We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“double door= amazing”
Review of Double Door B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Double Door B&B
Ranked #151 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“double door= amazing”
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We arrived after a long journey to the double door and received one of the warmest and friendliest welcomes we have ever received. The b and b itself is located in the best location in brugges, it is literally a two minute walk to all the sights which is soo handy. The room we had was lovely, very modern and immaculate and the bed , wow the bed, so comfortable , better than any hotels we stayed in. The breakfast was amazing , just about everything u can think of was available, gave us a great start for the day. Junko and pierre could not have been friendlier and gave us so much information on what to do and see, was very very helpful. As a frequent traveller I could not recommended anywhere more than double door, you would be crazy to go to bruges and not stay here :)

  • Liked — it was so comfortable and in a prime location
  • Disliked — nothing, it as perfect
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaffo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
50
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

I was desperate to find a B&B for a Friday night in Bruges (most will only book 2 nights on weekend nights) and stumbled across Double Door.

Junko and Pierre could not have been more welcoming, accomodating and professional. The location is superb....literally not a better location in Bruges. I couldn't fit in the parking garage due to the height of my car, but Junko moved their car and gave me a parking disc to park right in front -- some B&Bs in Bruges tell you literally that you are on your own with parking.

Beds were amazingly comfortable. Bathroom was compact but spotless. Nice touch like hairdryers, Q tips, shampoo and soaps. Great selection of English channels on the flat screen TV.

Breakfast was excellent -- fruit, fresh pastries, cereals, eggs, cheese/meats.

I would definately stay here again, it was wonderful.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — There was one drunk, loud guy that passed by outside around 3 am.....
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2008

I am writing this review some 10 months after we stayed at Double Door but since there is another review I guess that Bruge's best kept secret is out of the bag. I think we were Pierre and Junko's second guests and we were taken aback by their warmth and charm. This may be their business but you do feel as if you have been personally invited to share their home while you stay there. They are a very humourous and knowledgeable couple who will advise you where the best places are to visit and eat. The actual B & B is reasonably sized but the rooms are furnished well and the bathrooms are very clean. The beds are very comfortable and since staying there we have even bought similar sheets because our sleep was so good (still is!). Downstairs is a Sitting Room, a small courtyard and a breakfast area where you will receive one of the best breakfasts in Europe!! There is usually one space to park your car outside the B&B but there is a large underground car park only a stones throw away and the rates are very reasonable. As the other reviewer has written, this B&B is located right in the centre of Bruges and it will take less than 5 minutes to reach all the major attarctions. However, Double Door is located behind the main tourist streets so you will not be disturbed at night. Therefore you get the best of both worlds.

  • Liked — Warmth of welcome, great breakfast, cosy bedrooms
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BorderPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2008

I stayed in double door b&b just last week - it was FANTASTIC!! I am not exaggerating, it truly is the best B&B I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in a lot, all over England and Europe - I have stayed in some pretty good b&bs but this one truly beat them all in terms of location, cleanliness, beautiful house, beautifully decorated rooms, best high quality breakfast ever and best of all, really fantastic and lovely warm owners - Junko and Pierre. Firstly, the location is perfect - Bruges is a small town, but this B&B is really perfect - it is literally 10-20metres from the Fishmarket - literally 10 seconds walk to the main shopping area, where you catch the boats for canal cruises and about 1 minute walk to Market Square. Is about 30 seconds walk to the Burg. In short, the location is the best you could hope for whilst at the same time being away from the crowds and noise.
Secondly - the house - you can imagine when I tell you that Pierre used to be an interior decorator designer how beautiful the house is - the house is decorated in very modern and funky style, and Pierre has many beautiful artifacts that he's decorated the whole house with. The rooms are fantastically pretty as well - everything is new, and extremely extremely clean. The breakfast area is very quaint and cute, if the weather is nice, you can take breakfast outside in the wintergarden which has beautifully manicured plants.
Thirdly - the breakfast - is fantastic - see pictures - there is a lot of variety, continental type breakkie as well as hot breakkie like bacon and eggs etc. Junko is also really great, she will also squeeze fresh orange juice on the spot for you. There is a great selection of cold hams and cured meats, all of really high quality - the gourmet type. Huge selection of bread, croissants and Belgian pastry - all of supreme quality. Fresh tea and coffee, and my husband says, the best coffee he has ever had!
Fourthly - this really deserves a big mention - the bedsheets and linen and quilts - they are supreme!! it's really unbelievable how soft and wonderful the sheets are!!! it's seriously amazing, i am NOT the type of person who would normally notice these things, but honestly, when i slipped in between the sheets for the first time, my goodness! it was so so soft and i've never felt anything like it. when I asked Junko the next day about it, it turns out that she uses only silk cotton sheets and she personally irons them herself all the time to ensure that they are soft and silky! wondeful!
Fifthly - if the above reasons are not good enough to convnince you that this really IS the absolute best place ever for you to stay in Bruges, the owners, Pierre and Junko - they really are the most wonderful and sweetest people ever...Junko is very sweet and is happy to do absolutely everything she can to help you - Pierre is a really sweet Belgian local who is very friendly, happy to help you and is a really funny guy to joke around with. They are both truly the best B&B couple I have ever encountered. I bought about 55 bottles of fruit beer to bring back to London and they were so sweet and Junko went all out of her way to find bags and ways to make sure that we could pack everything nicely into our luggage. She was so sweet she even arranged for a taxi to come and take us to the station. In short, Pierre and Junko are the absolute sweetest people ever. In addition, both Pierre and Junko used to be ex-tour guides of Bruges, so they will absolutely be able to give you top class suggestions for food, restuarants, sights to go see and all the best chocolate shops to go to which they can give you discounts for. The restaurant they recommended to me for dinner was the best meal we had at Bruges. The other restaurant they recommended us for mussels was also the best ever!!
If the above isn't enough to convince you, honestly, just take a look at the photos i've posted and take a look for yourself. I am not the type to bother writing reviews on places i've stayed in as i am usually too lazy to do these sorts of things - but this one was so amazing and top class, that I really thought I must make a point of doing it for this b&b. When I was at the b&b, all the rooms were completely booked out. So if you are planning to go Bruges, I suggest that you get in there quick and make your booking.

  • Liked — Location, Owners, Cleanliness, Beautiful house and room, best breakfast and bedsheets ever!
  • Disliked — nothing - it was without exception FABULOUS!!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
Hotel 't Voermanshuys
#67 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Olympia Bruges
Hotel Olympia Bruges
#57 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tripel B
Tripel B
#94 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Door B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Door B&B

Property: Double Door B&B
Address: Waalsestraat 12, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Double Door B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing