We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely best in Bruges”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baert Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #137 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Bruges was our final destination on our two month trip around Europe. How fortunate we were to find this amazing bed and breakfast. Based on trip advisor reviews, I booked this charming accommodation and we were not disappointed.
Huub was there to greet us and showed us around the oriental red room. There were complimentary drinks, fruit and of course wifi.
A beautiful room with a little balcony right on the canal.
Breakfast was always a highlight of our day. A different, sweet, table setting every morning, with freshly baked bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, warm croissant, meats, cheeses, tea coffee and so much more.
Haru was a darling and loved getting his belly rubbed.
Thankyou Huub for sharing your beautiful home with us. I hope we can come back again one day soon, and will certainly love to stay with you again.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonnacookbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Baert Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

My wife and I spent five days here, and let me say that I would have given it six stars if possible. We always stay at B&Bs when we can, and based on past experience (and Trip Advisor) we always expect a certain “experience”. This varies in each instance of course, but every once in a while you find a B&B that goes above and beyond. The Baert B&B was one of those for us.

We stayed in the red room, and I would almost call it a suite. The bedroom/sitting area was very good size and the bathroom was very large, with a nice walk-in shower. We were able to peek in the golden room one day as it was between guests. It is also very nice, but smaller, and I believe the toilet may have been out in the hall. The red room would definitely be my first choice if you stay here. Both rooms open onto a small patio that sits right above one of the smaller canals. This is a great spot to just relax and have a drink. There were occasionally ducks on the canal and on our first night there was even a swan that came right over to us.

Huub is a wonderful host and a pleasure to talk with. He was always very helpful with our daily plans, including a side-trip to Ghent, and even verified train departure times for us as we left on a Sunday morning, which gave us fewer options. Breakfast was a real treat each morning with fresh orange juice and at least two kinds of fresh bread baked by Huub, as well as the usual selection of meats, cheeses, croissants, etc. We were also amazed each morning when the table was set with a new setting of china, with matching placemats, napkins, etc. It’s very obvious that he takes great pride in caring for his guests.

Room Tip: The golden room looks nice, but I would definitely book the red room if it is available.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhereAreWe?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here in June 2012 and had a wonderful stay there. We were in the red room which was very nice with a little terrasse overlooking a small canal behind the house. Huub is a wonderful host and he baked fresh bread for us regularly. I have a wheat intolerance so he found spelt flour and baked delicious bread with that! The breakfast table was always beautifully laid out. Whenever we had questions he was very helpful. The location is great. It's near the train station and near the centrum but a it's a quiet retreat when you've had enough of walking. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone visiting Bruges.

Room Tip: The red room has a toilet and shower and the white room doesn't - washroom is outside the room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed in this gorgeous B&B for a week whilst I attended a conference at the nearby conference centre and we didn't want to leave! Like all previous reviews stated, the breakfast was amazing, the red room very pretty and had everything we needed (also the various coffees/teas/beer/wine) and Haru is the cutest little doggie in the world!

Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Huub & Jeannine, but Marianne stood in for them and was a fabulous host! She gave us recommendations for restaurants as well as where to find the best beer and chocolates.

I really enjoyed staying here, and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I never saw the yellow/golden room, but the red room has it's own bathroom, which is very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilizeBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Baert is a stylish B and B in a restored 17th century stable that belonged to a convent. They offer two bright rooms, one has a private ensuite in the room and the other has a private ensuite down the hall. Both rooms are nice but smallish. Bopth rooms have private trerraces that catch the sun.
The B and B is delightful and each morning a good breakfast is served. The B and B is within walking distance of the train station and central market and Belfry. They can provide many suggestions on where to eat and what to do. We tried two of their suggestion, Vand Den Loppper and Belle Epoque, both were good. The b and b has a fridge in the room and they offer you a free Brugges beer on arrival and send you on your way with a sampling of Belgian chocolates. An excellent place to stay for a memorable experience!. We would go back!

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice , ask for the room with the ensuite in the room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank craigsearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We booked Baert Bed and Breakfast after reading the brilliant reviews on Trip Advisor and we were certainly not disappointed. We had a very warm welcome as soon as we arrived at Baert B&B and were so impressed with the Red Room where we were staying. The decor is beautiful and the room felt very warm and cosy. We really appreciated the complimentary wine and beer provided - a very nice touch! It was just about warm enough for us to spend some time on the balcony right next to a canal which was very relaxing and peaceful.

The breakfast provided was delicious every single day - fresh bread, croissants, fruit, cereal and freshly squeezed orange juice and lots of other things too!

The location of the B&B is perfect - in the middle between the train station and the centre of Brugge and an easy walk to both places. Brugge as a city is absolutely stunning - there are beautiful buildings everywhere you look and we spent many happy hours wandering through the pretty streets.

Throughout our stay, our hosts were welcoming and friendly and when we left Huub gave us some Belgian chocolates which were lovely! I would definitely recommend Baert B&B to anyone visiting Brugge - it made our holiday even more special and memorable. Thank you!

Room Tip: We chose the Red Room because it has an en-suite bathroom but we did peek into the Yellow Room and i...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kernowgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A cozy atmosphere and romantic scent of the old city, careful attitude of the owner to the small but important details left the most pleasant and unforgettable impression of the fall Bruges.
Thanks for the sincere and truly warm welcome.
Olesya and Vadim. Israel
October 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vtimakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#32 of 97 in Bruges
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Speelmansrei
0.1 mi away
B Guest Bed & Breakfast
B Guest Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 231 in Bruges
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baert Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baert Bed & Breakfast

Address: Westmeers 28, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Baert Bed And Breakfast
Baert Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing