We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huis Koning
Nearby Hotels
US$260
US$253
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$193
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Golden Tulip De' Medici Hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$250
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Martin's Brugge(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Rosenburg Hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
US$224
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$305
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Marcel(Bruges)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Flanders Hotel(Bruges)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (734)
Filter reviews
734 results
Traveller rating
733
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate moussehomemade breadter reieb bevery afternoonbath saltsdelicious treatsfreshly squeezed orange juiceperfect hostswatching the ducksguide bookquiet canalrain showereggs made to orderhouse is beautifulpateroom overlooking the canal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 734 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Many say Huis Koning is the best B&B they’ve ever stayed in. This was also true for us. The attention to detail and generosity of the hosts was beyond compare. The room was meticulously clean and comfortable, outfitted with the finest linens and accoutrements. The variety of local delicacies; cheese, meats, fresh-squeezed orange juice, yogurt, granola, homemade bread, waffles, and eggs at breakfast, were better than we have found anywhere. Each day different sweet treats were left in our room. The kitchen was always open for coffee and snacks, any time of day. I felt comfortable to walk to the kitchen in my socks; another guest joined Lynn in her bare feet. Lynn also directed us to the best of the rest of Bruges by giving directions to the finest places to buy chocolate, shop for the grandchildren, drink Belgian beer, and taste regional cuisine. Peter’s explanation about the house renovations and water management was fascinating. Their home backs up to a quiet and picturesque canal. I know where we will stay if we ever return to Bruges.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have been to Bruges on quite a few occasions and this is by far the best B&B I have stayed in. In fact its probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in.
We stayed here for New Year 09-10 so its a historical review BUT you can see by the reviews and the absence of any lower scale reviews that this place was and still is excellent.
Its a central B&B about 5-10 minutes walk from the main square. Its close enough to walk to most places of interest but is situated down a quiet street.
The owners are fantastic. A very friendly couple both of whom speak English. I had proposed to my wife on this trip and they even shared a bottle of bubbly with us when we got back to the Hotel. Then when we visited Bruges again in 2011 we popped in to say hi. They remembered us and invited us in for a coffee which enjoyed down on the patio overlooking one of the canals.
We stayed in the St Jacob room which was perfect. The bed was one of the best I have slept in and had a great shower room as well.
Overall this B&B is excellent, for us its a special occasion B&B as there are plenty of B&B's in Bruges that are cheaper but the quality and the owners make this a top top choice for a weekend in Bruges.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a beautifully furnished B&B, and we were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room was just about perfect.

Nothing seemed to much trouble for our hosts, from the freshly cooked omelettes at breakfast, to finding and booking us a table at their own favourite restaurants. We even found little surprises in our room when we returned in the evening, perhaps some home baked cake!

I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms. Two of the rooms look over the canal which is obviously pretty, however the third room is more spacious and I think a better choice. You will see canals all day, so I didn't feel the need to see one at night as well. The larger room costs more but I think its worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

From the minute we arrived until the morning of our departure our stay in Brugges was made unforgettable by the hospitality of Lyn and Peter. Every review has covered all areas of this b&b. Lyn gave us excellent restaurant recommends, city sights to see and the best breakfasts each morning. This could only be surpased by the afternoon teas provided each day in our room. Freshly made muffins, biscuits, chocolate mouse and belgium chocolate were our treats. The rooms were clean and stylish, nothing spared when renovating for the b&b. We can't wait to return to this b&b and meet our hosts again. Thank you Lyn and Peter for a marvellous stay. It seems the word is out that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were so very happy to return to Huis Koning, and to receive such a warm, friendly greeting from Lynn and Peter and their daughters Sam and Axelle. They spent three years restoring their 17th century home, bringing it to this beautiful, comfortable, and tastefully-appointed state. It is so truly welcoming, it makes us feel as though it were ours. They have thought of everything you could possibly want or need. Believe us when we say that all the glowing reviews you have read about this best-of-the-best B & B are true--they do it perfectly!

There are three beautiful rooms available; we love the room we have stayed in on our visits, Augustijn, for its comfort and well-appointed decor. The spa-like bathroom is pure perfection, with L'Occitane toiletries, sumptuous towels and face cloths, rainwater shower head and full tub, to gorgeous earth-colored marble and rainforest tiles. There is the feeling of being totally pampered by your hosts, Lynn and Peter. Luscious treats await you at Lynn's homemade breakfast every morning, even more choices than we remember from our last visit; fresh coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, cooked to order eggs, specially hand-written labels on each of the breads, waffles, pastries, local meats and cheeses, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, and jams, made by Lynn's mother, to top things off. When you return to your room after a day touring Bruges specially labeled home-baked treats await you under the tented tray near fresh flowers on your table. A well-stocked mini-fridge is in your room for your indulgence. Lynn and Peter are very kind, thoughtful, and helpful, letting you know what is happening in the town, and extend themselves by making dinner reservations, scheduling taxi services, giving you recommendations for dining and touring activities, all without making you feel as though it is an imposition.

They have created a magical home, lighted with candles at all times of day, with heavenly scents drifting up winding staircase from the kitchen, where coffee and tea facilities are at your fingertips whenever you would like. This is a wonderful place, a special family, and a B & B which is unparalleled. Thank you, Lynn and Peter; we will return.

Room Tip: Though all the rooms are lovely, we prefer Augustijn because that is where we have enjoyed our stays.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2vus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews