We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic city, magic meal”
Review of Restaurant Couvert

Restaurant Couvert
Ranked #70 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic city, magic meal”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Restaurant Couvert is located on a quiet street one block from one of Bruges' charming canals. Because our B and B owner had recommended this (along with several other nearby restaurants), we expected a good meal. However, we were not prepared for one this exceptional.

First to appear were three small bowls, one with radishes, one with green olives and one with tiny sea snails. This amuse bouche suggested this meal was going to be an interesting one. We studied the menu, which was in both Flemish and French, having fun trying to decide on the English translation. The proprietor (the place is run by a wife and husband team with the wife in the front of the house and the husband in the kitchen) appeared to explain the selections. We decided on the three course prix fixe with accompanying wines.

Each course was exceptional, with the highlight being tender lamb topped with a delicious duxcelle. The wines well matched to the courses and the serving size was generous. The hostess was charming and we certainly enjoyed our time at this delightful restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    45
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Restaurant was recommended by a local business man. Our entire experience was a "10". Food, service and ambience were all amazing. We highly recommend this restaurant. Price was fair and wine portions generous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jb5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
256 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The food was up to the usual standard one would expect from central Bruges, but given the setting and the very nice décor the place totally lacked any kind of atmosphere or charm. A little background music would dispel this, but it is very small and the slightest conversation at the table seemed to resonate around the other diners. We had great hopes for this place from the outside and while the food was fine we came away feeling somewhat disappointed. The staff were efficient but not especially friendly. An OK place for a competently cooked meal, but don't go there for a special occasion. There are better options for that in Bruges.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixie_Cup_Refil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening meal”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The proprietor of the B&B recommended this restaurant along with a number of other restaurants which were open on Sunday night so no favouritism.

It's off the main square and across the canal in a quite little street. It was inviting from the outside and looked cosy, there were only two other diners so we had no problem getting a seat. By the end of the evening a further eight people turned up.

The restaurant appears to be geared up for couples as most of the tables were doubles although tables could be put together to accommodate larger parties.

We had the set menu €38 each, this is for three course, the starter was shrimps on an avocado mousse. These were similar to Morecambe Bay shrimps but from Zeebrugge. The main course was a lovely piece of lamb steak really well cooked that melted in your mouth. This was served with carrots and very tasty dauphinoise potatoes. Dessert was mascarpone with fresh berries. We also had an entree of olives, radishes and winkles.

We had three beers and two coffee's, the total price was €104 plus tip. The ambiance was pleasant and much to my amazement the background music included a Nils Lofgren song never heard that in a restaurant before! It was an unhurried meal, the service was as I like it, not intrusive and none of this how was your meal sir, everything ok sir.

Very enjoyable and recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheAdmiralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

we dined here after reading some amazing reviews from TripAdvisor.

The restaurant is basically a converted front room of a lovely corner house with seating for about 20.
It is run by a husband and wife team with the front of house being run by the lady.

it is a charming setting and we sat down for dinner at about 7.45.

Now the menu is in French and Flemish. My gripe with this is that on the particular night we dined there 80% of the diners were English.
This resulted in the menu being described several times; surely easier to print it in English I thought!

The starter was a mix of Langoustine and green asparagus, very beautifully cooked with a great Jus. I was a little disappointed at the Langoustine portion given this was nearly 20 euros a plate.
My main of beef was fine but didn't strike me as a particularly quality piece of beef.

No dessert followed but we had coffee in very small cups half filled.

The atmosphere was OK but our host wasn't particularly engaging other than being interested in in how we came about finding her restaurant.

The cost at £181 Euros including a bottle of wine seemed on the high side to me.

I spent less in the Park restaurant the following evening and had a much better meal and overall experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank biggeorge40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Couvert also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Restaurant Couvert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing