We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Eater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passion For Food

Passion For Food
Ranked #181 of 701 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Egyptian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Eater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The start to our early summer holiday was made special by finding this little gem in Bruges. It is off the beaten track off the main square so is quiet and well priced. The first time we went was lunchtime after a small downpour. The owner wiped down the tables and chairs outside for us and made sure the tables were placed so our feet were out of puddles. I had a soup selection and it was absolutely lovely. Despite the place being packed, the service was excellent.
We went again the following day for an evening meal and again, the service was excellent and my Vegetable tagine, perfect. Nice place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janetto2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    64
    11
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh food, friendly and relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really friendly host, very welcoming. Delicious vegan tagine for the pescetarian and a meaty one for the carnivore. Good sized portions and reasonable prices. Glad to have visited and would definitely go back when we next find ourselves in Bruges.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sjk256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
802 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 655 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop on our first evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We left it somewhat late for dinner on our first evening in Bruges. We happened across this one and we weren't disappointed. The showery rain had stopped, and we were fortunate to get an outside table in the courtyard. This was quite atmospheric with a vivid Mediterranean type colour on the walls.

After starters we had moussaka for the main course. All very flavoursome. We finished with some dessert and cappuccino.

The chap looking after us was most friendly and he offered copious advice on the lovely choices available. We considered the bill represented good value. So all in all a most agreeable occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful night of good food and great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our travel group of 4 always tries to find good restaurants with vegetarian options which is not easy to do. Passion For Food hit the mark, good food, wonderful patio and the owner was funny and gracious. We would recommend for veggies and non-veggies.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly Egyptian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We ate fairly late and despite being just about to close, the owner made us feel incredibly welcome. We had a couple of tagines, one lamb, one vegetarian. The lamb was delicious, falling apart and very tasty. The vegetarian was perfectly cooked, but for my taste could have taken a bit more spice & a little less mint.
The service was really good, very friendly. He made a lovely fuss of us and the other guests eating. He really made us feel like we were eating in his house.
I'd happily go back. This made a refreshing change to the usual selection of vegetarian past, pizza and curry.

Helpful?
1 Thank MPhillips76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passion For Food also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Passion For Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing