We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location, cozy & friendly”
Review of Double Door B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Double Door B&B
Ranked #152 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good location, cozy & friendly”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Double Door has a good location on a quiet street quite close to Burg Square and one block from the Vis Markt where there is a bus stop. Pierre and Junko greet you warmly and enthusiastically and give you a nice orientation to Bruges (he also is a canal boat guide). They made good restaurant recommendations for us. As with a lot of Europe, the B&B has stairs. Those to the top floor are very steep, the second floor pretty typical. So if you can't manage stairs, look elsewhere. The beds are super cozy. We moved from one room to another (our fault due to changed plans) - the top floor was very quiet but small with very steep stairs, tiny shower. But so cozy! The middle floor room was larger and with a bit more street noise and sounds from downstairs, but not bad at all. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, Junko offered to make eggs, bacon and other hot items. Easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see in Bruges and we even walked to the train station when we departed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0M0H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in June on our way back to Dunkirk after 3 weeks camping in Italy. This has to be the best stopover we have ever had! Junko and Piere were kind and wonderful hosts who shared their house and enthusiastically recommended places to eat and visit. The house is very centrally located and uniquely decorated with artistic flare! I would have no hesitation in recommending this great Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting The city and will definitely stay there again if ever in Bruges.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Al
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived in Bruges after 25 hours of travel and were greeted by Junko. She made us feel totally at home. The location is excellent, the accommodations were clean and comfortable, and Pierre and Junko were wonderful, caring hosts. The breakfasts were abundant and delicious. Next time we go to Belgium, we'll definitely plan to stay at Double Door!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Todds_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A fabulous B&B--truly excellent in every way. As everyone else has indicated--Pierre and Junko are warm, friendly and enormously helpful hosts. Comfortable room, a quiet street, great location, and yummy breakfast make this the place to stay in Bruges.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesJ1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were attracted by the very good reviews of this B & B and all they wrote about it was true!
Location could not be better,town center is just around the corner and the property is very well kept,comfortable room,clean, nice bathroom. I have to mention the patio,it is small but
there are many plants growing everywhere.
And now,the highlight of B&B:the hosts, Junko and Pierre,the warmest people I've seen before,they gave us advices about what to do,what to see,where to eat and drink.
Breakfast was very good,plenty of meat,cheese,fresh baked croissants and even home made waffles warm and very tasty!
Parking just in front of the house was a plus.

All in all,a memorable stay,if we are coming back in Bruges this is the only place we like to stay in,

Thank you Junko and Pierre !

Room Tip: Choose a room at a lower floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandrinaDragomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I wanted my time in Brugge to be special for my Fiance. After some time consuming research I committed to the Double Door for several reasons. The Double Door delivered.
Large clean room. The bed was first class comfort. The bathroom was clean and contemporary.
The breakfast was over the top with Junko preparing eggs any way you like, fresh bread, croissants, breakfast meats, cheeses, fruit....I could go on.
Location. Are you kidding! Walking distance to everywhere.
Finally, you can only hope for good hosts. Junko and Pierre are great hosts and provided great advice on eats and drinks that were spot on.
Junko and Pierre made it a lovely stay and made our vacation a warm and comfortable experience. When I get back to Brugge there is only one place to stay.
J & Ch

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My finace look me to Bruges for my Birthday and we stayed with Pierre & Junko, who were warm, kind and generous hosts. They gave us wonderful advice as to where to eat and drink and were wonderfully looked after.
The room we stayed in was large, immaculate and had a fully stocked en suite bathroom.

We will be going back- which is the highest compliment I can pay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2b, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#66 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#57 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#26 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#44 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tripel B
Tripel B
#94 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Door B&B

Property: Double Door B&B
Address: Waalsestraat 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Double Door B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing