We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

stayed in December 2013, Excellent location, 2 min walk to main square. check in easy and quick, staff friendly. Rooms were very new and contemporary, clean and spacious. Ambience in the bar was very nice and bar prices for a hotel were reasonable. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of hot and cod items, very enjoyable stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,496)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,642 - 1,648 of 3,498 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I and a friend had the pleasure of a long weekend stay at this beautiful hotel.

Everything about it was perfect - from the efficient book in to the beautiful room to the wonderful bar.

The hotel is perfectly situated to access the best Bruges has to offer.

I will be returning soon

PS The breakfast is second to none!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked the Grand Hotel Casselbergh for a 3 night stay over Christmas 2013. Prior to our stay we liaised with the hotel in regards to booking a restaurant for Christmas Day Dinner - they were extremely helpful and sent us a list of restaurants with the link to their websites for us to choose. Once chosen they arranged our dinner reservation and confirmed with us the day before. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the reception staff who were very welcoming and shown to our luxurious room. The location of the hotel is excellent, staff could not do enough to help us and overall we had a fantastic stay. The only down fall is the fact they don't have a restaurant, but despite this they still served a fabulous breakfast! I'd definitely recommend the hotel to anyone - a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yellowbear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel is very well located in the centre of everything. The room was lovely overlooking the canal and a good size for a standard room. The service was great and we were allowed a late check out. Highly recommeded and resonably priced especially if you book with Eurostar.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal is preferable but not essential.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

At first I was a little worried about the hotel because we booked it last minute and we usually try to avoid traditionally designed hotels.

It is almost a rule that, in Europe in general, the more "traditional" a hotel is, the more they use photoshop to cover up all the dirt there is underneath all the carpets and creepy wall paper and medieval beds they have. But, with this hotel in particular, let me tell you what a great surprise we got.

The place is very old, yet completely renewed and very vintage shabby chic. Personally I'm a huge fan or chandeliers, and boy do they have quite a few gorgeous ones!

Im not gonna lie, they do have quite a few things they could improve, but overall it is a nice place to stay at.

Their staff is super friendly and helpful. They have private parking available upon reservation and you'll be surprised that in such a small town such as Bruges a hotel would have a parking elevator! I thought it was pretty rare and a really cool detail.

Its location couldn't be any better, just a few steps from the main square and some of the best restaurants in town, one of them awarded with michelin stars...

They also upgraded us to executive rooms at the time of our arrival, which we really appreciate it.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel has been newly refurbished to the highest of standards and is probably only 4 star because it does not have a restaurant. There is a very nice relaxed bar, and the staff throughout the hotel are very friendly. It was raining this morning in Bruges and my wife and I were in no hurry to go out, so we had a very late breakfast, arriving at 1030. By 1100 we were the only ones in the breakfast room - great spread by the way - and the waitress came to ask if we wished to have anything more from the buffet before she cleared away! One niggle - no cappuccino, but that seems regular in Belgium.
Our room was at the top of the old building which meant going by lift to the second floor and climbing up a flight of stairs to our beautiful room - not a problem for us.
If you have a car you want to be careful with, this is the hotel for you - a lift takes you and your car to the underground parking - an extra €25.
One tip - if you want a great cappuccino and beautiful pastries, go to Merveilleux (listed elsewhere.)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfarom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Staying in January when the tourists are a bit thinner on the ground, got a good price on a large executive room in the new part of the much older (but well maintained) hotel. Large comfortable king size bed (made from two singles), modern clean bathroom with bath and shower, and small lounge area. You're never far from anywhere in Brugge but this hotel is very well located just a couple of minutes walk to the main squares and plenty of restaurants & bars. Hotel bar and lounges very smartly done, with an open fire and high backed arm chairs adding to the atmosphere. There was a spa too but didn't try it. Car parking a little pricey but saved the hassle of finding spaces (which are very few in the centre). Excellent buffet breakfast to suit most tastes. Would stay again,

Room Tip: Exec rooms in new part of hotel are bigger and quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £110 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing