We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were here in July 2011. Thanks to Expedia for a great value of 3 nights double bed room for about 350 Euro.

The hotel is amazing with the charme a Grand Hotel should have. Everywhere there was the smell of fresh flowers and trees. You can hear classical tunes and easy leastening.

The hotel is very clean and the staff is amazing.

The room was quite big with 2 chairs, a small table, a desk and the huge bed. It has been a long time since I slept so good.
The bath is great and lets you enjoy each minute of showering and bathing. There are enough towels and the hotel's lotions and soaps are great!

Breakfast is tasty and offers different kinds of bread, cheese, marmelades, ham, eggs, fruit and other things. After all there is just a small selection but everyone will find something tasty.
Drinks in the Bar are cheap and taste good.

The fitness area is quite small with only 4 machines. The wellness area offers a steambath and a 95° sauna. The location is great though. In the old cellars you can relax very well!

The best thing about the hotel is its central location in the city.

Next time in Brugge, I'll definitely check in at Casselbergh!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMaerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,403 - 2,409 of 3,526 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

Hotel is modern and the rooms are well appointed. Within walking distance of points of interest. Only less than favorable was the hotel desk staff. When asked a question, they give you the impression that you are bothering them. Not a welcoming atmosphere. If you are looking for a clean, hotel in a convenient part of Bruges, this hotel definitely meet sthat criteria. The breakfasts were ample and service in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

You really cant fault this place. Staff were excellent. We had a room in the old building which was a good size, clean and had a great bed. Bathroom was lovely and included fantastic soaps etc. The lobby and lounge/bar area were amazing. I could have sat there for the whole time! Oh and the breakfast was great with heaps to choose from in a lovely environment. If you book here you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The infra-structure of the hotel is great!! The decoration is amazing and very tasteful. However, the staff that was there around 18h was not very helpfull. We arrived there with a lot of lugagge, since we were traveling for already a month, and there was not even 1 person to help us, even after I said that we would need some help to carry all of them - specially because I was travelling with my parents who are over 65 years old... No one indicated us where to park the car, not even mentioned that the hotel had a parking garage. Finally , when someone appeared "to help", (Mr. Andrea) he pulled one of our luggages abruptully, therefore falling on the street, breaking the locker holder. This caused the locker to open, which he picked up, and putted away. He only returned it after my mother asked him to.
Regarding the room, the bed was too soft. However, the rooms are super clean and spacious.
The breakfast is fantastic, with an amazing variety of food!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriscaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Great hotel. Looks and feels newly refurbished. Lovely tall ceilings, quite plush and opulent feeling. Bathroom was a good quality too.

Parking is very good, you have a car lift to take you downstairs rather than having to drive through twisty narrow pathways. It's a really good point to note if you are nervous of damaging your car.

Great location too. One block from the main square to it's close to everything but quiet and secluded at the same time.

The included breakfast was EXCELLENT. There was a huge collection of hot and cold food, juices, breads, fruit etc. Was very pleasantly surprised.

All in all, this is an excellent value and good quality hotel that I would 100% recommend.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room available which is more than good enough for a three or four night stay. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The hotel is situated very close to Burg in the centre of Bruges, so is quite difficult to locate if arriving by car, but perfectly placed for touring the city centre. There is underground car parking at €20 per night, but getting into the car lift with my Passat was a challenge!

The hotel room was very clean, comfortable, well proportioned and my daughter had her own area on a mezzanine floor. The bathroom had a bath, separate shower and two sinks, but there was a separate toilet in another area of the room. However, there was no hot water for the shower at 06:30 in the morning.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with plenty of fruit salad, good choice of rolls and bread and a choice of patisseries. The service was prompt.

The hotel has a fantastic ‘Wellness Room’ in the 13th century cellar of the hotel, with a gym, sauna and steam room, which is free for hotel residents. Towels and robes are supplied by reception, but you must leave your passport with them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silberhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

- Location just off the Burg, right smack in the historic center
- It's big, but nevertheless has a lot of atmosphere. Well done job with keeping the ground floor in style, with nice ensuite lobby rooms.
- We got upgraded and had a huge (= really huge) room just under the roof in the front building. Also saw more regular room of friends that were staying at the same time, which was normal size but definitely good.
- Free loan umbrella's, not superfluous in this town...
- Parking is not cheap (EUR 20 / day) and kinda funny with a car elevator that takes you down to crammed double parking spots. But hey, it's a parking garage right under the hotel which is not all that frequent in European historic city centers.
- Staff is not overly friendly, but mostly professional and correct. Although one minor point was that they did not show the detail to help my wife with heavy luggage when she arrived alone.
- Didn't try the spa and fitness center, although it is available

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £113 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing