We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15th century treasure”
Review of Huis 't Schaep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huis 't Schaep
Ranked #5 of 231 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“15th century treasure”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A perfect trip to Bruges made complete by staying at the wonderfully restored Huis 't Schaep.. An amazing find with the character that you would not get in the best of five star hotels run very efficiently by our host who looked after us so well. it was perfectly located in a quiet street close to the shopping area and we would 100% recommend.to anyone visiting Bruges

Room Tip: I'm quite sure all rooms would be as nice as our room which was the Renoir Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDuchessNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
508
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic house (beautifully restored with loads of original details) located in the center of Brugge. Visited with my wife, during a short trip. Brugge is an amazing city, this B&B completes the trip! Warm welcome by the owners, definitely coming back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WouterGaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NooBug
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a wonderful 3-night stay in the Renoir Suite in this stunning, unique Grade I listed building. It is brimming with gorgeous original features, which made us feel like we were staying in a museum, however with all mod cons.

The location on a quiet street with no noise is perfect for Bruges and we walked everywhere.

Service was impeccable; personal, warm, and knowledgeable. John gave us some great recommendations around the city and also taught us a lot about the fascinating history of the building. We felt extremely well looked after. Breakfast delicious and freshly made, and all our dietary requirements were carefully taken into consideration.

Our room was gorgeous with a lovely big bathroom. The only criticism we had was that the bed was just slightly too soft for our liking but this is clearly a matter of personal preference, so other people might feel differently! There is coffee and tea in the room, and in the lounge area there is a well-stocked, very reasonably-priced honesty bar which is great if you fancy a nightcap back in your room.

All in all we found this an excellent place to stay and should we return to Bruges, would definitely book at Huis 't Schaep again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NooBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I've just returned from an amazing 1 night visit to Bruges in this stunning property - to call it a b&b seems an injustice. Beautiful, atmospheric, luxurious, peaceful - I wish I could have stayed longer!! John is a very helpful host and creates a very relaxing atmosphere. Together with a mind blowing dinner at Patrick Devos on Tuesday night, and Bruges itself - it was the perfect break. Completely agree with the other reviews and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. Also, going in February the room prices offer exceptional value for money and there is still lots to enjoy in Bruges. I needed longer in general!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rembrandt (at the back) which was very peaceful. I cant imagine the other rooms bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annamend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 3 night stay in this fabulous place and would return in a heartbeat if we could. I booked it for my boyfriend's Christmas present based on all the great reviews it's received and we were not disappointed. The house itself is just absolutely stunning, so much to look at and you can tell real love and attention to detail went in to the restoration of the place, on arrival it really does take your breath away. The owner is also very friendly and helpful and was more than happy to help advise on places to go and things to see. They also make a mean breakfast that sets you up for the day, so much so you don't really need to eat lunch. The room we stayed in was the Renoir and it was large, spacious and had an amazing bathroom with double sinks and walk in shower, bed was roomy and comfy and the room is also beautifully decorated. If you're still undecided, the location is just a stones throw from the centre of Bruges so it's really easy to get anywhere and back without any hassle. My boyfriend and I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a top quality experience and great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizzy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was my absolute favorite place we stayed at the end of a 14 day vacation around Europe. The owners could not have been more friendly, the rooms more comfortable, or the location in Bruges any better. The care that has gone into the renovation of this historic home is amazing. It was I as if I had stepped into a piece of history. The details were very precise and beautiful.
We didn't have any trouble sleeping, finding the common area with the beer fridge (which by the way was the best beer I have ever had from the local brewery, "Half Moon") or eating the gourmet cooked breakfast in the morning. We walked to the town square, the brewery, pubs and restaurants... everything was very close. I Can't say enough good things.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights and our only regret is that we could not stay longer. Most memorable was the home's beauty and comfort and the wonderful hospitality provided by our gracious hosts, John and Rob. I hope we can return some day. It was the highlight of our trip to Europe! We recommend this B & B without any reservation. If you are going to Bruges, you MUST stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#39 of 97 in Bruges
2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis 't Schaep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis 't Schaep

Property: Huis 't Schaep
Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 14, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis 't Schaep 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huis 't Schaep is a small luxury Private Guesthouse - a combination of a small boutique hotel and the personal touch of a Guesthouse.We are located in one 16th century and one 17th century building, which were joined together around 1850 in neogothical style. You will find us in the historic city centre of Bruges, very close to the cathedral and with all the major tourist attractions, shops andrestaurants on our doorstep. Bruges' big city parking, Parking 't Zand, is a two minute stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Huis 't Schaep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis `t Schaep Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing