We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location - Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My wife and i stayed here for 4 nights and we were very happy to have chosen to stay here for our trip to Bruges.

The hotel is in the best location, 10 steps away from Burg and the Markt and yet in a very very quite street. The public car park is about 5 mins walking distance and very convenient. all major restuarants and pubs are within 5 mins walking distance.

The rooms are clean and beds very comfortable. We had a room with a canal view and loved sitting on the ledge. The bathrooms are very clean and new with a seperate shower area. The look and the feel of the rooms and the hotel is very new. The front desk is helpful and the bar is wonderful to visit at night. The breakfast is a good spread and well paced out,

The only negative was the EUR 20 charge per night to park the car in the underground hotel park. Given that we were staying here, the hotel should be reasonable to reduce the rates to atleast that of the public car park for its guests.

overall, great hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: take the one overlooking the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,458 - 2,464 of 3,666 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

The two of us spent a short break in Bruges, staying at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh and just wished it could have been longer. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfasts plentiful and the room beautifully presented with the most comfortable bed ever! The position of the hotel is perfect,just off the central area. I can't praise it enough, probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We will be back. thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old part of the building are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadBeagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This four star hotel was located just a 5 min walk from the main market square in Brugge. The hotel has more of an antique-style furnishing and decor, with luxurious and clean rooms (the photos on the website are a good representation of what they offer in terms of accommodation).

The service was top knotch, not only at reception, but with everyone we encountered (breakfast, lounge/bar, etc.) - they even provided us with some umbrellas when they were calling for a rainy day.

The lounge/bar area is beautiful and relaxing, with a nice fire going in the huge wood fireplace in the evenings. Drinks were also well priced.

The buffet breakfast was included in the price and it was plentiful - cheeses, breads and pasteries, eggs, meats/pâtés, yogurt, fresh fruit, teas, coffee.

Next time, I would probably try to get a room with a view of the canal, but other than that, I loved everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TeeJ_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for our Wedding Anniversary and had a lovely time.

The hotel was perfectly situated right in the centre - 1 min from the Burg and 3 mins from the Markt - one of the most central hotels in Bruges.

The room was very clean and spacious and the bed was so comfortable that my wife didn't want to get up. The room had air conditioning, a minibar and a safe. The bathroom was also clean with a good shower and L'Occitane shampoo and shower gel.

Breakfast was included in the price and there was a good selection available ranging from Bacon, Sausages and Scrambled Eggs, Cereal, Continental Cold Meats, Coissonts, Toast or Rolls (with Jam and Marmalade) with Tea, Coffee or Juices.

The reception Staff were helpful and friendly as well.

I would stay here again and recommend this for both location and price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Booked this for an incredibly good price after some searching for around £110 with breakfast. I have previously stopped in the 5* Kempinski Dukes Palace in Bruges and whilst excellent, for considerably more money and only a few notable extras I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Big positive is location as it is practically right next to the main square. We parked in the public car park about 4 mins walk from the hotel for around 9 Euros for 24 hours.

The hotel looks good, really well appointed with some traditional features but with a modern and clean feel. The standard room was a good size with the usual trimmings you would expect in a good 4* hotel. Check in and out was really efficient and the overall service was very good.

This deserves the current ratings on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorny1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel is located right in the heart of Bruges, one block from the "Burg". It used to be the house of a wealthy local family and has been remodeled to be a hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are very confortable with L'Occitane products and a very good shower, with actual glass shower doors. Staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rlimagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel was absolutely outstanding. We traveled by train around Europe for our honeymoon, and this was without doubt our favourite hotel. Very clean, luxurious, friendly staff, great bathroom products (l'occitane), and pretty good breakfast too. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamsin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £102 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing