We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable piece of modest luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very comfortable piece of modest luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As someone who's generally averse to large, bland hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by this one. It feels calm and understated, but the rooms are a good size, quiet, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms are fantastic. Great for a romantic weekend retreat with your other half.

Initially we were a bit let down by the smell of sewage outside the hotel entrance, but we soon realised that must of Bruges smells like that...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,223
    750
    121
    39
    28
See reviews for
503
1,968
59
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elmswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked this hotel because it was part of package deal through the Eurostar website so I wasn't sure if it was going to be any good. Thankfully i had nothing to worry about.
When we got into Bruges we got a taxi to the hotel because we didn't want to get lost. When we got dropped off at the hotel entrance we thought we were in the wrong place. The hotel entrance with the glass doors makes you know that your in for a good stay.
Check in was easy and when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised with its size. The bathroom was very spacious, as was the bedroom plus the beds are so comfortable we found it very difficult to get out of bed.
The breakfast in the morning has a wide range to choose from and is of a good quality.
The hotels location is superb, everything is so easy to walk too as you couldn't be any more central without being in Markt.
We had the best stay in Bruges and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who goes.

Room Tip: I would say upgrade to from a standard room as the increase in cost is minimal but the room is well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at and I stay away a lot through work and weekends away. Very quiet but dead centre of town just around the corner from the main square. The rooms have the wow factor and the bed was the biggest I've ever slept in. Much bigger than our king at home. Both bed and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever experienced. Breakfast was great. Don't consider any other hotel in Bruges. You won't get better than this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johngarethmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just returned from mini break to Bruges - stayed at Grand Hotel Casselbergh - Bruges. Had a fantastic time and hotel was very nice. Breakfast was fabulous, hot and cold buffet. Everything you could think of and very well presented. They even offered gluten free bread.. The hotel rooms were very comfortable and clean - lovely bathrooms. The hotel lounges were very luxurious. A wellness centre with gym, sauna and turkish steam room. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Location-location-location. It has all been said before- the old part is elegant; the breakfast was very good with something for everyone's taste. Coming back from a hard day's sightseeing, the lounge area was perfect for a drink or a cup of tea. Lots of little clusters of comfy seating for a place to debrief!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I took my Wife to Bruges for her 40th birthday and I wanted our stay to be a real treat and The Grand Hotel Casselbergh did not disappoint. It is a lovely hotel right in the city centre. It was cold when we arrived by the log fire in the bar soon warmed us up.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I cannot wait to go back again. we had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the canals.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAS122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here the first weekend of Febeuary 2014 for a 3 night break.

Centrally located and ideal for sightseeing this beautiful city. Clean and elegant with both old and new.

Good adequate room in the new block...although would I suspect have preferred the more traditional rooms.

Breakfast was good and varied and the bust breakfast room well managed throughout breakfast.

Two disappointments...no restaurant ( although Bruges is full of fabulous eateries) and slightely uncommunicative and not overly friendly reception staff. Question....'' Could you tell me where the nearest bank is please''?...response ....''Just off the square''. Would I return ?? Probably not as there numerous great hotels and Boutique B and B's to choose from, probably offering better customer service and welcome. However, the weekend was fantastic and I will be back to this beautiful place that has captured my heart!!

Room Tip: 2210 was quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishka02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing