We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B In Bruges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B In Bruges
Ranked #99 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We received such a warm welcome from Livia and were made to feel right at home from the outset. The B&B is decorated with immaculate taste and forms the perfect base for exploring what is a wonderful city. The hospitality was second to none and the breakfasts were fantastic, including eggs from Livia's own chickens! I cannot recommend this beautiful establishment highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

We spent 2 nights at Livia's in Bruges last weekend and had a wonderful time. The B&B is in a perfect location to enjoy all Bruges has to offer. We were traveling with our 2 young children (2 and 4 years old) and reserved the "Room with a View" loft suite for our family. It was exactly as described on the website and worked quite well for our family. The beds were very comfortable and Livia had made up the baby cot nicely for our youngest child.
The room was very comfortable and well-appointed. Not luxurious, but charming, cozy, and sweet. The only downfalls were that the room was up quite a few flights of narrow, steep stairs. However it was not a problem for our children so no worries. The other negative was the lack of air conditioning which was not much of an issue except for the middle of the night when the room got a bit stuffy. Otherwise we had a very enjoyable stay!
Each morning Livia had a delicious breakfast for us, with fresh juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate for the children, and all sorts of yummies. Breads, pastries, farm fresh eggs and bacon, meats and cheeses, etc. Being at Livia's was like being at an aunt's house for the weekend- we were well taken care of!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nfowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

My partner and I were travelling to Bruges for me to have an operation, but we wanted to make it as pleasant a trip as possible.
By staying with Livia, it was a truly memorable and lovely trip!
So centrally located, it was an easy stroll round the main squares and shopping streets of this beautiful, historic city. Most important of all though was the welcome and support Livia gave us into her gorgeous and elegant home. She very quickly became like a friend, not only organising meals out for us but even driving us to the hospital! Although our "room with a view" was up at he top of the house and a lot of steep steps, it was an ideal place to recuperate and the well-equipped kitchen made it a home from home.
Despite our own kitchen, we couldn't resist Livia's sumptuous breakfast on several mornings - not only a vast array of lovely food but served in the cosiest of surroundings.
So instead of memories of a difficult time, we are looking forward to a trip back to Bruges and to Livia's Luxury B&B. Go... unless you would find steep steps a problem, you will be very glad you did!

Helpful?
Thank rozz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Spent a perfect 24 hours in Brugges thanks to Livia's wonderful hospitality. Very comfortable suite. Felt like a comfy home from the get go. Slept like a baby and the breakfast was 5 star! Livia even makes her own bread. And very helpful with restaurant, chocolate shop, sights, markets, you have it, she warmly gives suggestions. The location is perfect. Off the VERY touristy streets on a charming backstreet just a few meters from a sunny canal terrasse. Exquisite (romantic!) stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noyely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We had a fabulous 3 day trip at Livia's. The room with the view at the top of the house was just perfect for us - a family of five! Beautiful view over the rooftops of Bruges. Absolutely delicious breakfast - fantastic spread and homemade apple juice from Livia's own orchard. Livia's attention to detail cannot be surpassed - her warmth and attentiveness just perfect - you really could not ask for more. We highly recommend Livia's and upon our return to Bruges would stay there again. Livia bed and breakfast delivers a very personal touch. The b&b is perfectly situated in the centre of Bruges with everything close at hand. Thank you Livia for making our trip to Bruges so memorable. Cor, Lorraine, Tom, Becky & Sophie Hersbach

  • Liked — Style and location
  • Disliked — Maybe the stair climb
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Livia's. This B&B is a wunderful place to spend some romantic days in the heart of Brugge. Livia is a charming, helpful and entertaining but always discrete hostess. Our stay was perfect. We shall love to come back some day.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tata2008Tata2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

We followed advise from the Tripadvisor and booked Livia's bed and breakfast to celebrate my birthday.

It is a beautiful house and has a lot of character. We stayed in the suite on the second floor. The best thing about that room is the bed - it was very comfortable and it was hard to get out of in the morning.

Livia is a very interesting person and a business woman. She has a lot to say and likes to chat. Sometimes it is quite hard to get a sentence in.

Her breakfast was very very good. The eggs are from her own chickens, home made jams, bread, juice. Plenty of cold meats and cheeses. We ate a lot for breakfast and she was happy to give more.

Livia knows a lot about Bruges and recommended places to go and things to do. She will happily book a restaurant for you, check time table for trains and even ironed my husband's shirt free of charge. She is a very accommodating lady.

The only thing I would say is that the house has no carpet or any kind of cover on floor boards and stairs (there was 2 rugs in the room though) so when a family with two small children arrived very late at night it was very noisy, a lot of running around and bashing kitchen utensils and pots (room upstairs has a kitchen).

Another thing there was no shower in our suite, so you have to either hold a shower in your hand or have a bath. However it proved difficult as she obviously doesn't have a combinational boiler and the shower runs out of hot water very quickly. You have to turn it off and then on again if you want to have more or less hot shower. Which doesn't give you a quick or satisfyingly hot shower and is very inconvenient if you want to wash your hair. I think for the price something like that could have been a bit better. However some people might look at it as a part of the character of the house and would like that?

Apart from that everything was great.

  • Liked — The bed, location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Noisy floor boards and akward shower.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#40 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavalier
Hotel Cavalier
#52 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B De Bornedrager
B&B De Bornedrager
#44 of 228 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boterhuis
Hotel Boterhuis
#20 of 228 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Next Door Bed & Breakfast
Next Door Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 228 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calis Bed & Breakfast
Calis Bed & Breakfast
#67 of 228 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B In Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B In Bruges

Property: B&B In Bruges
Address: Riddersstraat 22, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Livia's Luxe Bed & Breakfast Brugge)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — B&B In Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B In Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livia`s Luxe Bed And Breakfast Brugge
Livia`s Luxe Bed & Breakfast Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing