We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Casselbergh Hotel Bruges” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Casselbergh Hotel Bruges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed at this Hotel Oct 2011 having booked with Voyage Privy.It really is 5 star,in every respect,the breakfast is very special.Drinks are very reasonable compared to drinking in the main square.It is ideal to walk to the main shopping and sight seeing areas about 6 mins.
If booking on your own its costs about £130 per night I got a deal for 3 nights plus eurostar and
train from brussels to Bruge for £399 all in with Voyage Privy

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antro0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    750
    121
    39
    28
See reviews for
505
1,975
59
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel for three nights as part of a pre-trip on a river cruise. It is a very short walk to both the Burg Platz and the Markt Platz. The room was nicely furnished and a good size. It was quiet and the breakfast was very good. It has a small bar that we didn't try and no restaurant.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in the back facing an alley. While not the prettiest view it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobinlakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

i would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.
We were allocated a first floor room, with street facing view. The room was adequate size, the beds/pillows very comfortable and bathroom large clean and the luxury of l'occitane toiletries. The room has individual thermostats which was ideal as we did find the hotel itself rather hot.
Breakfast is self service and a good range of the usual items, fruit, bread, ham, cheese and hot foods.
The public areas are luxurious and comfortable. We enjoyed a drink in the bar each evening and as previously mentioned, found it slightly on the expensive side. Not surprising in this standard of hotel.
I would definitely return but would probably upgrade to a larger room that wasn't street facing.

Room Tip: try to choose a room away from the front of the hotel, a bit of road noise if you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Beatifully decorated, clean, spacious and perfectly positioned. Brilliant breakfast. Service very good if a little formal for my taste. No restaurant in hotel but so many options close by it matters not. Absolutely everything right about this hotel so why only 'Very Good' rating? It is quite pricey (justifiably) but 5 days in Bruges cost both arms and one leg so I am finding it hard to mark anything 'excellent' when the cost seems so prohibitvely high. Also I suppose it feels a bit 'corporate'. Nonetheless, for the place in the market that this hotel intends to occupy, I doubt whether you coulkd find its equal elsewhere. If we travelled to Bruges again (I fear we probably won't for cost reasons) we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Suggest you try 1103!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLewis87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Definitely a well above average hotel. Very good location, helpful service, nice rooms. Well decorated. Only slightly negative comment was that breakfast buffet started slightly late in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroFuego73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend. Front of house was very helpful and efficient dealing with our reservation and we were allocated rooms in the historic part of the hotel. They were spotlessly clean and had very comfortable beds, with l'Occitane toiletries.
The buffet breakfast and service was excellent, with choice of fruit, pastries, egg, bacon, sausage, cold meat, cheese, smoked salmon etc etc.

The bar was lovely but as is often the case with hotels rather expensive. This was a contrast to the room rate including breakfast direct from the hotel which was good value for the quality compared with other alternatives. The hotel was smart and quite formal, but relaxed enough so you didn't feel intimidated.

The location was wonderful, being a short stroll from the centre of town and nearby bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and while not cheap the location was perfect and the inside of the hotel was fabulous. There is no restaurant however there are numerous restaurants within a stones throw away. The buffet breakfast was perfect. The hotel lounge and bar was a great place to relax and complete opulance. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Featherbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing