We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - recommended”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had four nights in this lovely hotel, I can't really fault it. Breakfast was lovely, lots of it with a good choice but expensive if not part of your room rate. The bed was comfortable, the room clean.
The reception and bar areas are very elegant and the bar/lounge occupies several rooms and is large and relaxing. The central location is excellent for easily reaching the many attractions of Bruges. It's a long walk from the railway station to the hotel with a case but there is a frequent bus service from the nearby market square.
I loved this hotel and would not hesitate to book it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skye-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,437
    801
    138
    42
    29
See reviews for
572
2,134
61
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London/Croydon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed last week for 5 nights on a deal which included breakfast.My room was in the new wing of the hotel so was disappointed not to find myself in the old wing and in a room like the ones shown on the website. When I asked to move to the old wing I was told they were full and I should have asked in advance. I would have done if I knew there was a new wing! However, the room was reasonably sized, the bed and pillows were the most confortable I have ever experienced, bathroom was good with expensive toiletries and a great walk in shower. A few gripes however, free wifi was poor and constantly dropped, they are stingy on free coffee and tea in the room, 2 packets coffee and tea per day with 2 creamers! Get a jug of milk when you go for breakfast and stick it in the room fridge and ask reception for more coffee and tea when you pass by.
The hotel has no restaurant or room service for food which is a nuisance if you just want a snack instead of using one of the very expensive restaurants outside but they do have a fantastic buffet breakfast which you mustn't miss. Smoked slamon to scrambled eggs, bacon etc and an excellent cold buffet.
There is a gym but it's small and short on equipment, only one treadmill is a problem if there are a number of people waiting for it!
I found the staff very helpful and pleasant partuclarly at reception.
All in all I would go back and stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you want to stay in the old wing. Have a quiet drink in the hotel bar area, sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russellaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth wa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were in the presumably new wing.
We were not impressed when we had to cart our suitcases up a flight of stairs,so that we could get in the lift.No Concierge,no bellboys just do it yourself,we are in our 70s,shouldn't have to do it in a four star hotel.
Hotel is realy Grand but didn't think our rooms were that good,the carpet wasn't all that flash either.Had a nice breakfast though.Perhaps the Older part is much nicer as per the other reviews on this page.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GezaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Wow. This hotel is fabulous. It is impressive, yet quaint. It has wonderful facilities, but it not overbearing. It has everything just right. There are grand staircases and lighting, but nothing is faded, or tired looking. The beds were huge, temperature controlled rooms and bathrooms that were modern, yet tasteful and imaginative (also large!). The thing that impressed me most was that it felt as though you had completely space, quiet and privacy yet there was atmosphere in the hotel, without needing to be overrun with people. The breakfasts were fantastic, everything you could wish for (including champagne if you wish). The spa was a real treat - there are almost caves under the hotel housing a turkish bath, sauna etc. my husband and I used it completely on our own during our stay and relished it after a day of sightseeing. I wish I could pick this hotel up and take it everywhere that we went for a city break. For our first anniversary this was pretty perfect. Location wise you couldn't ask for better, our of the main door and the whole of Bruges was at your disposal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Wow! This hotel impresses right from the word go. The entrance hall, lobby, lounges and bar are beautiful with superb chandeliers. Check in was quick and staff were very friendly and professional. We had an executive double room in the old building - it was a large room with a big comfortable double bed. Feather pillows and duvet. The room even had a huge chandelier too! Plenty of wardrobe space with hangers. Large luxurious bathroom with L'Occitane toiletries. Everything was SPOTLESS (I am a bit of a clean freak and can't bear to find other people's hairs/toothpaste etc....none of that here!)
Our room looked onto a side street, so no real view but it's not the sort of break where you'd be sitting out on a balcony anyway. Good air con system, and windows opened wide too so plenty of fresh air when we wanted it.
Breakfast was lovely - wide selection of cooked and continental, plus fresh fruit, cereals etc. The breakfast room was lovely too - in the modern side of the hotel.
The wellness centre in the cellars was lovely - pack your bikini! Only thing missing for me was a jacuzzi. Lots of comfy loungers, steam room, sauna, gym (if you have any energy left after exploring Bruges all day!)
Hotel location was PERFECT - 2 minute walk to the centre and then on to all the side streets etc.
Abundance of chocolate shops - try Stephan Dumon. The Chocolate Line is also hugely popular with queues out the door, but pricey.
We were advised not to eat in the main square because food is overpriced and apparently not great, so we just wandered and discovered an Argentinian steak restaurant (gorgeous) and Mozarts - traditional Flemish stew a must! Be prepared to pay London prices for drinks though.
We did the Segway city tour - excellent! And visited the old Almshouses (Volkeskunde....or similar name!) which was interesting. Also went into various churches etc. Lots of people took boat tours or horse and carriage tours - we would have done if we hadn't done the Segway.
We booked this city break on a special offer through Railbookers - deal included return Eurostar travel (which also covers the connecting train journey from brussels to Bruges), 2 nights at hotel casselburgh with champagne breakfast all for 2 people at a total cost of about £400. Well worth it!
Also, if you haven't used Eurostar before it is so easy - and very easy to connect from Brussels to Bruges because there are touch screen machines which you can select your own language and it tells you what time and which platform to go from. Trains in Belgium are clean, spacious and there are toilets in every carriage. Much better than English trains! Connection from Brussels to Bruges takes 55 mins, and then taxi from Bruges station to hotel took 10 mins.
I have already recommended this hotel, and Bruges to my family and friends...and we only got home 2 days ago!
A FANTASTIC HOTEL, A BEAUTIFUL CITY.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekybabymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

Had long weekend- first visit and loved Bruges. It's v laid back despite all the tourism and this is a perfect hotel from which to explore. V central location but quiet rooms and they managed gluten free bread as part of good breakfasts. I'd say helpful without being obtrusive, not stand out as one of the greatest hotels and "spa" a let down, but does what it says on the box.
Title- well, there must be a bylaw making the boatmen of Bruges and Ghent cool and definitely settled on louche as the best description- after much debate!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Billymyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had a massive double room on the ground floor and the hotel location was brilliant, everything within walking distance. The underground car park, which you should book to reserve before you travel as it gets full very quickly, is accessed by a car lift from a narrow side road. We have a Landrover Discovery which was a very tight fit, but other cars bigger than ours had managed to get into the car park, it just entails a lot of manoeuvring. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing