We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbeated location real 4 stars hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“unbeated location real 4 stars hotel.”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Nice room, close to the center, very good breakfast.
Reception are not very freindly - as we read in trip advisor regarding other small hotels.
Pricy for over season.

Room Tip: Take the canal view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,428
    799
    138
    42
    29
See reviews for
567
2,129
61
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Have stopped in several hotels in Bruges, but this was the best. Very stylish, right from the entrance hall, lobby and through to the room. Lovely bathroom, all exceltionally clean and comfortable. Breakfast was top rate, buffet style but with good fresh fruit and verty acceptable scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (for a buffet). Nothing seemed to be in short supply despite the hotel being very full.

In terms of location, hard to beat, just a few minutes walk from the Markt and the bustle of the cafes in the centre. Will stay here again and higly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here on a Times sponsored AA short break and it was exceptional value. We had a stunning triple room in the old part of the hotel, the third bed was on a mezzanine, very adequate & exciting for a 6 year old. Couldn't have been better located, the staff made excellent recommendations for restaurants and breakfast was the usual very good buffet (coffee was rubbish!). The only minor criticism is that because there is no separate concierge, the reception staff were at times overstretched.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I recently flew to Brussels for business meetings and was able to take two days off to visit Bruges and Ghent. We found the Grand Hotel Casselbergh on Trip Advisor and had it also recommended by AMEX.
The hotel was just as it had been described, perfect!
Even though I was there with my son celebrating his 18th birthday, the room was just fine with very comfortable beds and a great bathroom, clearly the best we had in Belgium.
A very large and well provided for with L'Occitane products.
Breakfast was just fine and everything for only 125 euros, as good as it gets.
I am sure if you are traveling on a more romantic holiday it would be just perfect with beautiful surroundings, just to one side of the Town Hall Plaza and the Basilica of the Holly Blood and also with a beautifully decorated interior.
This was a great hotel for any trip and the best part was the price!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aphillips61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here as a late short honeymoon for 3 nights in october. The location is great, just off the Berg and close enough to walk to everything you may want to see in Bruges. The accomodation is very "old world" grand but also had a modern, clean feel to it.

We were allocated a room to the canal side on the ground floor and found it to be clean, comfortable and perfect for a short city stay. Our only problem with the room was discovered on the first night when the noise of toilets, showers and baths could be heard behind the walls and ceilings. It was loud enough to wake us in the middle of the night too! I cant understand how this can be in a brand new building?

We are never ones to moan and put up with it, but it was a negative point we found with the otherwise faultless hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Kudos to the management and owners of The Grand Hotel Casselbergh, which is just that, a "grand" hotel that is like a castle. Located in a former aristocratic mansion, the word luxury is absolutely appropriate for this hotel. The breakfast was truly extraordinary. Best of all, the location within Bruges is walking distance to the Belfry square, The Church of Our Lady that houses an exquisite Michelangelo sculpture and several paintings by Peter Paul Rubens, is an easy stroll away.

Room Tip: Try to be in the "old" part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Wow! I stayed here one night in September and was very impressed by this hotel - I had read the reviews and they dont actually do justice to how exquisite and elegant this hotel is. As soon as I arrived I felt comfortable and welcome! I had a canal view room and double bed, very comfortable by European standards, a large bathroom and beautiful view of the city. I recommend getting the canal view if possible - ask for the best canal view room in the hotel. Room was spacious, clean and I felt like royalty. The buffet breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold food, and the actual breakfast room is glittered with beautiful chandeliers. The service was very good, found the staff very friendly, including the maids who went out of their way to help me. Location is terrific too, you step out and it's the city centre! For a young female solo traveller I felt very safe in Bruges at this hotel, and generally. I cant fault this hotel - will definitely be back! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girl_abroad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing