We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Brugge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bruges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baert Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #138 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great time in Brugge”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Not long been back from Bruges where I had a wonderful informative break. I was there for a week so also had time to visit Ghent, Brussels/Waterloo and take a guided tour to the Flanders battlefields. I can only reiterate many other reviews that this B&B is one Bruge's bargains in what can be an expensive city. The place is chock full of arty bits and bobs and the Red room itself has many oriental and middle eastern influences. I believe from this year that Huub and Jeannine are only renting out one room, the Red one, so availability may be scarce at times.
Many reviews have mentioned the ample tasty breakfast which is taken in H & J's open plan living space to the sound of soft classical music whilst looking at a tank of tropical fish! Great!
The Red room itself has everything you need. It is warm, the shower is hot, there is ample hanging space and a chinese wardrobe for tops etc. There's also a small terrace looking onto a small canal. There's also bathrobes, towels and a hairdryer plus shower cream and handwash. There's also a small fridge with a welcome free beer!
It's only about a 10 minute walk to/from the station and is near to everything as central Bruges is not too big, although everywhere is cobbled so you may need 'sensible shoes'.
Bruges is very pretty ,of course, and can get busy at weekends. Being there in the winter was great as it was relatively quiet at night, though some restaurants were closed.
Places I liked were Cambrinus (for a choice of 400 beers, always busy as the food is good as well), Cafe Vlissinghe (supposedly the oldest pub in Bruge,all wooden panelling and communal tables), 't Pallieterke (just around the corner on the 't Zand), L'Estaminet (for more wood pannelling and good food and Pas Partout (run as a social project for out of work people, sparse surroundings but bargain food.
The tour of the battlefields was excellent. Run by Nathan at Flanders Battlefied day tours (www.visitbruges.org) it was a full and informative day.
All in all a great time in Brugge!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetunney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a find this place is! It was like a luxury hotel at half the price - plenty of towels, robes, sitting area, fridge, snacks, coffee, tea and more in the room. Breakfast was beautiful, organic, and delicious, with fresh orange juice, fresh whole grain bread, meats, cheeses. yogurt, fruit, a bottomless pot of coffee, and an offer to fix something else if that didn't suit us. Just as good is the excellent location. Unbelievably quiet, near the train station (where we parked for 3.50E per day, which included a free bus ride into the main square), practically next door to the info center and several restaurants, but just a short, lovely stroll to all the sights. We enjoyed it so much, we tried to extend our visit, but sadly for us, the inn was already booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tnknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a wonderful time in the gold room at Baert's B & B in Bruges. Our hosts Huub and Jeannine were friendly and very helpful. We truly enjoyed Huub's expertise on restaurants, getting around, and his entertaining stories! Most important was his warmth and kindness. He and his wife are truly welcoming you into their homes not just as guests, but as friends. Huub even gave my gentleman friend a birthday gift of Belgium chocolates! It is located in a quiet area yet it is close to the main attractions. The patio on the canal was charming as was the room itself. The breakfast was quite diverse with yogurt, cereal, meats, cheeses, and coffee and tea. The breakfast table was beautifully decorated. I highly recommend Baert's B&B.

Room Tip: Baert has a gold and a red room. I recommend you look at both on line and decide which you'd pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Multifacetedlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our stay in the Golden Room was wonderful. Huub gives a warm welcome and plenty of good advice for visiting Bruges and the surroundings. On his advice, we had a great day at the coast. The room is decorated nicely and very thoughtfully appointed. Having a little fridge is so convenient and the welcome drink is a nice idea! Each room has a little patio with table and chairs beside the tiny canal - with lots of ducks and ducklings to amuse you. This room has its bathroom across the hall but that was not a problem at all. Breakfasts were terrific - a big assortment of tasty foods, fruit, breads, yogurts, meats, cheeses, freshly squeezed orange juice - just excellent. All so nicely laid out each day The B and B is a short walk from the train station and located directly across from the modern concert hall, in a neighbourhood of quiet streets. It is just a small walk to get to many of the sights of Bruges - great location. We particularly enjoyed 3 restaurants - Reliva (very nearby), Malesherbes, and El Rincon. We also enjoyed the pub de Garre. We hope that Huub's leg is healing well now!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

There is not enough that I could say to describe how wonderful our stay was here! We loved every single minute we spent here. When it was time to leave, we were wishing we had booked for much longer. We never wanted to leave!

When we arrived it was a short walk from the train station (even with 30lb backpacks on). Huub greeted us at the door with a gigantic smile on his face. He showed us around our red room and explained everything to us. He gave us a map and pointed out some important sights to us and some great suggestions. Huub was very friendly and made us feel right at home!

Our room was beautiful and romantic. The "red" room certainly lived up to its name. It was decorated with deep red colours to really set the mood. I'm still in awe about how gorgeous our little terrace was. It was quiet and tranquil; a great place to just sit and watch the ducks in the canal. The bed was extremely comfortable. I think we both usually fell asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillows. It was great having the ensuite bathroom. The shower was clean and spacious. Not only did the shower have the typical European hand held shower head as well as a fixed one above, which was a really nice feature to have! The mini fridge came in handy as well.

Location was absolutely perfect. It was within walking distance of every sight but still on a quiet street. There are some restaurants very close by if you don't want to walk right into the town center. The B&B was close to Minnewater Lake (the love lake), the Halve Moon Brewery (highly suggest taking the tour), and St. John's Hospital.

Breakfast each morning was served at a time we had chosen when we got there. He seemed to be very flexible as to what time you would like breakfast at. Breakfast was tasty and filling! There was fresh bread, croissants, buns, meats, cheeses, yogurt, peaches, oranges, cherries, coffee, tea, and some absolutely delicious orange juice! We definitely never left the table hungry! Everything was so good and we had a chance to talk a bit with Huub and all the lovely ladies that help him out. He broke his foot while we were there so he needed a bit more help than normal but that gave us a chance to get to know the ladies a bit more as well, which was great. We actually ended up getting a bit caught up in talking politics one morning and probably could have carried on for hours.

Huub told us he aims to provide people with not just a place to stay but rather a home and he certainly hit the mark. It was everything we could possibly have ever asked for. For us, it was home. We miss it already! Thank you Huub!

P.S.- There is a tiny little dog who is a sweetheart. I called him tough guy because he thinks if he barks his little barks or growls his cute little growls then you'll pet him. Make sure you give him many many many pets!!

Room Tip: Red room with ensuite bathroom is gorgeous and SO worth the money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nlm635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moha
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ideally situated at walking distance (less than 15 min) from the train station, the beguinage and the main square in the old city, Baert is found in a very quiet street just next to the concert hall (Concertgebouw). Comfortable room, nice breakfast and warm welcome, can't imagine anything better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in the Golden room which was beautifully clean and comfortable with a lovely little terrace to sit out overlooking the canal. The room has a private shower room across the hall, but robes are provided so this did not cause us a problem. The breakfast was fantastic with a selection of cooked meat and cheese, yogurt, cereal, jams and the best peanut butter I've ever tasted, and with a different selection every day. There are different teas and coffees and the most wonderful fresh orange juice every morning. The pretty place settings are changed on a daily basis too. I've only just found out from other reviews that Huub bakes the bread himself. I wish I'd known, I would have asked for his recipes! Just one thing.. There appears to be no 'servicing' of the rooms during the stay, no problem for us though. All in all very comfortable and enjoyable stay, We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Red room en suite bathroom, Golden room - private shower room across the hall..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#44 of 97 in Bruges
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#31 of 97 in Bruges
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
B Guest Bed & Breakfast
B Guest Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 231 in Bruges
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Sauveur
Auberge Saint-Sauveur
#68 of 231 in Bruges
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baert Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baert Bed & Breakfast

Property: Baert Bed & Breakfast
Address: Westmeers 28, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Baert Hotel Bruges
Baert Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing