We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Verdi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verdi B&B
Ranked #75 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2013

You can't beat this location. Just off Markt Square so you are close to everything, but away from most of the noise. Our room was in a building off-site, just around the corner from the restaurant. A very short walk to breakfast. The room was newly renovated, VERY large and charming with a non-working fireplace. Breakfast was very nice with a delicious fruit smoothie every morning. We did experience some street noise late into the night on Friday and Saturday, but that can't be helped due to its location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I saw some foto's of Verdi here on tripadvisor en went to the Verdi with this tought.
But when I arrived at the room, it seemed that all the rooms has been refurbished.
A nice modern look, but they keep the nice classic stairwell.
Woow, really nice rooms, and what a great location!
When we checked in at the restaurant the owner was friendly and showed us the room.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We ate here as it was just off the main square in Bruge. We ordered muscles and an omelette and both were very nice. The portion of muscles was huge so you might want to share! Service was efficient, clean toilets and didn't have to wait too long for food to arrive.

Ignore our room score, we didn't stay, Tripadvisor would not allow a N/A.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently stayed at the B&B Verdi, which is positioned just off the main square in Bruges. The rooms had just been decorated (very nicely) when we visited (early April 2013) and they were busy decorating the rest of the accommodation building. Staff in the B&B were very friendly, breakfasts were lovely and all in all we had a great stay there. There are tons of decent restaurants all over. We found a lovely little Italian (only about 10 tables) on Philipstockstraat called La Cantina, about 100m from the hotel rooms.
If you use the parking garages, be careful as a normal sized car barely fits in and you will probably get marks on your clothes. Cleaning my jumper was a small ordeal. Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We recently stayed at the B&B Verdi, which is positioned just off the main square in Bruges. The restaurant offered excellent dining (even Pheasant carpaccio !) and the hotel characterful accommodation. We would certainly go again and would heartily recommend this hotel to the discerning and seasoned traveller, who is able to accept quaintness and character without fear !!!

Room Tip: We had Room 9, which was a triple room. Good view to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

What a horrid way to end a day in such a wonderful city as Bruges. Here's my experience: Two friends and I booked a triple room for one night in advance. Upon our arrival, we were, as another traveler mentioned, taken to another building without a reception area. We were a bit confused by this, but the quaintness of the lodging seemed compensation enough for such an oddity. So quaint, in fact, that the key to our room was an old-fashioned skeleton key. Anxious to see the city, we threw all of our things in our room and went out for a day and night of fun in Bruges. Upon arriving back, around 1am, we found we could not unlock our door. We all tried for nearly an hour, and finally decided to call the main phone number for the B&B. Surprisingly, someone answered -- he was short and rude, telling us that we weren't using the key correctly, or that we were using the wrong key. After a brief argument, he said he'd be right over. He arrived an hour later, tried the key, and was unable to unlock the door as well. He offered us another room; we informed him that all of our things were in the locked room -- medications, clothes, toiletries, etc. He said he could do nothing about that at the moment, but would see to it in the morning. He then put us in a much smaller room, had to assemble a third bed, and when all was said and done, it was nearly 4am. Upon waking up, clad in the previous night's garb and very cold (our room was not heated), we found our things in the middle of the hallway, outside the room. There for anyone to take! After barely touching a disgusting breakfast, I requested that our rate be discounted, considering. The owner became belligerent, raising his voice in front of other customers, and demanding that I pay the full price. After a 5-minute argument, I walked out, knowing he would charge me because he had my CC info, but wanting to avoid further confrontation. I've since filed a chargeback with Amex and fully plan on being reimbursed.

Summary: The accommodations are shabby, the setup is awkward at best, and the owner is a complete scumbag. Steer clear of this place so that you might enjoy Bruges to its fullest.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAR113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Terrible owner attitude, not customer service at all. We required heater on at room to warm our baby and he denied, screaming, because he did not feell the day was enough cool
At check in, they send us to a different building than the hotel, whit no reception and no way to call anyone responsible. If we needed something we have to walk 80 mts outside in the street
Bad experience

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marcel
Hotel Marcel
#51 of 97 in Bruges
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central
Central
#87 of 97 in Bruges
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#65 of 97 in Bruges
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
2,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Koffieboontje
Hotel Koffieboontje
#83 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#40 of 97 in Bruges
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdi B&B

Address: Vlamingstraat 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £96 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Verdi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Verdi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing