We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and generous :D” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #9 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing and generous :D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here with friends after making a last minute booking based on trip advisor reviews and the reviews don't even begin to cover this little gem :) amazing Greek food, amazing atmosphere and such generosity..... Fresh pitta, salad, traditional Greek dessert n wine all provide as standard which we would gladly had paid for but as they came on the house generous tipping was in order as this is a superb friendly place with amazing food. Highly reccomended just off market square :D

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,535
    371
    87
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic evening meal here in May. The location is very central being just off the main square. The food was delicious and the enthusiastic, polite service was second to none.
Prices a reasonable for a city center restaurant. We really enjoyed our aperitif G&T with a sprinkle of ground pepper. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hillbilly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant, friendly owners, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

At The Olive Tree, owners put quality before quantity. Meaning that you will probably need to book in advance if you wish to eat there.
The atmosphere is really pleasant, food was good and reasonably priced for Bruges standards - we did wait a long time to get our main course but the waitress offered the desserts as a compensation, which is really nice. Now the portions could have been a bit bigger in my opinion, but it's maybe because we were starving when we got there.

When you're sick of the mussels and fries, this place is perfect to have a good time and enjoy a healthy meal! :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartCookina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We loved this restaurant right next to the market square, the ambience is simple but very nice. The food coming from the open kitchen was surprisingly good, but most mentionable was the very personal service, very friendly and nice people!

Helpful?
Thank wjboogerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedreguer, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a perfectly wonderful evening at this restaurant. The food was excellent especially the meatball starter. Not only was the sauce delicious but there were plenty of them.
The service you couldn't fault. The owner came to check on us often & was happy to chat to us about how long he had been open & a little about his family. We learnt that it was a family business with mama doing a lot of the cooking. Great! We were given a orange cake dessert for free to try & it melted in our mouths. Lovely liquor to finish with coffee. The price was reasonable too.
Definitely recommend anyone to try it out. Also In the middle of Bruges so easy to get to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane5278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing