We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
“Pleasantly peaceful”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Central location within easy walking distance of everywhere in town but without any intrusive noise from the very quiet adjacent streets. The room was light and airy, and was clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable though the chasm between the two mattress halves required careful negotiation. Breakfast was very good and the hotel staff were friendly and efficient, but in short supply at checkout time when there was just one person available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning_GEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,352
    778
    132
    40
    29
See reviews for
538
2,075
61
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This one is pretty up there on the all time best list for sure. Excellent location, beautiful room with huge windows that swing open for views to the street below and down to the square. The breakfast was first rate and sufficient to provide energy for aggressive sight seeing. I beautiful hotel is a total gem of a city.

Room Tip: Loved our king room on the front with huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel was very nice--I had a room in the new wing. Clean, comfortable, pleasant decor. The windows opened properly---yay!!! Minor plumbing issues. Staff were fine but I wouldn't say exceptional. Great breakfast and excellent location--very close to many areas of interest. And yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callunaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location, wonderful decor, nice staff. Room was characterful and charming. Great breakfast buffet.
Would definitely stay here again.
Right in thick of things but our room was so quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyinEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Visited 9th August. Stayed in the standard room. Elegant, clean, quality beds, however, they need powerful air conditioning machines as currently speed 4 struggles to cool the room, and require curtains that prevent light entering and leaking through the edges in the early morning. Many high end hotels have this. Weekend breakfast hours should be extended from 10:30 to 11 or 11:30. Misrepresentation on their website 'suggested' there was a swimming pool at the hotel, but it was sauna and steam room called a 'Turkish bath'. Check in staff (tall male) was not very helpful. Overall, a marginally satisfactory hotel. I would not return. Stick to Marriott etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHotelBruges, Assistant Manager at Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Mister Rehal,


First of all we would like to thank you for your interest and your stay in our Grand Hotel Casselbergh !

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write us the below e-mail. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our hotel and staff.

We would like to apologize if you had problems with the air-conditioning in the room , we will take this up with the maintenance manager.
May we suggest, for a future stay, to mention problems during your stay so we can solve the matter immediately.

Thank you for your suggestion to extend the breakfast in the weekends. Our guests comments can help us to provide better service.

Please note that all our rooms have blackout curtains. Referring to your remark regarding our website suggests that there is a swimming pool, we must say that we do not agree. On our website under the "hotel information", the following is mentioned: " Wellness centre: sauna, Turkish bath, fitness room, relaxation room, wellness centre situated in the historical 14th-, 16th-, and 17th-century cellars". This does not suggest a swimming pool.

Furthermore we also apologize if the receptionist seemed unhelpful. I have talked to my colleague and he assured me it was not his attention to seem uninterested.
We can assure you we do our utmost to satisfy all our guests.

We do apologize again if your stay was not statisfactory.

We hope to have been at your service with our reply. Do certainly not hesitate to contact us for more information.

Kind Regards




Mariska Desodt
Assistant Manager
Grand Hotel Casselbergh
Hoogstraat 6
B-8000 BRUGGE
T +32 50 44 65 00
info@grandhotelcasselbergh.com
www.grandhotelcasselbergh.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed just one night in this hotel and it was the epitome of elegance and class. A perfect romantic retreat. The room was large and you almost just sink into the bed, I could have slept forever. Never have I woke up so rested while away on holidays, especially after some time in the steamrooms on the lower floor.
I wish I could have stayed longer in this gem of a hotel pure excellence. When we checked out we left our bags in a storage room and the staff were extra helpful. When I realised I had left a piece of my camera equipment in the room the staff were happy to give me a key and let me back up to the room. The cleaning lady even offered to help me look for it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our splurge hotel. not a cheap stay.
Its the kind of place where people look into the windows to see how nice ti is as they pass.
Well located just off one of the major squares.
Walking distance to many of the sites.
Breakfast was formal/lavish and included a large selection of choices.
Highly recommend but be aware that it is one of the more expensive hotels in the heart of Bruge

Room Tip: We chose a canal view at an additional cost but i dont recommend it. No balcony and it added little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephenf497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing