We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault the Grand Hotel Casselbergh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't fault the Grand Hotel Casselbergh!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The location is excellent, staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room (standard price double for bed and breakfast) was comfortable and spacious. The bed was one of the comfiest I have slept in! The breakfast was plentiful and there was lots of variety. We thought that it was excellent value for money and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaynor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,428
    799
    138
    42
    29
See reviews for
567
2,129
61
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Having been to Bruges a couple of times before we had seen the hotel and were keen to spend a night there. We booked through Hotels.com and got a really good deal on a canal side room with breakfast included. Having booked, we saw a previous reviwers comment about booking through a similar site and not being given a very good room. We however were delighted with our room allocation. We had a beautiful room on the fourth floor directly looking out over the canal (room 2406). A stunning view of the city.
As other reviewers have commented, all aspects of this hotel are exceptional. We ate at De Gourden Kroes next the hotel (which had good reviews on TripAdvisor) and that was lovely. Its very small and gets full quickly so we asked the hotel to reserve us a table and we think that gave us a priority reservation. Well worth others considering

Room Tip: Well worth paying a suplement for canal side room. Ask for high level (4th is highest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristow, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Grand Hotel Casselburgh is ideally located just off one of the main squares in Bruges, a beautiful medieval city. It is elegant and comfortable and you should spend some time relaxing in one of several sumptuous lounges - one with a fireplace that was very welcome on a cold day in May! Our room was so comfortable with excellent beds, a flat-screen TV and marble bathroom. Don't be concerned with the frosted glass door on the bathroom - it's completely opaque! The breakfast buffet was delicious with crispy bacon (American style), eggs and several other hot dishes. There were plenty of trays of meats and cheeses, a great fresh fruit salad and other fruits and lots of delicious miniature pastries and croissants. The dining room itself is comfortable and elegant. We had a wonderful stay and would love to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We are currently staying at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh in Bruges and loving it. There's nothing much I can add that others haven't already said about this property, other than the hotel's staff are some the best trained and most helpful that we've experienced, anywhere. Even housekeeping, often the 'Achilles heel' of most hotel operations, came through brilliantly and quickly for us. As others have said, the rooms are large (which is often unusual in Europe) and very comfortable, as are the marble bathrooms and wonderful 'rain shower' heads, but what sets the hotel apart from many others is the warmth of the staff. Add to this, a perfect location, just one block from the main square, yet tucked down a small street with little traffic and overlooking a canal on one side. (Our room, in the modern wing, had a view of the canal.) The Grand Hotel Casselbergh leaves little to be desired, at any price level. And, least I forget, the buffet breakfast, served in a spacious and elegant modern room downstairs, was one of the best we've ever experienced. Only the Hilton Tel Aviv has more offerings at its famous breakfast buffet. All in all, the Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges is an absolute delight and we are thrilled to have another three nights here! :)

Room Tip: The modern wing has some rooms which overlook the canal, while the traditional wing has rooms with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David49b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Exceptional in all respects...........central location with on-site parking facilities, grand historical building, room comfort, quality of buffet breakfast and customer-friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again on another visit to wonderful Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stunning hotel, clean and efficient. Bathrooms top quality - great shower etc. Good location for main attractions and eateries

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trade25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Recently returned from a 3 night stay at this good quality hotel in the centre of the old town in Bruges. Very well maintained hotel, spacious and comfortable rooms including L'Occitaine toilettries, tea and coffee making facilities and mini bar. Lovely bar and lounge areas decorated with lush furnishings and artworks in the traditional style. Surprisingly (pleasantly) drinks in the hotel bar were far less expensive than a cafe on the main square (we paid 6.5 Euro for a Diet Coke and 6 Euro for a beer in the square versus 2.5 Euro and 3.5 Euro respectively in the hotel lounge bar - and those also came with nibbles to accompany. Cocktails too were reasonable at around 7 Euros. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of food to meet all tastes and was buffet style. We booked a canal view room and although we could see the canal the hotel is not directly situated alongside and so it wasn't quite as expected, however we had no complaints and would certainly recommend this hotel as it was very clean, very well located adjacent to the Burg (large square which connects to the much larger main square) close to restaurants, bars and shops but quiet inside and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helenbakagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing