We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Supurb Olive Tree”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #10 of 710 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Supurb Olive Tree”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Ive never written a review before but wanted to for this amazing restaurant. The place is gorgeous, the food is fabulous, the owner was absolutely charming. Couldn't be better!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,596
    386
    90
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Greek Restaurant in EUROPE”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My wife Danielle and I love Greek food. We researched where to have Greek long before our trip to France, London and Bruges. We learned this was supposed to be the top Greek restaurant in town and it did not disappoint. First of all the service was flat out OUTSTANDING. Paris, the owner, and his family run the place and they make you feel at home. My wife and I shared an appetizer that featured an assortment of Greek spreads to go with our Pita bread, olives and olive oil. It was delicious. For my main course I had perfectly cooked Lamb Chops and my wife was blown away by the excellent Grilled Calamari. There are pictures of this dish from other travellers on this site. Please order this - it is wonderful. We ended up purchasing some items from the restaurant and we were also honored to receive a complimentary dessert and after dinner drinks from our hosts. What a tremendous experience. We told half a dozen people outside the restaurant who were considering it to make a reservation immediately. Paris - we miss you! Ian and Danielle.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iannation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Forget all the tourist restaurants that are serving the same menu everywhere... The Olive Tree is amazing, wonderful home made Greek food at it's best, a great experience all round, cosy and so welcoming ... do not miss this family run restaurant when you visit Bruges you won't be disappointed, I just wish all restaurant staff were this friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh food, a Fantastic family run restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visited as a group of 8. I had emailed prior to arriving in Brugge to see if they could accommodate my son's peanut/tree nut and lupine allergy. They got back to me quickly and we made our reservation via email. When we arrived we got drinks and several appetizers. The pita and tzaziki was amazing. Our main dishes were also delicious, and you can tell everything was made fresh. My son was excited to eat safely and his chicken souvlaki was treacly good. At the end of dinner our waiter (and owner) brought out complimentary ice cream for kids and the most amazing orange cake for adults. 2 weeks later we are still talking about the great meal we had at the Olive Tree. It is only a block or so from the main square, too, so it's very convenient to find.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2_little_monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We last visited the Olive Tree in December 2011, and found it to be every bit as good as ever on our recent return.
The decor is very tasteful, and the whole room has a comfortable feel about it. It is a family run restaurant, and it shows. The service is ever so friendly, polite and attentive. Every guest is made to feel relaxed and at home. The food quality and presentation has kept its very high standards, and is obviously prepared with care.
The Olive Tree is deservedly a very popular restaurant, so it's always best to book a table in advance. You won't be disappointed. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolcatMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing