We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, superb location, top top value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great hotel, superb location, top top value.”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Great hotel. Looks and feels newly refurbished. Lovely tall ceilings, quite plush and opulent feeling. Bathroom was a good quality too.

Parking is very good, you have a car lift to take you downstairs rather than having to drive through twisty narrow pathways. It's a really good point to note if you are nervous of damaging your car.

Great location too. One block from the main square to it's close to everything but quiet and secluded at the same time.

The included breakfast was EXCELLENT. There was a huge collection of hot and cold food, juices, breads, fruit etc. Was very pleasantly surprised.

All in all, this is an excellent value and good quality hotel that I would 100% recommend.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room available which is more than good enough for a three or four night stay. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    791
    135
    41
    29
See reviews for
555
2,102
61
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is situated very close to Burg in the centre of Bruges, so is quite difficult to locate if arriving by car, but perfectly placed for touring the city centre. There is underground car parking at €20 per night, but getting into the car lift with my Passat was a challenge!

The hotel room was very clean, comfortable, well proportioned and my daughter had her own area on a mezzanine floor. The bathroom had a bath, separate shower and two sinks, but there was a separate toilet in another area of the room. However, there was no hot water for the shower at 06:30 in the morning.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with plenty of fruit salad, good choice of rolls and bread and a choice of patisseries. The service was prompt.

The hotel has a fantastic ‘Wellness Room’ in the 13th century cellar of the hotel, with a gym, sauna and steam room, which is free for hotel residents. Towels and robes are supplied by reception, but you must leave your passport with them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

- Location just off the Burg, right smack in the historic center
- It's big, but nevertheless has a lot of atmosphere. Well done job with keeping the ground floor in style, with nice ensuite lobby rooms.
- We got upgraded and had a huge (= really huge) room just under the roof in the front building. Also saw more regular room of friends that were staying at the same time, which was normal size but definitely good.
- Free loan umbrella's, not superfluous in this town...
- Parking is not cheap (EUR 20 / day) and kinda funny with a car elevator that takes you down to crammed double parking spots. But hey, it's a parking garage right under the hotel which is not all that frequent in European historic city centers.
- Staff is not overly friendly, but mostly professional and correct. Although one minor point was that they did not show the detail to help my wife with heavy luggage when she arrived alone.
- Didn't try the spa and fitness center, although it is available

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, County Durham
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My son and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July 2011; the hotel was excellent in several ways. Our room was in the new part of the hotel (towards the back of the property) and had very modern fittings. We stayed on a B&B basis so I can't comment on the restaurant but I can say that the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice for all tastes. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the main square and other main attractions.

If I were to be asked what can be improved I would list the following:

Breakfast cereal selection was limited,
Tea and coffee making facilities in room would be better if powdered milk was not used,
Gym area is very small with little equipment,
Car parking is expensive at 20 euros per night (fortunately the side entrance to it was too narrow for my 4x4 so I found a nearby underground car park at 8.70 euros per 24hrs)!

Would I recommend the hotel or return myself? - Definately.

Room Tip: Don't reserve your parking at the hotel; it is too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltonReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Only in Brugge one night and thought we'd splurge on hotel. VERY VERY VERY accomodating and comfortable. I truly loved this experience.

Incredible location, excellent service, and extremely comfortable.

After walking all day around the beautiful city of Brugge, it was nice to relax in the hotel lounge, enjoying a glass of Cava, and listening to other travelers experience in this town. Easily walkable to many fun restaurants, taverns, and scenic hangouts.

Loved the place

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My wife and stayed in this lovely hotel which is centrally located. Great facilities and very friendly helful staff. Would recomend. Can not understand the negative comments made by some people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Perfectly located off the Burg. We stayed in a quality room which was small but clean and comfortable, the bathroom was nice and modern with L'Occitane toiletaries. Breakfast was a good buffet (plently of choice-patissaries, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, egg, bacon, sausages etc), best on the 2 days we showed up at 10am, on the day we went in at 9:30 it was very busy with most of the tables waiting to be cleaned. We enjoyed lounge\bar area which was a good place to have a last drink in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marybe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing