We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brughia Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #53 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A perfect location, a quiet and clean room, lovely hostess and host,
completly personal service and nice breakfast!! Don't hesitate, just book in Brughia, you will feel yourself at home...

Inge & Gert

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    30
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
83
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

When we arrived at Brughia B&B, we were welcomed by our hostess, who proceeded to welcome us to Bruges, explain the best places to eat and visit, and who paid attention to every detail during our visit. During our (brief) stay, there were guests from England, Australia, Italy, France and (I think) Belgium - the hostess made everyone feel welcome in their own language, and was always on hand to make small recommendations or to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The room, despite being the smallest in the house, was perfectly comfortable, the shower and ensuite facilities were fine. (We were actually offered an upgrade for two days, we declined, but the hosts can be flexible if they are able). You can eat as much as you like at breakfast - and the hostess pays particular attention to your preferences, whether tea/coffee, croissants or toast, eggs or fruit. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Brughia, which was the perfect base from which to tour Bruges itself. We have recommended the place to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Worth booking one of the bigger rooms if you can; but we had the smallest room, and we were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Anyone wishing to spend a few days in Bruges could not do any better than this. Ideally placed near the centre of the city this charming old house is owned by a delightful couple who could not do enough to make our stay perfect. Bedrooms had been tastefully renovated and were spotlessly clean. Continental breakfast was lovely with the nicest croissants I have ever tasted. Had the weather been better we could have spent a little time relaxing in their nice garden at the rear of the house, but obviously we cannot hold anybody responsible for that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 261Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Firstly thanks to all the Tripadvisor contributors who guided us to Brughia B&B. Due to the excellent reviews our expectations were high and we were not disappointed.

Met at the door by the delightful owner Beaka we were immediately put at ease with her genuine welcoming smile and a chat about the beautiful house followed by a map tour of Bruges at reception and this was so helpful on our walkabouts through this lovely city.

Rooms were just perfect. I had a front bedroom of ample size (travelling alone I usually get the the basement or the attic!) with a great shower and a most comfortable bed. My two married friends had a bedroom facing the garden and, that too,was well appointed.

Breakfast was a highlight with fresh rolls,croissants (from the baker a few yards down the street),ham cheese and the freshly cooked egg of your choice. Fresh coffee just kept coming and Beeka would join her guests and answer questions or just have a natter about the previous days events or the World Cup. The city was buzzing on the Tuesday evening when Belgium got a well deserved win and the whole population seemed to erupt with joy! We too got dragged in to the enthusiasm and my sore head next morning was testament to too much celebrating.

The one downside was the weather cool and drizzly and that meant we did not spend any time relaxing in the lovely garden before going out for the evening!! BUT not even the delightful Belgians can control that.

The local people were fantastic and not an evening went by when we didn't meet some wonderful people whilst in a bar or restaurant.

Yes Bruges is a great venue with welcoming people and many places to visit so, if you fancy it it, stay at the B&B Brughia , You will not regret it. But, take my advice and book early.

Ian Callister (iancallister@hotmail.com)

Room Tip: The two rooms I went in were just great! Rooms to the rear are quieter but I loved the general chatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian10945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The couple who owns Brughia B & B are ideally suited for the job---they are friendly, kind, thoughtful, and 100% service-oriented. The building is well renovated, spotlessly clean, and features a magnificent small garden in the rear. Our room was spacious and attractively decorated, with big windows overlooking the garden. It is but a few minutes walk from the "high spots" of Bruges but, best of all, affords a comfortable and comforting retreat from the tourist madness of the city. Breakfast was stellar---fresh-squeezed orange juice, a variety of breads and yogurts, eggs cooked to order, sliced cheese and cold meats, home-made jam, coffee, tea, or hot chocolate---all graciously served with smiles. Bicke and Arnout were extremely helpful in making arrangements for our visit--confirming reservations, finding the most convenient train schedule, directing us to various sites and sights, and even loaning us personal books for our day trip to Flanders battlefields. Brughia B & B ranks as a highlight of our visit to Bruges!

Room Tip: Ask for the "extra spacious" room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent 3 nights here over Easter, having booked on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews.

Our room faced the back garden (where there is seating for guests to enjoy). Although not large, the room was quite adequate for our stay, especially when one is out sightseeing most of the day.
Wi-fi was somewhat erratic and we had to sit in the lobby to get a good connection.

There is no ensuite as such. There is a basin in the room itself and a shower cubicle (plenty of hot water and no water splashing over the floor) in a corner alcove although there is no light there. The toilet cubicle was separate but extremely small; a long legged guest would probably find his/her knees pressing against the door.

Bieke and her husband are obliging and accommodating hosts who treat their guests as friends, even joining them at the breakfast table once their cooking duties are completed. They were also helpful in recommending places to visit.

Brughia is well placed for all the many sights Bruges has to offer and is about a 15 min walk from the station – once you find the correct route (on arrival in Bruges we lugged 2 suitcases along cobble stone streets and through Easter weekend crowds, only to discover later that there was a much shorter route).

Although there wasn't a true en suite bathroom and wifi wasn't great, the welcoming hosts and b & b location makes it definitely worth considering if visiting Bruges.




  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband, cousin, and I just returned from five nights at B & B Brughia. The lovely owners, Arnout and Bieke, are very hospitable and friendly. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the beds were great after all the walking we did during the day. Breakfast each morning was incredible! From the friendly conversations between guest to the food that was served each day. My husband, along with everyone, enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice each morning. The proximity to the Markt Centre was great and an enjoyable walk. Thank you for making our first trip to Bruges a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules40Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnout W, Owner at Brughia Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for this nice review.
It is always a pleasure to receive and host such warm people. The feeling is mutual.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Bruges at our place.
Kind regards
Bieke and Arnout
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huyze Weyne
Huyze Weyne
#34 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Val des Roses
Val des Roses
#52 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monsieur Ernest
Monsieur Ernest
#18 of 230 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Blomdaele
B&B Blomdaele
#91 of 230 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelias B&B
Camelias B&B
#49 of 230 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brughia Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brughia Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brughia Bed and Breakfast
Address: Beenhouwersstraat 13, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brughia Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Brughia is an ideal location for uncovering all the romantic sites of Bruges and the surrounding area. We are located next to the canals, about 500 metres from the Market Square, right in the middle of the historical heart of the city. You will enjoy a delicious and healthy breakfast in an historical interior. We can help you with tourist information you might need about the artistic and historical highlights of Bruges, Damme and other cities and the cycling routes in the neighbourhood. There is a possibility to store your bicycles indoors. You will spend the night in a large room with a new and modern private bathroom: shower cabin, lavatory, wash basin. Every room is smoke free and has its own sitting corner with television (cable) and internet connection. On demand an extra babybed can be supplied. Sheets and towels are available. Room price / night (incl. breakfast 2 p) From 80€ up to 100€Room price / night (incl. breakfast 3 p) 120€Room price / night (incl. breakfast 4 p) 140€. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brughia Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing