We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb charming guestroom”
Review of iRoom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
iRoom
Ranked #76 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed in Room n°1 which is a really lovely and sunny room with superb ensuite bathroom. The bed is also really comfortable. So we slept well and enjoyed the nice breakfast the day after. We got everything we could wish for. Very friendly hostess who welcomes you with tea or coffee. She is also a city guide who knows the city very well and is very helpful in giving interesting tips to discover Bruges. We could recommend this guesthouse to everyone and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

During one night my girlfriend and I stayed in room number 3 of the iRoom guesthouse. The online booking went smoothly and we were kindly welcomed by one of the three owners (the guesthouse is being held during winter by a very kind woman - who is a recognized city of Bruges guide - and during summer by her two suns - one of which is a chef cook).

The room was ready at the agreed time and was very clean. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and a short tour in the building (we could see the other two rooms as well as the other guests did not yet arrive), and both of those other rooms also looked really nice, I especially liked the room number 1 - the most expensive one - which has the biggest bathroom and a tremendous view on the water. I booked a room with view on the garden because I am a rather 'difficult sleeper' but actually the street is quite calm so my worries were inappropriate. Although the 'cheaper' room it was really enjoyable as well...

The owner immediately took the time to tell us some more about Bruges and although we are Belgians ourselves she raised our interest to visit some 'little wonders', a couple of places that are unknown to the public. Furthermore we received some quality advice on restaurants, even vegetarian ones. The owner was even prepared to arrange for a reservation in a restaurant while we were unpacking, so this was some unexpected help.

The night was really great, as we were welcomed back by the owner and her husband. We enjoyed the quality beds and exactly at the agreed time we received a very nice freshly made breakfast including tea or coffee, fresh orange juice, eggs, cheese, jam, some fruit etc. Nice breakfast, one of the better we already received in guesthouses.

Afterwards we finished packing and while taking a tour in Bruges we had the possibility to leave our luggage in the guesthouse until we decided to return home at 7 p.m. If agreed with the owner, presence of soemone of the family is foreseen at all times.

Therefore I regret the comments and the low rating by rew01 (West Yorkshire) because his experience (although never been there) is not in line with the friendliness and willingness to please of the family. We like the contact with people hosting a guesthouse and we never had problems with any guesthouse staff although we have seen many like 'house rules'. Basically, we were free to come and go at any time and we could discuss and agree with the owner on a case-by-case treatment (e.g. you can leave your phone number at the reception, you can agree on a specific time, ...). In a guesthouse with three rooms it is vital to understand that if you want e.g. class treatment with fresh ingredients in the morning, staff should have the possibilty to collect such ingredients, and guesthouse owners should not by definition be prisoners in their own house. If you have special needs e.g. if you'd like an afternoon nap, I am convinced without any doubt that this can be discussed and agreed with the owners, especially the ones we met in iRoom.

I will certainly recommend iRoom to friends and family, and I am sure that the next time I'll spend the night in Bruges, it will be in iRoom guesthouse.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltachino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

My partner and I stayed the night of February 22nd. I booked the spacy room and also the parking place at a very good price regarding the comfort, the luxurious bed and bath room (including a rain shower) and the location in the centre of Bruges.
We appreciated also the welcoming and the specific introduction about Bruges from the owner.

A tastefull and large breakfast served in the room, the lovely view on the canals, the modern music, tv and IT technology made it complete.

One conclusion, this is a very nice place to stay regarding the service and the price!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kohelira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Please be warned!!!
I booked to stay at this hotel for 5 days. When I received my confirmation I clicked on a small link at the bottom entitled 'House rules'. Lucky I did! The house rules state that you are not allowed in your room during daylight hours (10am - 5pm)and that you must hand in your key when you leave in the morning! I immediately cancelled the booking. I am amazed that they can rent you a room for £99/night and then not allow you to use it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
3  Thank rew01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skiwie, Owner at iRoom, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2009

We deplore being judged by someone who never visited us in real, but is still welcome to do so.
All our guests know on a simple demand that in practice, there is always permanence all day, and in any case, it is our pleasure to conform us to the wishes of our distinguished guests : our foremost intention is to communicate with them and to respect their particular program (walks, some British weather in Belgium, fatigue, jet lag etc….). Their comfort is our absolute priority.
Check out time is and has always been noon (gentle Warning: not 10 AM).
Check in time is 4 PM, but of course our guests are always welcome to drop their luggage before, as to enjoy walking around freely. When you rent our private garage, you can already park your car from noon on.
Gentle Warning: Price of room n° 1 is not – as mentioned - £ 99, but only 99 euro, as Belgium is situated in the Eurozone, and Bruges is not London.
Complete and sincere transparency is offered as our House Rules and indeed very flexible Cancellation Policy are published on our website and our professional booking forms, in which we explicitly invite our guests to check them, as to inform them loyally.
We are not – as mentioned - a “hotel” at all, but an exclusive 3-room B&B, and as a service, we insist on showing our guests in and out anytime, which adds also to personal security, appreciated by all. As a 3-lingual official city guide, I take this moment also as an excellent opportunity to offer cultural information.
House Rules mention only that in the afternoon (noon – 4 PM) no permanence is guaranteed “unless otherwise agreed”. As a matter of fact, “10 AM” was never – ever - mentioned in any of our documents, written or on-line, or any other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. We had room number one. It was very luxurious and stylish decorated, with large bathroom (with bath and rain shower). The room itself was very spacious with a huge double bed. There's a lovely view on the canals from the room.

The breakfast is very good, with several warm breads (like croissants and pain au chocolat), fruits, yoghurts, and an egg. They served our breakfast in our room, so we had a great view on the canal while eating the nice breakfast.

There's a dvd-player (no dvd's so you should bring them, if you're planning on watching a dvd) in the room and a flatscreen tv, very modern. They also have a docking station for your I-pod/I-phone, which is quite handy if you want to listen to some music!

The hostess (Anne) is very kind and she can tell you very much about Bruges. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We had a wonderful stay in Brugges, complimented by the great reception we received at iRoom. We were made to feel really welcome, and were blown away by the romantic breakfast by the canal. A really good stay, and one we will certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aafo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludovicdierickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
10.5 mi away
Woodside Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iRoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iRoom

Address: Verversdijk 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £87 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive luxury, stylish design, and romanance in the hart of Bruges’ inner city, at an authentic site with modern comfort, iRoom provides outstanding services.iRoom is your ideal residence during your stay: large rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms with large rainshowers, a delicious oven fresh breakfast and a personal welcoming.Discover Bruges and feel at home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing