We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint,stylish Bed and Breakfast walking distance from the train and market”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baert Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #145 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Baert is a stylish B and B in a restored 17th century stable that belonged to a convent. They offer two bright rooms, one has a private ensuite in the room and the other has a private ensuite down the hall. Both rooms are nice but smallish. Bopth rooms have private trerraces that catch the sun.
The B and B is delightful and each morning a good breakfast is served. The B and B is within walking distance of the train station and central market and Belfry. They can provide many suggestions on where to eat and what to do. We tried two of their suggestion, Vand Den Loppper and Belle Epoque, both were good. The b and b has a fridge in the room and they offer you a free Brugges beer on arrival and send you on your way with a sampling of Belgian chocolates. An excellent place to stay for a memorable experience!. We would go back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice , ask for the room with the ensuite in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craigsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We booked Baert Bed and Breakfast after reading the brilliant reviews on Trip Advisor and we were certainly not disappointed. We had a very warm welcome as soon as we arrived at Baert B&B and were so impressed with the Red Room where we were staying. The decor is beautiful and the room felt very warm and cosy. We really appreciated the complimentary wine and beer provided - a very nice touch! It was just about warm enough for us to spend some time on the balcony right next to a canal which was very relaxing and peaceful.

The breakfast provided was delicious every single day - fresh bread, croissants, fruit, cereal and freshly squeezed orange juice and lots of other things too!

The location of the B&B is perfect - in the middle between the train station and the centre of Brugge and an easy walk to both places. Brugge as a city is absolutely stunning - there are beautiful buildings everywhere you look and we spent many happy hours wandering through the pretty streets.

Throughout our stay, our hosts were welcoming and friendly and when we left Huub gave us some Belgian chocolates which were lovely! I would definitely recommend Baert B&B to anyone visiting Brugge - it made our holiday even more special and memorable. Thank you!

Room Tip: We chose the Red Room because it has an en-suite bathroom but we did peek into the Yellow Room and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kernowgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A cozy atmosphere and romantic scent of the old city, careful attitude of the owner to the small but important details left the most pleasant and unforgettable impression of the fall Bruges.
Thanks for the sincere and truly warm welcome.
Olesya and Vadim. Israel
October 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtimakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed four nights in the newly renovated Golden room. It had a comfortable queen size bed, TV, refrigerator and a lovely patio on a canal. The sink and vanity were in the room and the private shower/ toilet are directly across the hallway. There is a hairdryer, coffee and tea in the room. The refrigerator was great to store the Kriek we purchased. The location could not be better and everything is within walking distance. The streets are cobblestone so wear good walking shoes. Huub, Jeannine and Haru are fabulous hosts. Huub is very knowledgeable and is a good resource of information on Belgium. His breakfasts are delicious and we so loved the fresh squeezed orange juice. There are only two rooms and we enjoyed talking with the other couple each morning during breakfast. Jeannine is a fabulous artist and her work is shown throughout their home. We bought a drawing to frame and hang in our home as a lovely reminder of our stay. We plan on staying again next spring when we return to Brugge.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trvl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I can't say enough good things about this incredibly charming B&B. The building is a 17th century formal stable and there are only 2 rooms. We arrived by train and it was a rather short walk to the B&B (though it is located at the END of a long bumpy cobblestoned street but still do-able with lots of luggage) and our host Huub was gracious and very informative about the area. Our room was the red Morrocan inspired room with a lovely patio on one of the oldest canals in Brugge. Though it was too cold to sit outside, we still enjoyed our view. The room was impeccable with many personal touches and we had a complimentary drink from the minibar. Breakfast was delicious. The most impressive thing was that all the bread, including the croissants, are made fresh right there in the kitchen. You can't beat warm croissants out of the oven. And the location is great though Brugge is not very big and you can walk just about everywhere. I highly recommend this gem of a place and the price can't be beat!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mbloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

A short walk from the train station and very well located to get to any of the old city's attractions. The TI is only a short block away. The red room is very comfortable and cozy. Haru, the true owner of the place (a yorkshire terrier) tries to be aloof but quickly acquiesces to belly rubs. Free coffee and hot chocolate in the rooms, free wi-fi with a good signal, and the 1st 2 beers or wine included in the stay help this to stand out above others. The only downside was that the king size bed was 2 twin mattresses that separated a little leading to someone sleeping "in the crack" on occasion.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidgrahammd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

very cozy hotel in the center of bruges! very nice breakfast !!!! And ofcours a very friendly host! :)

Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
Thank DafneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
1.0 mi away
St Christopher's Inn at the Bauhaus
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
2.2 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#66 of 97 in Bruges
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baert Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baert Bed & Breakfast

Address: Westmeers 28, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Baert Bed And Breakfast
Baert Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing