We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, elegant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
477 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Perfect location, elegant hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved the central downtown location, convenient to everything. Our room was very big, but had a dormer low ceiling, and we were concerned about hitting our heads en route to the bathroom at night. The shower was very small and tough to turn around in, but the bathroom was spacious and offered high quality toiletries. Breakfast was quite good. The hotel's bar is elegant and is a perfect spot to end the day with a nightcap.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,322
    766
    125
    40
    29
See reviews for
526
2,049
60
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved this hotel. It is right at the edge of the pedestrian zone, so it made getting to things quite easy. The room was huge and extravagant - a chandelier over the huge bed, a mini frig, the bathroom was also spacious - with a separate shower and bath. The breakfast was lovely and quite good. There are good exercise facilities as well. It does have parking, which is rather pricey and difficult the first time you use it - it is off a small side street, so you back up traffic if you have to wait for the car elevator ( but it is rather cool), but once inside the garage is safe and clean -- but it fills up rapidly. One evening, we got the last space. However, many of the hotels in the area do not provide parking and what is available is limited, expensive and farther out, so use the parking. I would highly recommend this hotel to people visiting Bruges.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cquitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It is a good hotel, no doubt. But not excellent-excellent-excellent as some reviews here may lead you to believe. Yes the location is top-notch, few other places are better. The decor is sumptuous enough. Breakfast is good quality with a decent selection. But there are small things here and there that one may find annoying (depending on how mellowed or not you feels after soaking in the atmosphere of the lovely little city, which is Bruges), things that negatively distinguish Casselbergh from other four-star hotels I have been to. The bathroom is very ordinary and the shower is tiny. There are no free slippers in the room, but you can buy them for a stately sum of €5. The wellness centre in the 13th century cellars does look impressive, but it is very empty; there is plenty of space to fit in a bubble bath, dipping pool and many other things besides. The check-out queue was 30 minutes long with not enough staff to handle it. But, as I said in the beginning, it is a good hotel. Enjoy the city, and don't let these small issues get to you.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelagea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Excelent hotel in center of the city. Top notch hotel with large rooms.Breakast was included
and had both typical European fare as well as american.The hotel is a short walk to the market square.All the museums are in walking distance.If you have an opportunity rent a bike and ride to the small city of Dam.While there is not much to see here the best part is riding along the canal and taking in the country side a picture everywhere you look!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D Burke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

First impressions of this hotel is that is is very grand and luxurious and the location is great. The rooms are lovely with great bathrooms and a shower big enough for 3 people. What let this hotel down was that the first night I was there, I pulled back the sheets to go to bed and found some blood on the sheet. After a call to reception they quickly had the sheet changed. The only other thing that let this hotel down was the taxi firm they use. We waited for 40 minutes for a cab which the hotel called for us, but it turned up so late we missed our connection and ended up paying 50 EUR for the taxi to take us straight to the ferry port. The receptionist was of no help at all during the three times I chased the taxi up and just said there was nothing they could do about it. Call another firm perhaps?
I would stay here again though on saying that because the positives did outweigh the negatives. The breakfast is easily the best I've ever had in a hotel for instance. The minibar is also reasonably priced for the centre of Bruges.
Also, the spa looked fantastic, but for 65 EUR for a 30 minute massage was enough to stop me trying out any treatments.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryfabuk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A lovely hotel a stones throw away from the 2 central squares. The first adventure was parking the car. The narrow entrance is down a narrow street and a lift takes you and the car down to the parking bays. I am glad I was driving my Mini Cooper and not my LandRover Discovery! It's very restricted The hotel is in 2 halves, one old one modern. Our room was in the modern part and it was spacious and very comfortable with a great canal view. There is no evening dining, but the food selection at breakfast was superb. A great hotel in a great position at a great price!

Room Tip: Get a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We very much loved the local of our hotel as we could do the sites and go back often to check in and leave purchases, etc. Very clean, service was good. The breakfast was just average, especially for $25 Euro. Parking was also expensive at 25 Euro per night. The room was lovely; location exceptional!

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing