We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Warm welcome, gorgeous huge rooms ornately decorated, lovely Loccitane toiletries huge separate shower. Large bar and roaring fire in the sitting room, breakfast varied and tasty.Staff extremely helpfull, all in all couldn't fault this super hotel, centrally located too. Go for it !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,016 - 2,022 of 3,589 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stunning hotel, reception staff friendly & helpful. We stayad in a room on the new part of the hotel. Room was large, nice size bathroom with bath & shower. A very large comfortable bed. Room was well maintained & clean. Breakfast was excellent.
Hotel is in a great location in the middle of Brugge.
Only down side the restaurant does not open in the evening, one night it was snowing & it would have been nice to have stayed in & had a meal in the hotel. But there are plenty of restaurants around this hotel. Once returned it does have a lovely relaxing bar area to chill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Centrally located with parking The Casselbergh Hotel is a perfect place to stay in Bruges. The hotel is beautiful with a fantastic bar and lounge areas - reception and bar were understaffed at times. Our room was very well appointed and breakfast was of a high standard. I have to thank the very knowledgeable barman for his beer lesson and massive hangover! (The one at 11.3% did it for me!) Would love to go back maybe for the traditional Christmas markets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Beautiful hotel, sumptuous public rooms and handy location in central Bruges.

A car park is available at 20 euro per day - accessed via an elevator - a challenge for larger cars, especially on exit.

Rooms nicely furnished and well maintained.

Good breakfast - standard options but nice quality produce.

Only gripe would be that neither reception or the bar were well staffed and several times I had to go in search of someone to provide assistance. Having said that, the barman, when he did arrive was attentive and knowledgeable.

Would certainly be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HerefordshireSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The facade and entrance are stunning in this hotel. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the general ambiance is beautiful. Our room was in the newer part of the building which was a shame - it would have been nice to have been upgraded to the older part for my birthday but hey ho!! Our room was an average size but was lovely and quiet and had a kingsize bed which was veeerrrryyyy comfortable - we both slept extremely well ! The bathroom was extremely well appointed with a seperate shower which was great - plus the L'Occitane products were well received! The only concern my husband has was if you lean onto the shower control, it could turn the water up very high so just be careful. The biggest issue for us was the breakfast - for this amount it would have been nice to at least have a nice pot of tea brought to the table rather than some hot water and find your own tea bag. This is nit-picking, though, as the Hotel was in a perfect location for Brugges and I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheeandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked 2 nights at the hotel from 4th to 6th March to celebrate an anniversary. The hotels location is excellent, both squares within easy walking distance and 10 minute cab ride from train station (if you want to get the bus back to the train station from the hotel come out of the hotel and walk left past the first square into the second square and the number 2 bus outside the post office takes you to the train station)
The hotel is quite grand and to us seemed one of the best in Brugge. We did not see another hotel which bettered ours. Very friendly reception staff and room was nice, clean and reasonably spacious. Nice bathroom with a bath and shower. There is a safe, mini bar, iron and hairdryer in the room. TV channels in Belgium are a bit rubbish with 2 or 3 English speaking ones. TV's also have USB port but will not recognize an external hard drive (many hotels do this so you can order their pay per view movies)
A little gripe was that we also had two single beds pushed together rather than a proper double bed but we managed fine and felt no need to mention anything. We had a canal view from our room which was nice.
Breakfast was good, buffet style. Main choices of hot food are scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages and streaky bacon, with a selection of cheeses, couple of cereals, toast, juices, and fruit and pastries. Breakfast staff are attentive and quick. Breakfast is from 7 till 10.30 but not available in the room. There is also no room service for food.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but with so many around this was not an issue. Beware though, due to the exchange rate the restaurants are expensive. Expect to pay £60 for a modest meal and drinks for two. Actually everything is quite expensive due to this. A bowl of mussels and fries (traditional dish) was £24.

There is a very nice bar in the hotel open till late, plenty of nice old style chairs and tables and one of the nicest looking public toilets you are likely to find in a hotel.

All in all, a very good hotel which I would recommend and certainly stay at again

Well done Grand Hotel Casselbergh

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheNoseyFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having been to Bruges previously over the years we chose this Hotel for its location. An amazing location, hotel in every way. The staff were all very helpful and could not do more for you. We booked a standard double but were upgraded to an Executive room - thank you. Beautiful room. If you are looking for a hotel with that bit of luxury this is the one for you. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We bookeld a standard which I believe are excellent but were lucky to be upgraded to an Excutive Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#10 of 97 in Bruges
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £111 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing