We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed ambiance”
Review of Assiette Blanche

Assiette Blanche
Ranked #50 of 712 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$137
Cuisines: Belgian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Relaxed ambiance”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a small,intimate restaurant with a pleasant,relaxed ambiance.
Service was good and the food excellent.
My wife chose from a decent selection on the a la carte menu.I had the 3 course set menu which, at 32 euro, was very good value.
We have been coming to Bruges at regular intervals for many years, and
have been meaning to try this restaurant. It will now feature on our list of
restaurants to return to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    135
    13
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful presentation and mouth watering taste!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a unique restaurant that offers quality foods in unusual presentations. We had the 3 course service with a choice of 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and a dessert. In Brugges, this is a real value at 33 Euros. I experimented with the rabbit appetizer and it was the best appetizer I have ever had. My red mullet entree was beautiful to look at and delicious. Our men ordered the lamb shoulder and kept muttering how good it was. Service was very attentive from both owners. We had to wait a little for dessert because the oven was taken up with all the other meals but when it came, it was worth the wait! Glazed macadamia nuts between a butterscotch confection and strawberry sorbet. Yum and lovely to look at. Make reservations, this is a secret the locals don't want you to know about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food hampered by slow service”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The waiter was friendly, the food was all really well presented and there was a very small selection on the menu - usually indicative of good food. Food, nevertheless, took a long time to arrive.
A very pleasant restaurant, but not much character

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAnnie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We went by chance having seen that marcassin was on the menu. Luckily we went in and booked just after they finished serving lunch as it gets full. The marcassin was excellent. We had chosen a Greek red malvoisie wine which we like. It was served in 50cl carafe. The waiter came to apologise for the fact that there was none left. They offered us another more expensive Greek wine at the same price decanted into a carafe. A rare attention to customer wishes. The menu is relatively small but this is an advantage as they can ensure quality is maintained. Service is friendly and attentive. And you get the impression that they have a passion for good food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SwanseaMull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a wonderful lunch here. The hosts are fantastic and they really make it a great experience. Their attention to detail, the wine it was all great.The food is very good, certainly price wise. I enjoyed this lovely little charming restaurant in Bruges and would recommend it for sure. I for one will come back here if I visited Bruge! Do make a reservation because it was busy, actually full when we were there on a Saturday afternoon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assiette Blanche also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Assiette Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing