We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casselbergh - a hotel that keeps on giving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Booked 3 rooms for 4 nights for July 12 at the Casselbergh following TA research, As organiser, I had 3 groups to please - they were blown away.

We booked rooms in the new section in December, on-line, direct with the Hotel and had a fantastic advanced rate - that included breakfast. Rooms were clean and a good size with a nice bathroom, flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. The minibar was well stocked with prices that were very reasonable.

The Hotel was in a fantastic location - close to the two main squares - perfectly placed to walk Bruges. Its 4-5 public rooms, including a bar area, at the front of the Hotel were wonderful. 'Grand' was an understatement - the rooms had beautiful chandeliers, exquisite furnishings, tasteful art - a touch of class. The breakfast room was well laid out and the food was fresh, tasty & plentiful. Fellow guests were impressed with the free gym - we were celebrating a birthday and gave exercise a miss!

The most impressive part of this Hotel was the friendliness, helpfulness & professionalism of its young staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We booked in & out in minutes and they provided service with a smile. Dank U

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taff37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,182 - 2,188 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Arrived by taxi from the station and the taxi driver said "best hotel in Brugges". Reception excellent, dealt with us very quickly and given a room in the new part which is all conected to the old part. The room was very good, large, clean with an excellent bathroom. looked out on the space between the old and new part, but even this was well maintained.
The public rooms are a delight with a bar and 4/5 areas to sit in very comfortable chairs. Prices in the bar were very reasonable especially for a 4* hotel and in many cases cheaper than outside. Breakfast was excellent with enough variety for all, served in a light and airy room.
Staff could not have been better, helpful and attentive when needed.
Location is second to none, 50mts from the Burgh and a further 50mts from the main square.
Brugges is a beautiful city, do try the boat ride and the horse and trap ride.
I would definately stay here again and would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Did not see rooms in the older part but the rooms in the new part are excellent and in the back so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbenhall_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Great hotel great location upgraded our room huge bed lovely bathroom above all great shower buffet breakfast very good location perfect nothing bad about this hotel they staff were attentitive but not overbearing we had a little rain however the hotel provided umbrella's
The hotel is situated just a short walk from the main town square where it was easy take the tour of the town in either a horse and carriage or a canal boat trip or if your really lazy a mini bus ouch ride we elected the horse and carriage on our guide was very informative pointing out points of interest ogether with a little history

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank nigelbrignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great hotel. You cannot go wrong staying at this hotel. All was great: A/C, location, beds firm, bathroom fine, parking a auto cost 35 Euros. There are no negatives. Food was good. Best part of visit was the canal boat ride through town.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gregjer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I found this gem of a hotel on Trip Advisor and highly recommend it. The hotel is very centrally located just off the main square in Bruges, elegant, spotless and accommodating. I was traveling with my 24 year old son, and it is difficult to find hotels in the area with separate beds. The Grand Hotel confirmed my request quickly and we had a beautiful room in the newer section of the hotel. The room was large, modern and comfortable, with a large and pretty bathroom. Wifi is free, the TV was a large flat screen and the furnishings are very inviting. The included breakfast was excellent in the large dining room, with everything imaginable. Service was great, staff was friendly and check in and check out easily. The price was very reasonable. All in all, this hotel really exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinzUpNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My Wife and I stayed in the Junior Suite for our wedding anniversary.

The room was large with an adequate sitting area. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Decor was interesting with a large roof window above our bed. Sadly, we did not have a view over the canal; however we had a good view of the street and the Burg.

The hotel is in a very central position which means that you can get into the heart of the city with the minimum of effort.

The staff were friendly and the bar area is amazing.

My only complaint is that the room seemed a little over-priced but this may be more to do with the Pound to Euro exchange rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markj706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a comfort room which was indeed comfortable although not large but with a good bathroom and views over the canal. The weather was very changeable so it was a good advantage to have the hotel located so centrally enabling us to nip back during the worst downpours and make full use of the lovely pubic rooms. I enjoyed using the wellness centre the first day. The second day it was out of order but I was provided with an arrangement to use the wellness centre at their sister hotel nearby. The parking was expensive but that seemed to be the norm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £109 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing