We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a few niggles”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The facade and entrance are stunning in this hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the general ambiance is beautiful. Our room was in the newer part of the building which was a shame - it would have been nice to have been upgraded to the older part for my birthday but hey ho!! Our room was an average size but was lovely and quiet and had a kingsize bed which was veeerrrryyyy comfortable - we both slept extremely well ! The bathroom was extremely well appointed with a seperate shower which was great - plus the L'Occitane products were well received! The only concern my husband has was if you lean onto the shower control, it could turn the water up very high so just be careful. The biggest issue for us was the breakfast - for this amount it would have been nice to at least have a nice pot of tea brought to the table rather than some hot water and find your own tea bag. This is nit-picking, though, as the Hotel was in a perfect location for Brugges and I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheeandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,352
    778
    132
    40
    29
See reviews for
538
2,075
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked 2 nights at the hotel from 4th to 6th March to celebrate an anniversary. The hotels location is excellent, both squares within easy walking distance and 10 minute cab ride from train station (if you want to get the bus back to the train station from the hotel come out of the hotel and walk left past the first square into the second square and the number 2 bus outside the post office takes you to the train station)
The hotel is quite grand and to us seemed one of the best in Brugge. We did not see another hotel which bettered ours. Very friendly reception staff and room was nice, clean and reasonably spacious. Nice bathroom with a bath and shower. There is a safe, mini bar, iron and hairdryer in the room. TV channels in Belgium are a bit rubbish with 2 or 3 English speaking ones. TV's also have USB port but will not recognize an external hard drive (many hotels do this so you can order their pay per view movies)
A little gripe was that we also had two single beds pushed together rather than a proper double bed but we managed fine and felt no need to mention anything. We had a canal view from our room which was nice.
Breakfast was good, buffet style. Main choices of hot food are scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages and streaky bacon, with a selection of cheeses, couple of cereals, toast, juices, and fruit and pastries. Breakfast staff are attentive and quick. Breakfast is from 7 till 10.30 but not available in the room. There is also no room service for food.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but with so many around this was not an issue. Beware though, due to the exchange rate the restaurants are expensive. Expect to pay £60 for a modest meal and drinks for two. Actually everything is quite expensive due to this. A bowl of mussels and fries (traditional dish) was £24.

There is a very nice bar in the hotel open till late, plenty of nice old style chairs and tables and one of the nicest looking public toilets you are likely to find in a hotel.

All in all, a very good hotel which I would recommend and certainly stay at again

Well done Grand Hotel Casselbergh

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNoseyFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having been to Bruges previously over the years we chose this Hotel for its location. An amazing location, hotel in every way. The staff were all very helpful and could not do more for you. We booked a standard double but were upgraded to an Executive room - thank you. Beautiful room. If you are looking for a hotel with that bit of luxury this is the one for you. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We bookeld a standard which I believe are excellent but were lucky to be upgraded to an Excutive Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Location, five minutes walk from Grotte Mark. 10 minutes from the train station by taxi.
The Hotel is beatiful, it is stylish, with luxury decoration. Rooms are very nice. I stayed at a Deluxe room and it was gorgeous! really big, gable roof, very charming, just what you need in a place like Brugges. Bathroom is excelent, with separate shower and bath tub, lOccitanne amenities. Breakfast is excellent. Treat yourself with this hotel, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This hotel is so close to being five star - I suppose the lack of a restaurant and 24 hour room service are the reasons it is not. In terms of the service the hotel provides and the standard of the rooms, it is first class.

We were upgraded to an Executive Room and it was large with the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was a good size with a separate bath and shower. And every room has a beautiful crystal chandelier above the bed.
The hotel itself is extremely grand and elegant, with real antique detailing in every room. Check out the bar, possible the grandest bar I have every seen, and the biggest since it encompasses 4 salon rooms. Also the lady working in the bar is very friendly and provides great service.

The breakfast buffet offers a lot of choice and it is impossible to go hungry. Try the fresh pastries and the freshly squeezed juice: just lovely.

We checked out the Wellness Centre one afternoon and it was fine, very relaxing, but there isn't much there. A steam room and a sauna is all there is. Considering the size of space in the basement, it's a wonder the hotel didn't add a pool or at least a jacuzzi down there.

A few little niggly things:
1. The water cooler in the Wellness Centre was empty.
2. You had to ask for robes at Reception so you could use the Wellness Centre and you had to return these robes to Reception or you were charged 50 Euros per robe. So don't leave your robes in your room or you will be charged.
3. There are no slippers in the rooms and if you want them for your room or for the Wellness Centre, you have to pay 5 Euros a pair.
4. No doormen or anyone to help with your luggage.
5. Some of the receptionists could be quite snooty and stand-offish.

Overall, this was a lovely hotel and I would consider staying again because it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Executive Room for more space, especially in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GildaNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Beautiful property in the centre of Bruges, nice rooms and tastefully decorated; lovely big bath as well.
The breakfast buffet was really good.
The only complaint I have was that our double room had 2 single beds with 2 single duvets put together, rather than one double bed.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I've just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel. We booked it as part of a discount city break package and were thrilled to find it was so lovely. It's in a very historic and beautiful building which backs on to one of the main canals, and it just a stones-throw from the main square in the historic centre. We were staying in a standard double room but it was still very large, beautifully decorated, a very comfortable bed and a spacious, spotless, modern bathroom. Breakfast was included in our stay and the selection of food on offer was very good. The only thing that could have been improved was the number of waiting staff serving drinks, as service was quite slow. Overall, if you're looking for a luxury hotel with a fantastic location - this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing