dutch, decided to went in and asked what is that menu about. This particular waiter, with curly hair + slight mustache + specs, answered us in what i thought was quite a condescending tone that "You pay 16euros for the menu." and look at us smugly. The atmosphere throughout the entire dinner was so awkward amd uncomfortable when you can see the waiter serving the rest quite well yet was curt and unfriendly towards us. The food was nothing special and terribly expensive for the portion given. Overall the restaurant made us want to evacuate as soon as possible especially due to the terrible service of the waiter and his demeaning attitude. Wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babyycomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huyze Die Maene also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Huyze Die Maene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing