We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We are becoming experts having stayed in Bruges on no less than 12 occasions and Casselbergh was our latest trip. Newly completed, the hotel has retained the grand frontage and to the rear is the new build. Rooms are large and comfortable, drinks making facilities and mini bar,breakfast is excellent, staff are good, the bar is a little "gentlemans club" rather than "lively" and situate close to central Bruges there is very little not to like about the hotel. Worthy of particular mention are the beds, the hotel must have spent a lot on the mattresses alone and well worth it, big, comfy, soft and very difficult to get out of in the morning.
One downside to Casselbergh is the underground car park which is accessed at the side of the hotel, through sliding doors and a lift. Any car bigger than average and you need to be extremely careful.
However, truly a "grand" hotel as described.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N17SHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,397 - 2,403 of 3,526 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed 5th & 6th August 2011. Rooms 2012 & 2013 in newer portion of hotel. Excellent accommodation - super shower, large well thought out room and ensuite. Very quiet in spite of the August open air musical entertainment in the adjacent square. The room had very large single beds pushed together. If you prefer a harder mattress go for the one on the left ( as you face them); the one on the right is very soft. Very good breakfast buffet. Centrally located - an excellent base to discover Bruges and then come back to soothing comfort, luxury, peace & quiet. Can heartily recommend Die Swaene Restaurant situated just behind the hotel - a lovely gastronomic experience with lots of little extras.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LW105746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel has a great location and I would definately recommend anyone to stay here. It is a beautiful, immaculate hotel with spa facilities and is in a fabulous location. We went over on the ferry so had the car but it was very straightforward to find with the help of the satnav and the hotel had its own underground car park (20 Euros) which was well worth it. This was accessed by a car lift - which was a first for us but if you have bike carriers or roof boxes speak with the hotel first as I'm not sure about the size of the lift.. The breakfasts were excellent too. Every part of the hotel was extremely well appointed to a high standard and I have to say the ladies toilets on the ground floor were stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Got last min deal here at very good rate. Stayed in cheaper rooms, room 2011 & it was just perfect. Flat screen t.v, writing desk & armchairs, lovely modern bathroom with bath & seperate shower with l'occitane products provided. Air con, the list is endless. Located right in the heart of Bruges but felt very quiet & peaceful there. We had 2 single beds pushed together with seperate bed linen but it didn't detract from our stay. Breakfast was excellent. Buffet style but to a very high standard. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Only problem we could hear chairs being scraped on breakfast room floor from bout 8 in mornings but didn't really bother us. Would be an easy problem for them to solve though. Hotel bar was fabulous - so comfortable & stylish withlibrary section & roaring fire. Drinks in bar were reasonable considering standard of hotel - 4 euro for glass of house red. Also free wifi provided throughout hotel which is excellent & 2 computers near lobby offering free internet access. Check in staff when we arrived were cold but functioning & thatwas experience throughout except for 1 member of staff(3-08-11) who was extremely warm & helpful. Main bar guy was also very nice & pleasant. Really loved this hotel & could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnazzyShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights together with my parents in law.
The welcome at the hotel was a bit cool but for the rest this hotel is perfect for a couple of days in Bruges. Everything is very close by. There are some nice restaurants in the neighbourhood.

The room in the hotel was very quiet and cool. Airconditioning works very well. Large bathroom with separate shower cabin and bath. Large king size bed (bit soft).
We used the small gym (cross trainer, treadmill, some weights, bicycle) - it was quite warm there because of the sauna.
We also used the sauna a couple of times and this was lovely. There is also a steam room.

Breakfast was very good with very fresh bread, bacon and scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and all kinds of meat and cheese.

Parking of the hotel is expensive (20 euro per night) but there is a parking called Pandreitje (Gevangenisstraat) at just 5 minute walk from the hotel (8,70 euro per night).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justagirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

we stayed for one night in july,this hotel is lovely.Check in was easy and quick,we payed for parking you have to check in first before you can park your car(car park is underground which you have to use a car lift) the room was huge,free safe,tv minibar tea and coffee facilities,shower and a bath,the bed was a kingsize

around the hotel was spotless,breakfast was excellant bacon sausage scrambled and meats cheeses and bread and fruit

we will recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpringyHKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were here in July 2011. Thanks to Expedia for a great value of 3 nights double bed room for about 350 Euro.

The hotel is amazing with the charme a Grand Hotel should have. Everywhere there was the smell of fresh flowers and trees. You can hear classical tunes and easy leastening.

The hotel is very clean and the staff is amazing.

The room was quite big with 2 chairs, a small table, a desk and the huge bed. It has been a long time since I slept so good.
The bath is great and lets you enjoy each minute of showering and bathing. There are enough towels and the hotel's lotions and soaps are great!

Breakfast is tasty and offers different kinds of bread, cheese, marmelades, ham, eggs, fruit and other things. After all there is just a small selection but everyone will find something tasty.
Drinks in the Bar are cheap and taste good.

The fitness area is quite small with only 4 machines. The wellness area offers a steambath and a 95° sauna. The location is great though. In the old cellars you can relax very well!

The best thing about the hotel is its central location in the city.

Next time in Brugge, I'll definitely check in at Casselbergh!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMaerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £111 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing