We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathing the Middle Ages!”
Review of Nuit Blanche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nuit Blanche
Ranked #37 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Breathing the Middle Ages!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you’re looking for all the amenities of the modern luxury hotel, like a swimming pool, spa, bar and lounge area, don’t go there!
Neither will you find the sumptuous breakfast buffet, as is assumed on their website, nor the complimentary bottle of cava.
Instead, a four course “surprise “menu is served, presented with great eye for detail, but, the ingredients and preparation are entirely up to the host’s humour of the day.
Like or dislike, all is a matter of personal taste.
You also have to be aware, that you always have to climb a rather steep staircase to get to your room and I personally, find it very uncomfortable to take a shower in the bathtub.

If however, visiting Bruges, a fairy tale from The Middle Ages, you really want to LIVE this fairy tale, I can strongly recommend you this unique guesthouse!
Waking up in the morning, looking out of, the original fifteenth century, leaded stained-glass windows upon a medieval garden and the great church of Our Lady, makes you wonder how many people, during the centuries, have stood there in the same room, enjoying the very same scenery...., except for the tourists on the other side of the famous “lover’s bridge”, taking pictures of this unique building that you are living in!
Swamped with tourists from all over the world during the day, but nice, quiet and secluded during the night.
What is there to add? A very friendly host, a special “home-made” breakfast and a modestly priced, nearby parking, but the overall reason to go there, is this unique feeling of literally breathing the spirit of medieval history!

Room Tip: As we travelled with friends, we had the luxury to enjoy both rooms and I find it difficult to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
106
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We cannot recommend highly enough this remarkable B&B in Bruges, Guesthouse Nuit Blanche, and its memorable innkeeper and host David De Graef. The house, which dates back to the mid 15th century, and located alongside a picturesque little canal and just across a garden area from the imposing pile of Our Lady of Bruges church, is in an setting that comes right out of the Limbourg Brothers Book of Hours.

While in a quiet, monastery like setting on a small cobble stoned byway the inn is nonetheless situated in the very heart of old Bruges and within easy walking distance of all the main sites, museums, restaurants, shopping etc.

The inn has just two spacious guest rooms (so you'll need to book well ahead). The original 15th century features, right down to the stunning leaded stained glass windows, are retained throughout the house. The rooms are quite large, the beds big and comfortable and the bathrooms large and up-to-date in every way. The breakfasts are truly "exuberant", as the inn's website says, consisting of numerous generous courses, including yogurts, fresh fruits, eggs and ham, sausage, pancakes, juices, freshly brewed coffee and the like - enough to keep anyone going through a day of walking the town and sightseeing up until the dinner hour.

The innkeeper, David De Graef is a most remarkable person. He is the very heart & soul of good cheer and, in addition, possesses an encyclopedic knowledge of Brugge ready at his fingertips. Upon our arrival he spent nearly an hour with us noting all the highlights of the town on a map, including excellent restaurant recommendations. And, as if that were not enough, he is also a most original artist, producing remarkable oil paintings both small & large as well as stone sculptures. These work decorate the rooms and, indeed, his studio doubles as the breakfast room. As we did, be sure to purchase the book of his works, available right there and lavishly autographed by the artist himself - a unique memento of this singular inn and its inimitable proprietor.

And lets not forget Noel the cat, mascot of the inn. And a friendlier cat one could not readily hope to meet.

If ever in Bruges again (and we hope to return someday) we would most assuredly go back to Guest House Nuit Blanche - worth every penny of the daily rate.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. we were in Lune de Miel (Honeymoon) room, also called the Medieval room, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob-n-Nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were made very welcome by the host who after settling us in spent time marking up a street map with interesting information on what to see and where to find the best bars and restaurants, information which was very useful. The hotel is fabulous, an ancient building centrally located in a medieval style and layout with a comfortable modern overlay in the bedroom, which included complimentary drinks in the mini bar. It even has a private garden overlooking the famous Church of Our Lady and the Love Bridge, along with a friendly cat. The view from the bedroom window was fantastic and the breakfasts, served in the owner's studio, were themselves works of art. It was very peaceful at night as the hotel is almost enclosed by a park which is locked up in the evenings.
All in all an enjoyable few days in a wonderful hotel in a lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night (Christmas Eve). We greatly enjoyed our stay at this Guest House and highly recommend it. First, the location is unbeatable as Nuit Blanche is right in the heart of old centruum, nestled beind the Church of our Lady. You are transported back in time as you walk around that neighborhood and more so when you step into Nuit Blanche. This Guest House is a special place which has been well-maintained and updated with the modern traveler in mind. Breakfast was delicious and was a great way to start our morning. David, the owner and host was most gracious, welcoming and helpful.

There is nothing serious that comes to mind but I will note that the room was slightly cold for my taste, something that had I stayed for more than one night could have bothered me more.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in this Guest House; one of them is the one with views to the Canal and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blanca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

wow! this place is really incredible. The perfect place to stay if you visit brugge. Unfortunately we had only two nights, but we definitely got here again.

The host David is very nice and helpful. After we arrived and were ready to hit the city, he gave us a very detailed and useful recommendations for where to eat, drink and look.

The location is perfect, with access to the park and bridge at night (the only access, because the park is closed at night, but the house is located just at the end of the bridge), right across to the cathedral, just in the middle of the town, but absolutely quiet at night.

The room (we had the room in the rooftop) is brilliant, very romantic, with dark wood panel and stains glass windows, everything fits to medieval appearance but is still fully equipped (beamer + dvd "in brugge" which we had to watch just again), with view on the cathedral.

Breakfast was an dream, everyday different, very delicious and dedicatedly prepared with love.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blattodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

A fantastic welcome, an amazing location with incredible view, a great garden to relax and enjoy the cava wine (included in the cost of the room), marvellous breakfast, your own private access to the love bridge when it is closed to everyone else, what more would you look for?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donniix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this guest house. David the owner was such a nice guy and he could not do enough for us. Gorgeous house, and amazing views of the church of our lady. The bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was massive and really nice too. i booked it for my wifes 30th birthday and we'll definetely stay here again so original. The house and its decor is a work of art amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulT123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.0 mi away
Canalside House - Luxury Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse Bonifacius
Guesthouse Bonifacius
#13 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bed and Breakfast 1669
Bed and Breakfast 1669
#38 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#2 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canal Deluxe B&B
Canal Deluxe B&B
#9 of 231 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuit Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuit Blanche

Property: Nuit Blanche
Address: Groeninge 2, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuit Blanche 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Nuit Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuit Blanche Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing