We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We arrived to the hotel on Monday morning after walking from the Bruges train station (about a 20-25 minute walk) with no problems finding the hotel once we got to the main streets. The woman who checked us in was very friendly and upgraded us to a suite in the new section of the hotel. After climbing a small staircase from the elevator we arrived at room 12.16. With exposed wood beams surrounding us we were quite excited to see our room. It was fabulously appointed, spacious and clean. A large king sized bed with a desk, tv unit with closets, a fridge and coffee maker. Upstairs in the loft area was a twin sized bed and small seating area. Our 7 year old daughter slept up here and loved having her own hideout amongst the beams, like a tree house.

The bathroom was large and clean (2 sinks, tub and shower) and I loved the L'Occitane bath products.

We had the breakfast included in our stay and we really appreciated having so many healthy options (eggs, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc) before starting our day. We did use the wellness room/ workout facilties one evening and they were perfect.

The hotel location is just off of the main square but tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists. It was convenient to stop at the hotel throughout the day to drop off shopping bags and switch out our shoes. Like most, we were totally enchanted with Bruges and wish we could've stayed longer. We didn't expect the great shopping there at all! The historical sites and people were lovely. We had great food (tried to stay away from places that looked touristy) and an overall amazing experience. We will be back and will stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: I would imagine that any room would be great here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,394
    792
    136
    41
    29
See reviews for
555
2,106
61
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I hate trying to find hotels in Belgium. The signage is terrible and the language is hardly similar to English or French. It took us about 40 minutes to find this hotel and when we did, it was still a chore to park the car.

Having said all that, the only complaint I have about this hotel is finding it. Once we located it, everything about the hotel was spot on excellent. The parking -- though tight -- was straight forward -- for those who do well on European roads. If you are an American with a big cadillac and don't to well in Europe -- don't even try driving in Belgium (Gent, Bruges, etc.). We had a mid-size (small) van and were able to use the parking elevator and park down below the hotel without too much problem.

The desk staff was very friendly and tri-lingual. The rooms were immaculate and worthy of a five star rating. We had a noisy family next to one of the rooms we were assigned, so if you have older children like we had, it might be better to simply indicate you are all adults because it seemed like the families were put together. The next door down had small -- very bratty kids -- and they kept the occupants of one of our rooms up.

The rooms themselves however were phenomenal. In the room I stayed in, it was very quiet and very comfortable. The beds were AAA+++.

The breakfast was great and filling (continental). The location was very close to the main two squares and near the old churches. It was very close to many restaurants. Our only regret is that we only stayed for one night. If we had it to do over again, because there was so much shopping and dining and there were many great sights to see, we would have stayed at least one more night.

Room Tip: Unless you have very young children, you might just categorize your occupants as all adults -- assum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I was not expecting the level of excellence this hotel gave us for the amazing price we paid ,135 euro per night (it was low season). Stunning hotel, elegant and beautifully appointed, quiet, perfect location, huge buffet breakfast and wifi included. The hotel has several fabulously appointed rooms attached to the bar ideal for a romantic after dinner drink. Reception area, although only small was friendly and efficient. As though Bruges wasn't delightful enough, this hotel was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Chose a room with canal view, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Myself and my wife stayed in the Casselbergh with friends of ours. This is a beautiful hotel in a quiet location 2 minutes walk from the centre of Bruge. We stayed in standard rooms which were lovely-nice bathroom and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cold meats, cheeses and hot food. The bar and lounge in the hotel are beautiful-comfortable armchairs, nice decor and an open fire. Bar prices for a hotel are very good. The Wellness centre is a little dissapointing, the Turkish bath is a steamroom that on the day we visited was quite smelly. Basically there is a lot of space in the Wellness centre that could be utilised a lot better. Staff in the hotel were businesslike as opposed to being friendly. Bar closes at 12pm and when I went to get a drink at 11.55pm I had to argue to get one. On checking out noone asked did we enjoy our stay / we everything ok?. Just small touches that could make a big difference.
Overall this hotel I would highly recommend to anyone planning on staying in Bruges. I'd have no reservation about returning and overall the hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmymac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel towards the end of January and honestly could not fault it. The room was spacious and perfectly clean. Would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We booked this hotel for a birthday weekend in December 2011. There was a queue to check in when we arrived, after about 15 minutes we were given our room key - unfortunately our room was in the new section of the hotel and the key didn't work, so my boyfriend went back to reception to let them know (had to queue again), no apology from the reception staff and a new key was given to him. This key worked, but the room had not been cleaned since the last guest had left, it had a view onto a crumbling brick wall of a building opposite and my heart sank. We both went back down to reception, again had to queue - told the receptionist about the state of the room, again no apology but we were given a room upgrade (thankfully!) in the older section of the hotel (SO much nicer).

The communal areas of the hotel were lovely, which more than made up for the surly reception staff. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar area every evening, sat by the fire and were given complimentary snacks while we relaxed. The bar staff were very friendly, and made us feel at home.

The hotel is in a great location, close to the Market Square and a lovely restaurant (La Petit Auberge). We had stayed in Le Tuilerieen hotel a few years prior to this last visit, and would probably stay there again rather than the Grand Casselburgh - better facilities, service and room quality.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the older / original section of the hotel, much more character and closer to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjotter323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Beware! I booked this hotel in September based on wonderful reviews and was really looking forward to staying here. I just received an email that they can no longer honor our reservation. They bumped us! This is the year of the Floridad in Holland. Belgium and Holland are totally full. Everything is twice the price as when I booked it or sold out. Apparently they took a group in the hotel, and just kicked out our reservation. Very dirty trick. Can't rely on them!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank CEG360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing