We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Staying in January when the tourists are a bit thinner on the ground, got a good price on a large executive room in the new part of the much older (but well maintained) hotel. Large comfortable king size bed (made from two singles), modern clean bathroom with bath and shower, and small lounge area. You're never far from anywhere in Brugge but this hotel is very well located just a couple of minutes walk to the main squares and plenty of restaurants & bars. Hotel bar and lounges very smartly done, with an open fire and high backed arm chairs adding to the atmosphere. There was a spa too but didn't try it. Car parking a little pricey but saved the hassle of finding spaces (which are very few in the centre). Excellent buffet breakfast to suit most tastes. Would stay again,

Room Tip: Exec rooms in new part of hotel are bigger and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,704 of 3,589 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here for my mums 60th birthday so wanted somewhere that would feel like a treat. The main hotel is beautiful, especially the bar area. We stayed in newer part of the hotel but the bedrooms were excellent. Bathrooms were very spacious with lovely l'occitane freebies! The breakfast was fantastic and catered for everyone. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the location is perfect for exploring Bruge. Free wifi thorough out the hotel as well.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and certainly stay again if I return to Bruge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Hotel Casselbergh Bruges was absolutely wonderful. The staff went out of their way for us in every manner. Extremely helpful and caring. The hotel itself was very well done…..gorgeous canal views. The breakfasts were also amazing…..every kind of food imaginable and very yummy! I would stay there again in a minute!!

Room Tip: Loved the rooms overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for a short break in Bruges. Rooms are well appointed and breakfast really good with plenty of choice. The lounge with its open fire was dressed beautifully for the season. Rooms were very quiet and comfortable. Staff unobtrusive and helpful. Don't worry if you forget your umbrella the hotel will loan you one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Grand Hotel Casselbergh in early January. Overall, it was a very good experience, from the efficient check-in and very comfortable room, to an excellent breakfast spread and very convenient central location. The hotel certainly has a "grand" feel to it, and is not a standard, business hotel or typical chain hotel option. There are several rooms in the public area which have comfortable chairs for relaxing, and the bar is also very nice.

Our room was in a more modern addition to the hotel, and was very comfortable; the bathroom was really excellent, very modern and spotlessly clean. Toiletries provided in the room were high quality (L'Occitane) and there were also the usual tea and coffee making facilities. For our taste, the mattresses in the room were far too soft, and we were a bit disappointed that the double bed was actually two single beds pushed together. We were also a bit disappointed that a call for some milk for our room (for tea) was going to incur a charge - surely a small jug of milk in a hotel like this can be provided without charge? I acknowledge these are pretty minor points though.

Breakfast is a high point here - a top quality, abundant spread offering something for pretty much all tastes. The breakfast room is a lovely space, beautifully decorated and maintained, and breakfast staff extremely attentive and friendly.

The hotel is a short walk from all of the main sites in Bruges, and is a 5-10 minute taxi ride from the railway station.

Overall, a really good option for central Bruges, although certainly not the cheapest of the hotels available. Nevertheless, taking into account the standard of rooms, public areas, breakfast and location, it is good value and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Bruges. As it happened, it was car free Sunday so our taxi driver couldn't actually take us to the hotel but had to drop us off the other side of the main square and we walked in. This meant that we had a cobblestoned introduction to our home for the night and got to take in the outside of the building which is very 'Bruges'.

We arrived a couple of hours early and were disappointed that we couldn't check in - it did look busy so this was understandable. They stored our bags and we went exploring. Checking in later was smooth.

The room itself was fine and overlooked the back of the hotel and the street behind - not particularly picturesque. The interiors of the hotel were quite stunning but the room was modern looking and a little bland although had everything needed.

Breakfast was great - good selection and plenty of seating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_bear19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

WOW! Will definitely be staying again in the future!

The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and is very Grand in the main building.

The breakfast is lovely, however, it would of been nice if the hotel had it's own restaurant for in the evenings, even though in Bruges you have a wide choice of restaurants around you, which I am somewhat glad we didn't have a dinner service at the hotel, as getting out and about helps you get your bearings and explore a little.

Our room backed onto the canal which was a lovely view and very quiet may I add.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadex91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £110 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing