We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great reception staff”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked this hotel for a birthday weekend in December 2011. There was a queue to check in when we arrived, after about 15 minutes we were given our room key - unfortunately our room was in the new section of the hotel and the key didn't work, so my boyfriend went back to reception to let them know (had to queue again), no apology from the reception staff and a new key was given to him. This key worked, but the room had not been cleaned since the last guest had left, it had a view onto a crumbling brick wall of a building opposite and my heart sank. We both went back down to reception, again had to queue - told the receptionist about the state of the room, again no apology but we were given a room upgrade (thankfully!) in the older section of the hotel (SO much nicer).

The communal areas of the hotel were lovely, which more than made up for the surly reception staff. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar area every evening, sat by the fire and were given complimentary snacks while we relaxed. The bar staff were very friendly, and made us feel at home.

The hotel is in a great location, close to the Market Square and a lovely restaurant (La Petit Auberge). We had stayed in Le Tuilerieen hotel a few years prior to this last visit, and would probably stay there again rather than the Grand Casselburgh - better facilities, service and room quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older / original section of the hotel, much more character and closer to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjotter323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,390
    791
    135
    41
    29
See reviews for
554
2,102
61
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Beware! I booked this hotel in September based on wonderful reviews and was really looking forward to staying here. I just received an email that they can no longer honor our reservation. They bumped us! This is the year of the Floridad in Holland. Belgium and Holland are totally full. Everything is twice the price as when I booked it or sold out. Apparently they took a group in the hotel, and just kicked out our reservation. Very dirty trick. Can't rely on them!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank CEG360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for 1 night only, when on a city-break in Belgium, back in September. We got a good deal on the Internet and all in all were very happy with our choice. We had a standard room, which may seem to be on the small side but is actually very comfortable and adequate, with traditional welcoming decor and a smallish but lovely, modern, squeaky-clean bathroom. Toiletries from L’Occitane were a great bonus.
Breakfast was good, especially the fresh breads and rolls, but it was more of a 4-star then 5-star treat - in terms of choice only, everything tasted lovely and looked great.
The biggest “pro” for this hotel is the great location - literally few metres and round the corner from the Burg Square where Town Hall is and approx. 5 minute walk from The Markt Square.
The thing we liked least was the impersonal service at check-in and in general (breakfast room staff etc). The staff were all very professional and helpful but seemed a bit stuck-up.
Breakfast and staff attitude were the only minor ‘issues’ that we noticed that they may want to work on; all in all we really enjoyed this beautiful and relaxing hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I booked 6 months ahead at this hotel and they informed me 6 weeks before my stay that they made a mistake with my reservation and are now overbooked. I am pretty sure they were not overbooked 6 months ago when I booked. They mentioned they would help me find another place but this was a busy time so I should hurry as everything is selling out for my time period. I have a strange feeling I was bumped as I was only staying 3 nights and had a special reduced room rate. I think I was scammed by giving the room to someone who was staying longer or paying full rate. Beware.......

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank sondrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in February. This is a beautiful hotel, all the staff are very pleasant and the service is very good. Our room was both spacious and spotless and I would highly recommend this hotel. However a word of warning on Bruges, the city is delightful but the prices in many of the restaurants are, in my opinion, exhorbitant so be very careful where you choose to eat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggieboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Our room was in the new section of the hotel. It was a big room, with modern décor and a large bathroom that was also modern in style. The main part of the hotel (the old part) is lovely, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. The bar was a great place to have a drink before heading out for the evening. The breakfast also had a really good choice. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a few minutes from the main square. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short break in Brugge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel just for a night, in a nice upgrated to superior room, but I do not know why, but I was not blown away by the hotel in general. Maybe because my impression was marred by breakfast, as I had a food poisoning, as I got to know latter on that one of my work partners got a food poisoning as well, but he've got over it faster then I.

I had a superior room and it was big with impressive bathroom, where you could take a bath or a shower. The sad thing it was on the ground floor, so the view was simple. As I heard it is better to ask for a room on the 4th floor with a view of the river, as this view is very nice.

The location of the hotel is wonderful, as it is as much in the historical center as you can get. Brugge is beautiful on itself, so it is great when you cen get to main sights so fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate-go-round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing