We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel that oozed charm . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Haverfordwest
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel that oozed charm . .”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Luxurious hotel that possessed a wealth of character and charm. I was delighted by the aesthetics - particularly by its use of huge and opulent chandaliers which hung from every ceiling .. even their public rest rooms had huge ones! The service was wonderful too and we were particularly impressed with their cosy (but beautifully designed) bar area. The breakfast was great too! We found the location to be perfect for our needs - although we were only a short walk from the very busy Markt, we were tucked away in Casselburgh which was peaceful during the evenings. Our room was lovely and spacious and we overlooked a beautiful 'eatery' called the Pergola and also the canal. I would not hesitate to recommend this stunning hotel and we certainly hope to visit again very soon. We just could not fault anything about our stay in this majestic hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,436
    801
    138
    42
    29
See reviews for
572
2,133
61
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here with 50 colleagues for a conference. Parking is a bit fiddly, and involves a lane at the side of the hotel, a car elevator and an underground garage - but worked well (25 Euro a day). Check-in was brisk and efficient, and my room was clean, modern and spacious. Quiet, comfortable bed (albeit two singles pushed together) and a powerful rain shower. Air-conditioning worked well, and I even had a window which opened for some actual real-life fresh air and a lovely view over the canal at the rear of the hotel.

The breakfast and lunch (both buffet style) were fine, but note the hotel doesn't have a restaurant - though Bruges is so well-served in this regard, it really doesn't matter. What the hotel does have is a lovely bar area, with three or four grand yet also cosy sitting rooms - the bar staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive: a really nice place to have a drink before dinner.

Would certainly consider staying here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in 23.08 if you want functioning windows and a canal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with an excellent location to the historic main square, main shopping area, Museums, etc. Many, many restaurants in easy walking distance. Read some reviews regarding the hotel staff.....my experience was positive for the most part, with the overwhelming majority being helpful/pleasant to very helpful/pleasant to not so friendly/helpful/pleasant. Overall our experience was a very pleasant stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights and was very happy with our stay. The hotel is located just two minutes away from the heart of Bruges near the Markt and Burg. We had a quality room in the historic part of the building which we had requested for based on the reviews we read here and it was simply beautiful. The room was luxuriously decorated with a gorgeous chandelier and a high ceiling; and even the hallway leading to the room was beautiful. The toiletries supplied were from L'Occitane which is nice.The buffet breakfast offered a good selection and was delicious. Our holiday in Bruges was definitely made perfect because we stayed in this hotel. Highly recommended without a doubt.

Room Tip: There are two buildings in this hotel, historic part which is in the main building and the extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argine_Solitaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eden prairie
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Very close to market sq and restaurants. Walking distance to many sights. We stayed in the newer section. It was quiet and comfortable beds. Breakfast was large buffet and good. Would try to get in older section next time- based on other reviews.

Get Add-Ons

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jartraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel has the peace and comfort you could wish for, while on a trip with your wife. Reading a book in the common living room with a glass of wine or one of the fantastic good Belgian beer is recommended. We stayed in the new part of the hotel and it was probably not as charming as the old one, but yet it was still very okay. Good breakfast. The best part? I loved the common living rooms, almost did not go out to see the city :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gøran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a very good 4-star hotel located just 2-minute walk from the main square. Rooms are not huge, but comfortable enough. Breakfast is excellent. Staff is friendly and helpful. If you arrive by a car, it is a little complicated to find their parking -- just park along the street and go to the reception for instructions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing