We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huis Koning is fantastic!!!”
Review of Huis Koning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huis Koning
Ranked #1 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I don't even know where to start.. Have you been to Brugge? It's amazing place, every street, every squire looks like straight from fairy tale... It's the place to visit, and Huis Koning is the place to stay in Brugge!!! It's an experience itself. Everything is perfect: location, rooms, amenities, food (o my god - the food) and of cause the hostess Lynn.
First time in our travels my husband wanted to write a review, this is how impressed we were.
We felt truly at home and at our next visit to Brugge we are going to stay at Huis Koning, no questions... We just have to book well ahead of time!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lana094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
There are newer reviews for Huis Koning
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 695 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked 7 months ahead, and another couple already had snagged the one canal-view room. Although our room faced the quiet street, it was luxuriously appointed, and the attention to detail was remarkable. Lynn, as many have stated, was a wonderful hostess. When Marion mentioned that her family had a Belgian connection, she looked up the family name. After we referred to a recent trip to Portugal, there was Fado playing in the breakfast room the next morning. It rained most of the time we spent in Bruges, but our stay at Huis Koning was by far the best on our current trip and relative to many previous trips as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the end of April. As they were busy the first 2 nights we stayed in the St Jacob room and the last 2 nights in the Augustijn room. Both rooms are lovely however the Augustijn room is bigger and has a lovely spacious bathroom. The rooms clean, modern and the decor is beautiful.

We were welcomed by Lynn with homemade waffles and tea and lots of information about Brugge along with a detailed map and a guide book.

The B&B is 'out of this world' the decor is beautiful and Lynn and Peters attention to detail is impeccable. They are truly amazing hosts.

Breakfast every morning was superb, from homemade freshly squeezed orange juice to Lynns homemade breads she makes herself, eggs made to order, pastries, fresh fruit salad, organic yoghurt, selection of cheese and meats - really puts some Hotel Breakfasts to shame. Everything was so fresh and the variety was excellent. The coffee is brewed fresh from the coffee machine - and is also very good!

The terrace area is right on the canal and a great spot for a cup of tea or coffee in the afternoon, its so peaceful. You can help yourself to many varieties of tea and of course their wonderful coffee, and there is always freshly made waffles as well.

The B&B is located in a quiet street but very close to the main square and all the major attractions. All within walking distance. It is like coming 'home' after a long day out.

Every afternoon when we returned to our room, Lynn had left a homemade 'treat'. From homemade apple tarts, to chocolate chip biscuits and chocolate cupcakes - such a lovely touch.

Lynn and Peter are obviously very passionate about what they do and nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend this B&B when staying in Brugge, but book well in advance as they are very busy!

Room Tip: The room Augustijn is lovely - the bathroom really spacious. Complete with L'Occitane products...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChickenSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lynn and Peter could not do enough for us. Lynn is an amazing decorator and cook. Everything was absolutely perfect. Very high end finishes down to the very last detail.

Wonderful breakfast every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice, home-made organic 8-grain bread, waffles, pastries, fresh fruit, and eggs made to order.

The B& B is located on a beautiful little canal where we could sit and drink coffee or sip some wine. It was absolutely lovely!!

Every night when we returned to our room there would be some delicious treat waiting for us in our room. One night it was home-made muffins and the next night it was freshly made chocolate mousse. What a treat!!

We highly recommend this B & B if you are ever in the area. It was amazing!!

Room Tip: We had the back room overlooking the canal. It was beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindbergcljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in May. The B&B is in a recently renovated "townhouse" on a canal about three blocks from the market square. The rooms are tasteful and modern, almost out of architectural digest. The terrace is a great spot for tea on the canal with flowering trees and swans swimming by. Breakfast was delicious; fresh orange juice, local cheese, homemade pastry and bread. The daily "treats" were amazing. Lynn and Peter are excellent hosts. All the five star reviews are clearly justified.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MD_BS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived in Bruges, in the old city, apprehensive about parking. Lynn met us outside Huis Koning, and organised parking just outside her front door! She was so helpful, professional and
amusing, we knew we would have a great time, and we did. Huis Koning is lovely, and the breakfast superb. Lynn's mother's jam is delicious. I would highly recommend staying with Lynn and Peter if you are in this fine city.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool, I but I can' find a way to uncheck it? Help! All the three rooms wo...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

An absolutely wonderful B & B in a great location. Every detail is considered and you feel welcomed and spoilt from the moment you arrive. Amazing coffee, delicious home made food and the best waffles ever! Lynn is always a delight to talk with and she makes a special point of allowing the highlights of Bruges to come alive for you by recommending everything you might need to know. Beautiful, comfortable rooms with surprise homemade tasty treats for you to discover when you return after a busy day, a canal view complete with ducklings at spring time and really everything you could wish for!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
743 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#4 of 232 in Bruges
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 232 in Bruges
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huis Koning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huis Koning

Address: Oude Zak 25, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £117 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huis Koning 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B with a terrace directly on the water site, this all in a 17th-century old Bruges house, whichs we totally renovated into a B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Huis Koning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huis Koning Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing