We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outstanding, and reasonable priced”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #11 of 713 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just outstanding, and reasonable priced”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute and were able to get right in. Had the dinner for two. Squid and lamb chops. The service was outstanding and the two waiters covere the whole crowd easily. Paris was a great waiter and spoke about the US and made nice recommendations on dinner and wine. Will go back for sure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,621
    393
    92
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food, super friendly people”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Amazing restaurant in the very city centre, just few steps away from the Belfry. Service was excellent, the waiter was so kind and nice, and we didn't wait too long for the food. The meal was delicious, everything was fresh, we really enjoyed it! Unfortunately there is only one vegetarian dish. Atmosphere is great as well, everything is in wood and the place is warm and welcoming. Not expensive at all, for such a good meal and lovely service. I will definetely go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Superb place, do not miss it!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I booked this place for my girlfriends birthday meal whilst staying in Bruges after carefully trawling TA to ensure it would be good. It was superb, they fitted us in at late notice. They bought out a birthday cake for her and sang happy birthday. The service was perfect and the food too. The place itself is very clean and quirky in design.
If we lived nearby we would use this place weekly. Keep it up guys your doing a great job!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOJONO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lommel, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Greek Food”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

The greatest food with fresh ingredients served by genuine super friendly people.

Good looking interior.

We started with some cold and hot Greek 'tapaz'. Main dishes Lamb Grilled to perfection and Sword Fish that melted on the tongue.

Coffee and thee afterwards with a some cake.

Helpful?
Thank Nico_vD74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
554 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Still producing consistently delicious meals”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have been regular visitors at this restaurant since it opened a number of years ago. We have always been pleased with the food and service. It is extremely popular being high in the ratings so do book in advance. They turn many people away.

This year I think they have some different starters on the menu which were delicious. My wife and I shared two of the chicken dishes for the main course. There is plenty of choice on the menu. I had some Greek wine with the meal. We were given a complimentary cake dish after the main course, which filled us up, so we didn't need a dessert, In the past I have experienced their delicious desserts.

When they get busy I know that service does become a little slow, but the decor is enjoyable to look at. This visit it didn't seem to be a problem, but we did arrive early at 6 pm as I knew that they wanted my table for another booking at 8 pm. No problem for us on this occasion.

The food is nicely presented and the staff friendly and knowledgeable about the dishes on offer. It is a husband and wife team and they pride themselves on producing a pleasant experience for their customers. They are Greek I believe and speak good English.

Do visit if you can get in. Worth e mailing or phoning before you arrive in Bruges to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing