We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at and I stay away a lot through work and weekends away. Very quiet but dead centre of town just around the corner from the main square. The rooms have the wow factor and the bed was the biggest I've ever slept in. Much bigger than our king at home. Both bed and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever experienced. Breakfast was great. Don't consider any other hotel in Bruges. You won't get better than this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johngarethmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 3,666 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just returned from mini break to Bruges - stayed at Grand Hotel Casselbergh - Bruges. Had a fantastic time and hotel was very nice. Breakfast was fabulous, hot and cold buffet. Everything you could think of and very well presented. They even offered gluten free bread.. The hotel rooms were very comfortable and clean - lovely bathrooms. The hotel lounges were very luxurious. A wellness centre with gym, sauna and turkish steam room. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Location-location-location. It has all been said before- the old part is elegant; the breakfast was very good with something for everyone's taste. Coming back from a hard day's sightseeing, the lounge area was perfect for a drink or a cup of tea. Lots of little clusters of comfy seating for a place to debrief!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I took my Wife to Bruges for her 40th birthday and I wanted our stay to be a real treat and The Grand Hotel Casselbergh did not disappoint. It is a lovely hotel right in the city centre. It was cold when we arrived by the log fire in the bar soon warmed us up.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I cannot wait to go back again. we had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the canals.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAS122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here the first weekend of Febeuary 2014 for a 3 night break.

Centrally located and ideal for sightseeing this beautiful city. Clean and elegant with both old and new.

Good adequate room in the new block...although would I suspect have preferred the more traditional rooms.

Breakfast was good and varied and the bust breakfast room well managed throughout breakfast.

Two disappointments...no restaurant ( although Bruges is full of fabulous eateries) and slightely uncommunicative and not overly friendly reception staff. Question....'' Could you tell me where the nearest bank is please''?...response ....''Just off the square''. Would I return ?? Probably not as there numerous great hotels and Boutique B and B's to choose from, probably offering better customer service and welcome. However, the weekend was fantastic and I will be back to this beautiful place that has captured my heart!!

Room Tip: 2210 was quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishka02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Casselbergh really impressed my wife and I. I booked the hotel for my wife's birthday and it didn't disappoint. The hotel was spotlessly clean, excellently maintained and managed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, making the effort to have a conversation. Our room backed onto the canel, giving us a lovely view. The room was a good size and had everything you needed. The hotel is in a great location. Although all the sites are within easy walking distance, if you don't have much time, this hotel is near to the main sites. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world - we can highly recommend the Casselbergh!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

we stayed at this hotel for a short break back in the spring of 2013.

The hotel is stylish and the rooms are clean, well maintained and good value for money.

The hotel breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice and food quality very good indeed.

The location couldn't be better, just a 5 minute stroll to the heart of the city.

I highly recommend this place and I would not stay anywhere else from now on

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dangermouse64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £102 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing