We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food hampered by slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assiette Blanche

Assiette Blanche
Ranked #58 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$137
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food hampered by slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The waiter was friendly, the food was all really well presented and there was a very small selection on the menu - usually indicative of good food. Food, nevertheless, took a long time to arrive.
A very pleasant restaurant, but not much character

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAnnie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    129
    13
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went by chance having seen that marcassin was on the menu. Luckily we went in and booked just after they finished serving lunch as it gets full. The marcassin was excellent. We had chosen a Greek red malvoisie wine which we like. It was served in 50cl carafe. The waiter came to apologise for the fact that there was none left. They offered us another more expensive Greek wine at the same price decanted into a carafe. A rare attention to customer wishes. The menu is relatively small but this is an advantage as they can ensure quality is maintained. Service is friendly and attentive. And you get the impression that they have a passion for good food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SwanseaMull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a wonderful lunch here. The hosts are fantastic and they really make it a great experience. Their attention to detail, the wine it was all great.The food is very good, certainly price wise. I enjoyed this lovely little charming restaurant in Bruges and would recommend it for sure. I for one will come back here if I visited Bruge! Do make a reservation because it was busy, actually full when we were there on a Saturday afternoon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Assiette Blanche doesn't have a huge menu but the items on the menu are created with good products and passion.
It's not your standard tourist food, so nice to try something else for a change.
The owners are very friendly too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cozy and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We were worried when we arrived to an empty restaurant, but quickly found out that it was fully booked. And we can see why. They do their food very well, including pigs ear salad and Irish steak. The house wines went down very well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bec_and_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assiette Blanche also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Assiette Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing