We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant although pricey.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Well located with large clean rooms, we stayed in the new part of the hotel. Nice breakfasts and good service. We found it expensive but for location and given the relative cost of everything in Bruges it was ok. A word of warning- it is not an easy place to drive in and the hotel car park is €20 a day but a public car park is a 5 minute walk and a more reasonable €10 per day.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_codlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,486 - 2,492 of 3,596 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

Where shall I start? When one pays £300/night/room one has high expectations. Of course for that price the hotel will be clean, nicely decorated and well located, that is a minimum at that cost. But did it feel luxurious? No. Did it have a wow factor? No. Have I stayed in more luxurious hotels that cost less? Yes.

Firstly, this is a large hotel (116 rooms) in a town where most hotels are small and boutique like, therefore this one is full of large groups of package holiday tourists, and as staff are not particularly friendly, they do make you feel like you are just one of the hundreds of guests.

One word that comes to mind when describing this hotel is soulless, it lacks charm. Plastic flowers and plants all around the hotel. With customer service well below average, nice rooms and very average bathroom. I have stayed in much more luxurious hotels in beautiful cities that cost less. So my advice is do your research as there are better ones out there for this price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicebutterlfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

If you are looking around for a hotel in Bruge, look no further. This is a beautiful hotel located just a few mins away from the main square. This is a 4-star hotel but really deserves 5 -stars. I am glad we found this hotel . it has the wow factor. The rooms are immaculate. Their is a beautiful lounge area with a bar which is great to relax in after a day of sight seeing. The buffet breakfast is great with lots of varienty. There is a steam room and hot bath and gym in their Wellness centre which is great for relaxation. I cant fault fault this hotel. All staff are very helpful and friendly. We had our son with us and staff were very helpful with cleaning the bottles and warming up food and milk. I cant fault this hotel. The only thing i can say it does not have is its own restaurant which i think most hotels in Bruges dont have as there are many places to eat out in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone , its perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khushvinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The Grand Hotel Casselbergh in Brugge, Belgium, is a gem! The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the service friendly, and the rooms great. You will find every amenity that you could need, and the breakfast that is included in your "very reasonable" room rate is first class. The rooms although not huge are beautifully appointed and comfortable. The public rooms are lovely. Parking is offered but is an extra charge and calls for reservations. If you are driving to Brugge, pay for parking at the Hotel as parking is very limited in the city. The Hotel's location is perfect for walking around this wonderful town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisW48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Just returned after a 3 night stay at this excellent hotel. Well placed just of the Burgh square and so easy to access the rest of the city from here to explore, shop or eat.
We stayed in an executive room which wasextremely comfortable and a joy to come home to each evening, and the bed was so comfortable! The bathroom facilities incuded a large bath and also a large powerful shower cubicle fully stocked with L'Occitane products. We travelled with a friend who had an identical room for single occupancy for the same price as our room.
The decor of the whole hotel was excellent and we enjoyed sitting in the very comfortable chairs in one of the grand reception rooms each evening for an aperitif before going out to eat and to have a nightcap before retiring to our rooms for the night.
Breakfast was incuded in our stay. This was self -service from a large buffet with both continental and cooked breakfast options. Plenty of fresh bread, rolls and bread for toasting. The scambled eggs were my favourite along with cripsy fried bacon and a sausage which set me up every morning for another days's sight seeing in this lovely city.
The Sunday morning we left there was a flea market in the street immediately outside the hotel and so the taxi was unable to collect us from the hotel which meant we had to drag our luggage down the street across the cobbled Burgh square and down another cobbled street fighting past the tourists and horse drawn carriages, to meet our taxi in the markt square. Not easy going on heavy small wheeled pull- along suitcases( full of Belgian choclates and beer as easter gifts!) but at last he was there waiting for us as promied and got us to the station in good time to catch our train to Brussles.
We will definitley return to this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmthyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This hotel is designed like a grand castle, and you indeed feel like royalty when staying there. Elegant rooms, comfortable and spacious rooms and the most beautiful sitting room/bar you'll ever see! Fantastic front desk and concierge service and within walking distance to the Burg, the Markt square, shopping areas, and the fish market where all the excellent restaurants are. A wonderful place as a home and starting point for your adventures in Brugge!

Room Tip: Book ahead online. Gets better values, than onsite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

All we can say is gorgeous hotel with the nicest staff. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March and were seriously impressed. The rooms were large, the bathroom was luxurious and the bed so comfy. The staff are so helpful, we emailed them when we returned home as we had accidentially left some items of clothing in the room and they had no hesitation in posting them over to us.
Overall we had a lovely stay in this hotel and would recommend it in a heartbeat. Literally a stone's throw from the old square and walking distance of everything. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinky80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £110 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing