We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great character and very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This lovely hotel in the center of Bruges is superior by all accounts. Very convenient and rooms are very quaint with modern charms. For a romantic location with incredible convenience this hotel tops the list in Bruges

Room Tip: first floor room in new section was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,228 - 2,234 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed 3 dasy 1to 4 of june and I must say that it is an excellent hotel 1b50 mete
rs away from the marom the markt.We had a canal view
room and the view was perfect.The rooms were clean and daily service.For
first time in my life i wake up 7:30 so I can dnk coffee and relax with the view.The bed was g
reat and we had a quality sleep The breakfast was good but I ve seen better.
So next time Casselbergh again










i

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaltsilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Street on which it is located, moving away from the area of Burg, a hotel - the second building on the square itself.
Room - standard in the new building. All is well. All - in the black. By cons attribute only to the small size of the hall, which is extremely inconvenient, especially during the cold season, if the issue stops more than one person. Dress and undress have to queue, leave the bathroom at the same time, in general, impossible. The apartment itself is secondary, it is of sufficient size.
A bathroom is too bad - no bidet, but there is a bath and shower with rain shower. And toiletries, L'Occitane, replenished daily. Seven towels for two.
In a bar corner - for two sets of stemware for wine and water, kettle, cups, and also daily updated with a set of tea / coffee. Plasma TV panel. At the head, in addition to sconces - Flexible night light. Double-glazed windows, individual air conditioning. Free Wi-Fi in the rooms, there is free internet access in the lobby.
Very good sound insulation, both in the rooms and throughout the hotel (well, apparently, designed and built:)), which have not met. With sufficient workload hotel - everywhere is very quiet and cozy. All rooms have been around our busy, but the sounds are not heard absolutely no. And virtually invisible and silent operation personnel.
Basically the old hotel building is very nice lounge - fireplace room, library, cigar room and bar. Prices in him, by the way, almost all are the same as in the city. In the historical cellars of 14-17 cc. is a free fitness center (gym, sauna, Turkish bath, a room for relaxation), the winter will be very useful.
Breakfast - European standard, without any frills (Belgian chocolate and waffles was not). But there were - fresh juices, fruits, fresh pastries, croissants, several varieties of freshly baked corn bread, honey cakes, several kinds of fine cheeses, meat and fish cutting, well, everything else ... waltzes of Strauss, in Vienna the Astoria, for breakfast was not, but classical music is played on the floors where the rooms and some hallways.
Generally, in this hotel we were warm and cozy.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in mid May. The hotel was centrally located, I needed no public transportation. Although the exterior of the hotel was noteworthy but not spectacular, the interior was worthy of a good recommendation. The staff was most helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable and nicely furnished, the breakfast was excellent. This is a centrally located hotel in a charming city,

Room Tip: I arrived by a tour bus, I have no idea about the parking for a privately owned vehicle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmaus_PAFisherman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is one of the best that I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in a lot. From the moment you walk into the gorgeous lobby you know you are in a world class establishment. The staff at the desk are perfectly well trained. Just the right balance of friendliness and professionalism. Everything works perfectly and everything is done so thoughtfully. From the free wireless internet in the room to the little touches of luxury in the bathroom to the lavish and free breakfast, everything is perfect. The room itself was a home away from home with a canal view and a snug friendliness that made me want to move in and live here forever. Bruges is one of my favorite places on earth but there were moments when I was reluctant to leave my wonderful hotel room. For me that is the ultimate compliment I can pay to this magical hotel in such a magical location, right in the heart of the old town. I don't care how picky you are. I challenge anyone to find anything to complain about at this home away from home in paradise. Stay here at least once before you die.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the fourth floor. They have the best views and are built into the roof cav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driverrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights last weekend. Very busy because most people did not have to go to work on Monday.
Plus : very good location. The " Burg " and the Market place are just a few steps away, but you will not be bothered by the noise of the partying people over there in the weekend. We stayed in the " new " part of the hotel, which is a little further away from the street side as well, but the street is very quiet for a city center. Huge, but cosy bar/lobby facilities. The room we had was rather small, but I guess this is typical for city hotels for historical towns. We got everything we needed though.
Minus : poor wellness facilities. Breakfast is not bad, but can be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions on business visits to the city, and would not wish to stay anywhere else. This hotel is a haven from the busy, tourist city. Excellent public rooms and all appointed to a high standard. Some of the bedrooms can be a little on the small side, but still perfectly adequate. I prefer a 2nd floor room overlooking the street. very nice sized and comfortable rooms, maybe a little noisy at night with the inevitable drunks rolling home but very pleasant. tea/coffee facilities in the room and a minibar. A small convenience store just 50m down the road for bottled water etc. Breakfast is served downstairs and is as substantial as you want, the hotel does not serve lunch or dinner (unless there is a business meeting arranged) but plenty of choice locally. I recommend Cambrinus which is only 100m from the hotel. The underground garage is expensive if driving - €20 a night. I don't recognise the comments about unhelpful staff, I found them all to be excellent although one person on reception could be a little brusque. If anybody doesn't like this hotel, well, i can think of plenty worse than this!

Room Tip: if you require a larger room make sure to ask for one, those overlooking the street can be noisy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crookedbillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £108 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing