We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely the best in Bruges!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baert Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baert Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #125 of 228 Bruges B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surely the best in Bruges!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in this gorgeous B&B for a week whilst I attended a conference at the nearby conference centre and we didn't want to leave! Like all previous reviews stated, the breakfast was amazing, the red room very pretty and had everything we needed (also the various coffees/teas/beer/wine) and Haru is the cutest little doggie in the world!

Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Huub & Jeannine, but Marianne stood in for them and was a fabulous host! She gave us recommendations for restaurants as well as where to find the best beer and chocolates.

I really enjoyed staying here, and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I never saw the yellow/golden room, but the red room has it's own bathroom, which is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilizeBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Baert is a stylish B and B in a restored 17th century stable that belonged to a convent. They offer two bright rooms, one has a private ensuite in the room and the other has a private ensuite down the hall. Both rooms are nice but smallish. Bopth rooms have private trerraces that catch the sun.
The B and B is delightful and each morning a good breakfast is served. The B and B is within walking distance of the train station and central market and Belfry. They can provide many suggestions on where to eat and what to do. We tried two of their suggestion, Vand Den Loppper and Belle Epoque, both were good. The b and b has a fridge in the room and they offer you a free Brugges beer on arrival and send you on your way with a sampling of Belgian chocolates. An excellent place to stay for a memorable experience!. We would go back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice , ask for the room with the ensuite in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We booked Baert Bed and Breakfast after reading the brilliant reviews on Trip Advisor and we were certainly not disappointed. We had a very warm welcome as soon as we arrived at Baert B&B and were so impressed with the Red Room where we were staying. The decor is beautiful and the room felt very warm and cosy. We really appreciated the complimentary wine and beer provided - a very nice touch! It was just about warm enough for us to spend some time on the balcony right next to a canal which was very relaxing and peaceful.

The breakfast provided was delicious every single day - fresh bread, croissants, fruit, cereal and freshly squeezed orange juice and lots of other things too!

The location of the B&B is perfect - in the middle between the train station and the centre of Brugge and an easy walk to both places. Brugge as a city is absolutely stunning - there are beautiful buildings everywhere you look and we spent many happy hours wandering through the pretty streets.

Throughout our stay, our hosts were welcoming and friendly and when we left Huub gave us some Belgian chocolates which were lovely! I would definitely recommend Baert B&B to anyone visiting Brugge - it made our holiday even more special and memorable. Thank you!

Room Tip: We chose the Red Room because it has an en-suite bathroom but we did peek into the Yellow Room and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kernowgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

A cozy atmosphere and romantic scent of the old city, careful attitude of the owner to the small but important details left the most pleasant and unforgettable impression of the fall Bruges.
Thanks for the sincere and truly warm welcome.
Olesya and Vadim. Israel
October 2011.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtimakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed four nights in the newly renovated Golden room. It had a comfortable queen size bed, TV, refrigerator and a lovely patio on a canal. The sink and vanity were in the room and the private shower/ toilet are directly across the hallway. There is a hairdryer, coffee and tea in the room. The refrigerator was great to store the Kriek we purchased. The location could not be better and everything is within walking distance. The streets are cobblestone so wear good walking shoes. Huub, Jeannine and Haru are fabulous hosts. Huub is very knowledgeable and is a good resource of information on Belgium. His breakfasts are delicious and we so loved the fresh squeezed orange juice. There are only two rooms and we enjoyed talking with the other couple each morning during breakfast. Jeannine is a fabulous artist and her work is shown throughout their home. We bought a drawing to frame and hang in our home as a lovely reminder of our stay. We plan on staying again next spring when we return to Brugge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trvl1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

I can't say enough good things about this incredibly charming B&B. The building is a 17th century formal stable and there are only 2 rooms. We arrived by train and it was a rather short walk to the B&B (though it is located at the END of a long bumpy cobblestoned street but still do-able with lots of luggage) and our host Huub was gracious and very informative about the area. Our room was the red Morrocan inspired room with a lovely patio on one of the oldest canals in Brugge. Though it was too cold to sit outside, we still enjoyed our view. The room was impeccable with many personal touches and we had a complimentary drink from the minibar. Breakfast was delicious. The most impressive thing was that all the bread, including the croissants, are made fresh right there in the kitchen. You can't beat warm croissants out of the oven. And the location is great though Brugge is not very big and you can walk just about everywhere. I highly recommend this gem of a place and the price can't be beat!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mbloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

A short walk from the train station and very well located to get to any of the old city's attractions. The TI is only a short block away. The red room is very comfortable and cozy. Haru, the true owner of the place (a yorkshire terrier) tries to be aloof but quickly acquiesces to belly rubs. Free coffee and hot chocolate in the rooms, free wi-fi with a good signal, and the 1st 2 beers or wine included in the stay help this to stand out above others. The only downside was that the king size bed was 2 twin mattresses that separated a little leading to someone sleeping "in the crack" on occasion.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidgrahammd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Keizershof
Hotel 't Keizershof
#74 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.6 mi away
B&B De Bornedrager
B&B De Bornedrager
#41 of 228 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gulden Vlies
Hotel Gulden Vlies
#50 of 228 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Collier's Bed & Breakfast
Collier's Bed & Breakfast
#120 of 228 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood - Logies
Hollywood - Logies
#57 of 228 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baert Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baert Bed & Breakfast

Property: Baert Bed & Breakfast
Address: Westmeers 28, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Baert Hotel Bruges
Baert Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing