We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like staying with friends; good friends at that”
Review of B&B Bariseele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Bariseele
Ranked #16 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Its like staying with friends; good friends at that”
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We went for a weeks break in October, having been to Bruges the previous December. We chose Bariseele by reasearching on Trip Advisor.

Location wise, its ideal; in a pleasant residential area a short walk north of the centre. We drove from Calais and had no problem finding it. Parking in Bruges can be awkward, so it was good that they have some private parking nearby.

The room(s) were very comfortable, very clean, and the breakfast was really good. Benny is a splendid host, making sure that we had enough information and personal advice to ensure we made the most of our stay.

If you have never been to Bruges, do go, it's a beautiful city and very safe. I would recommend Bariseele to everyone, we plan to go back again.

David & Clare Britain

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanciaD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
251
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2010

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful, relaxing nights at Benny's Bariseele in June 2010. We have stayed at several B&B's in Europe, but there has been none better than this. Everything was perfect. Bariseele is just a 10 minute walk from the market centre of Brugge and is situated in a quiet, romantic setting, right next door to the beautiful St. Gilles church and a few steps from a canal and the bus stop. Benny was there to welcome us warmly, help us with our luggage and fill us in on all the sights to see, places to eat etc. Our room was exceptionally spacious, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. It was a pleasure to open wide the windows and sit back and enjoy the view over the church and the peaceful, cobbled street. The king bed was very comfortable and we had a small kitchenette with all the equipment necessary to prepare simple meals for ourselves if we chose. The fridge even contained a complimentary bottle of Belgian beer for us to sample. An ample continental breakfast (vegemite included especially for Australian guests) appeared on a tray at our door every morning at a time chosen by us, and on the weekend was served at our table by Benny himself. Benny suggested that some wonderful photo opportunities were to be had by strolling by the local canals in the evening, so we took his advice. We now have some amazing shots of the canals at night, with quite remarkable bridge reflections.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we could easily have stayed many more nights and we are sure that we would recommend Bariseele to anyone. On the morning we left, Benny kindly presented us with a bottle of “the best beer in Belgium”. We waited till we were in Amsterdam to try it and we have to say that it was very enjoyable and probably well deserves its title.
Thank you Benny for a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Davina and Ian

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I trawled the internet for somewhere to stay and found that the Bariseele had only positive reviews - and they are all so right. My sister and I were welcomed by Benny who gave us a good run down of where to go and what to see and then showed us to our room. It was excellent! I don't think there is any need to describe it as all the other reviewers have already done it justice. It was very comfortable, very clean and very cosy. We had a great time and would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone. Thanks Benny & Paul.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

From the welcome to the farewell our stay at The Bariseele was wonderful.
We arrived at 7.30pm after a long day travelling and Benny greeted us with a smile and a load of information on what there was to see and do in Brugges.
The room we had was on the top floor and was newly refurbished, with a comfortable king bed triple aspect window, all double glazed, small dining table, wardrobe, mini bar/fridge, microwave, kettle, a small selction of cutlery and glasses, flat screen TV, Ipod Dock etc, by the way the room was huge. Then there was the bathroom through a set of double doors, it was huge too with two washand basins, WC, bath and over bath shower.
There was huge fluffy towels with Barisleee embroidered on them too.

The breakfast which is included in the tarrif was served in you room Monday to Friday and left for you outside your door at 7.30am.
At the weekend breakfast is served by Benny in his families house, which forms one half of the three storey former hotel.
Breakfast consisted of a continental affair, with cereal, juice, bread, ham, cheese, fresh fruit and tea or coffee.

The Bariseele is about a ten minute walk from the main market square right next to St. Giles Church in a quiet part of the old town. It is a pleasant walk to all the main attractions.

If you arrive by train you can get a 4 or 14 bus (2 Euros) to within two minutes of the Bariseele or a Taxi which is about 10 Euros and takes about 5 minutes. It is a 30 minute walk.

If you are pulling a small wheeled case ( we carried small rucksacks), thanks Ryanair, the cobbles will drive you mad.

If you are arriving by Ryanair to Charleroi Airport it is recommended to get the local service bus to Charleroi South Station, get a train to Brussels Gar du Midi and another train to Brugges (about two hours pus waiting time).
The City shuttle bus is also available which we took, however we had to queue for about 30 minutes to get a ticket then the buses are every 30minutes, if you can get on.

All in all we cannot recommend the Bariseele highly enough for a visit to Brugges.

Thanks Benny

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

My husband and I stayed here in July at the start of a long trip. We stayed in the Bariseele but ate our breakfast and used the facility of the Hotel Fevery (which is next door) - please see the review under the Hotel Fevery - but the room was terrific and large adjoining eating area with fridge, etc. was welcome. Paul and Benny were wonderful and extraordinarily helpful. The bed was comfortable and with open windows and a spotless room we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuintessentialTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have stayed in four star hotels both in Europe and the UK that could learn a lot from the Bariseele,personal touch cannot be replaced by high prices and expensive rooms.
The Bariseele has taste, space in the rooms to die for and cleanliness second to none.
Benny told me ths week end that he has been open four and a half years and to me what he has acheived is nothing less than amazing, we would recommend this small but very homely B&B to anyone.
Lord & Lady Young.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry_b_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shack71881
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at Bariseele for 3 nights during our 3 week vacation throughout various cities in Europe. It was by far the best place we stayed in! Benny, the owner, was extremely helpful in giving tourist tips and helping us locate places to find good Belgium beers! The breakfasts were very enjoyable and included fresh foods from the local market. The rooms were clean and very spacious. We enjoyed our stay very much and would not hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shack71881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.8 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 231 in Bruges
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canal Deluxe B&B
Canal Deluxe B&B
#8 of 231 in Bruges
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Bariseele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Bariseele

Property: B&B Bariseele
Address: Collaert Mansionstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B Bariseele 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a romantic and comfort adult only stay in Bruges; Benny, Paul and their Family look forward to welcome you in their spacious rooms with family ambience and the amenities of a comfortable and luxury B&B with care for the environment. All suites have a private bathroom and the possibility for breakfast in the room and with free Wi-Fi coverage in the whole building. For your convenience, private parking is available and the cozy hotel salon is open to enjoy a Bruges beer. Private Parking and bicycles available. Local restaurants and pubs in our neighbourhood. Free Breakfast every day. Bariseele is located in a quiet neighborhood in the Historic Centre next to the 14th Cent. St. Gillis Church, 150 m from the Grand Canal 'Lange Rei' and only a stroll from Market Square, the Chocolate Museum and the Lace Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Bariseele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing