We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old World Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This property is situated in an ideal location - right near the Market Square and all the major attractions of Bruges. The hotel is situated on a narrow street, but the interior is beautifully furnished in a traditional style that feels very elegant. We booked a standard twin bedded room and were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade. Our room, which was situated at the back of the the hotel facing rooftops, had extremely high ceilings, a crystal chandelier, comfortable beds with wonderful linens, and was very quiet. The marble bathroom had a huge tub, a walk-in shower, and a long stone counter-top that easily accommodated our toiletries. The hallways were most attractive with framed art and carpeting. The only problem with our room was the five steps you had to go up to reach the hallway where it was located. This didn't present a problem for us, but it could for less mobile travelers, especially since there are no bellhops. The included breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of food served in a beautiful dining room - scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, cheese, fruit, a variety of breads and pastries, smoked salmon, etc. We booked this hotel after reading a positive review of it in the New York Times travel section and we were not disappointed. Although we only stayed here for two very rainy days and nights, we were delighted with our choice of hotel and would be most happy to stay here again. Bruges is a charming city to visit, and our stay at this hotel definitely enhanced our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laureldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 3,569 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews posted on Tripadvisor and it was worth it. You can't get a better location in Bruges than this. The hotel is clean and the breakfast very good. The only negative is that the staff were not very professional and helpful at times. Based on the overall experience over the 3 days stay, I will recommend the hotel if you planning to visit Bruges.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Casselburgh in Bruges, for four nights from the 31st of May 2013. We went for my wife's Birthday, for a little R & R, I'll try and keep the review brief and deal with the good stuff first!
The hotel itself, we found was overall very good! Upon our early morning (around 9:30am) arrival, we were checked in very efficiently and quickly by the reception staff into our Deluxe Room with Canal view. Which by the way is located in the new building, this didn't bother my wife and I as the room was very spacious thoroughly clean and accommodating with a superb view of the canal. We have read other reviews, stating their disappointment that the newer buildings rooms aren't traditionally deco red etc. To be honest we were in Bruges and their too sight see, not to sit in a hotel room all day! The bar and lounge are exquisitely decorated in the traditional style you would expect from a building in a medieval city. The bar staff were very friendly, and the prices far more reasonable than any of the eateries and restaurants in Bruges (more on that later!).
The hotel is ideally located, slap bang in the middle of Bruges, the Burg square is quite literally a two minute walk from the left of the entrance to the hotel. Here you'll find Bruge's City Hall & the Basillica of the Holy Blood. A further five minute walk and you'll find yourself in the main Market square were the tower Belfrey is, hence the hotel is ideally located! As for amenities the hotel is a little limited in this respect. The hotel does not have a fully functioning all day restaurant, and only offers breakfast which is your traditional European affair. A Variety of fruits, cereal, bread, bacon sausage, fresh juices, tea, coffee etc etc. The hotel however does not offer room service of any kind, nor a concierge service upon check in/check out! There is no swimming pool or games room for families etc, and no evening entertainment at the hotel. The hotel does apparently have a Spa/Sauna, to be honest, we didn't use the facilities hence can't really comment on this.
We found the reception staff quite obliging, and on our first day, we didn't have a clue were to go what to see etc. We asked if there was a place to purchase a map of the sights, we were then quickly presented with one by the staff, who gave us some general information on our whereabouts in relation to the sights. We also found ourselves in the unfortunate position of not having the appropriate power adapter for the hotels plugs to UK plug, thankfully the hotel has these to hand, and will happily loan them to you at no cost! All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Casselburgh, and would highly recommend the hotel!
Your sensing a BUT in the review! Well unfortunately there is a BUT! The following is just a summary of our opinions on Belgium and Bruges itself, with hopefully a few tips along the way.
Firstly if you are flying into Brussells Airport and haven't booked a transfer to your hotel! FOR GODS SAKE! Do not get into an official Taxi at the airport, your bags will be lifted and placed into the boot swiftly, you'll be ushered into the car without being asked where you want to go! The driver will ask you for your destination, you'll show him your papers with your hotel details. And he'll say ok no problem! Bruges is a one hour and ten minutes(traffic dependant) approx by car via the motorway, it will cost you £260 via taxi!!! The alternative if you don't have transfers is via train much cheaper approx £19 at time of writing this review. However the journey is approx one hour and forty five minutes on a commuter train, which don't accommodate suitcases very well, and tend to be packed with local commuters. My advice, book a transfer, if you've going through a travel agent!
Here in lies the ultimate problem with Bruges! It's expensive, and I mean ridiculously so, my wife and I are not skin flints by any sense of the word. In fact, when we go away our attitude is well, were here to relax and have fun, it costs what it costs! Eating out in Bruges, is an experience like no other! On all my travels, I have never come across a place. Were quite literally all the restaurants, serve near as dammit the same menu, with virtually the exact prices! It's almost like a conspiracy! You can expect to pay on average £70 a night for a 3 course meal for 2 people! Not including drinks, and these are not full plate meals, when you order a Steak here, you get a Steak, with a tiny bit of salad on a plate and a rice bowl of French fries! And don't think that by going down the backstreets in Bruges, that you may find a cosy little nook much cheaper with a different menu! Not a chance, trust me we tried!!
There are also very few places to just sit and have a quiet drink (other than your hotel), we came across three bar/pubs in the entire place. Every other place is a restaurant, and if you don't want something to eat you will be asked to leave, even if the place looks empty! Which brings me to my main gripe with Belgium and Bruges as a whole. Belgium hospitality, outside of our hotel, was severely lacking that customer service vibe, that you would expect from a major tourist attraction! Just wasn't there at all, especially at the weekend when the place is packed with visitors! At first we thought it was because we were British, we quickly realised that the majority of the local people there were just that way inclined! On the whole we enjoyed are slightly over expensive stay in Bruges, we stayed for four nights in the Grand Hotel Casselburgh, but honestly if you're planning on visiting Bruge! I would recommend going for a maximum of two nights only, trust me you'll see all the sights in two days. :) Even the ones from the movie!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We chose the Grand Hotel Casselburgh thanks to some other reviews when looking for a venue for a family birthday. We were travelling as 3 couples and were really pleased with our choice. Paying the extra for the canal view room was definitely worth it, although we were in the new part of the hotel, it was a good size and well-equipped for a few days away. The location is great for exploring bruges as all of the main sights are within easy walking distance. The breakfasts were varied and plentiful and bar prices were comparable with local bars, so lovely for a nightcap in the rather elegant lounges.

Room Tip: Canal rooms are definitely worth the few pounds extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePinkletons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

went for my mums 70th birthday. contacted the hotel before to ask could they provide something special for my mum they replied very quickly and put some lovely chocs on the bed.

really great hotel so clean great breakfast. staff so friendly and helpful. bruges beautiful place

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

we stayed with our 2 kids in this hotel and it is lovely. very clean and you walk outside the doors go left and you are in the old town of brugges.room was massive with plenty room,lovely furniture would reccomend this hotel if you are heading to bruges

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very well appointed hotel with lots of amenities and space in a fantastic location to navigate Bruges. Great breakfast included. Staff was pleasant and the hotel has some wonderful old architecture. I had requested to stay in the older section as I understand that has some great charm, but they did not facilitate my request--just ignored it. I asked at check in and they then said it wasn't possible. Nonetheless, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £108 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing