We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great get away, magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is truly a great hotel. It is very centrally located and you can easily walk to everything....In a magical city. I suggest that you hang out after the shops have closed and try your hand at some of the several unique bars in Brugge. We loved the local Bar Bar beer, made from honey. Give it a try

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morecowbell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is really good located, just 5 minutes from the market square.
Its decoration make you feel you are parte of the royalty. It seems you live in a modern castle, with some classic rooms where you can find the hotel's bar, and modern small gardens.
Rooms are really confortable, with clean toilets, and L'Occitane accesories.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Next stop on our trip was Bruges. We have booked Grand Hotel Casselbergh after some thinking and revising other hotels. This was a great decision!
Our 5 year old loves great looking hotels and when we entered, she was overjoyed.
Hotel is strait at the city center, around the corner from the Grote Markt. Location is great and the rooms are very nice.
We have booked the Quality room and got beautiful room in old part with great furniture, heavily bed, beautiful ceiling.
The size of the room is really good. L'occitane bathroom amenities were nice touch, but I would put bathrobe and sleepers in the room as well.
Reception staff and lobby bar staff were very professional and made our stay lovely and relaxing.
The lobby bar and the rooms around it were just perfect. Nice place to have a drink before going to bed.
Breakfast is very good and you can enjoy great selection of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cheese, croissants, juices, coffee, cupcakes etc.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for centrally located hotel with great room comfort, very good breakfast and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Try to get the room in old part of the hotel. Maybe little bit street noise, but very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeljkadurovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We decided to stay in one of the few loft rooms. It was a good size with a curving stairway to the rather dark loft. The catherdral ceiling of old wooden beams looked very high up from the bottom level,but not so high from the loft. In fact, there were spiked wooden pegs protruding from the beams and I asked if anyone had been impaled on them./ The bathroom was large with a separate tub and shower. The hotel is on many levels, not all accessable by elevator, so anyone with a walking disability should tell the staff when making a reservation.. Breakfast was included and was very good. Besides the large selection of buffet,items, food was also available cooked to order from the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marian0286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a lovely old hotel in a great location with a 5 minute walk to the main market square in Bruges. The room had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was beautiful with modern fixtures and a huge bathtub. The toiletries were from L'Occitane which was a very nice touch. The buffet breakfast offers everything one could think of to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 31MIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel for three nights last weekend (mid-April) in one of the family rooms with the loft.

Rooms: Large. Incredibly clean ... in fact the cleanest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Quiet. Large bathrooms. "Rain" Shower Heads. Separate shower and tub. The family rooms with the loft are awesome and have two separate beds in the loft area. really cool.

Service: One person at the small front desk. No help for bags. But otherwise very helpful and nice.

Beds: Excellent pillows. Large. Comfortable but with a foam top on the mattress....you love it or you don't.

Breakfast: Included and one of the best we have had ever in Europe.

Price: Bottom line is this hotel is expensive ... and you pay a high rate for parking ... and a surcharge for a baby crib.

Location: Absolutely perfect. Next to one of the two squares... 100 yards a place on the canal where you can take a boat ride, etc.

Parking: Expensive. We drive a Volvo SUV and did not have a problem in the parking garage as others have pointed out below. However, you do need to take a car elevator which is pretty cool and the parking is typical European tight parking ... so you need to balance the connivence and the great security for your car versus the high price. It was worth it in our point of view.

Room Tip: Note that our room was up 10 stairs that you could not take an elevator to... therefore we had to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjbb147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I attended a conference at the hotel and had been excited that I would be staying in this hotel with amazing rooms. It seems that the pictures on the website did not represent the very small room I was in. Fortunately I was busy so the room was for sleeping and showering and nothing more as there was really no room to hang out or do work. There were nice open areas at the front of the hotel where i could do work, The WiFi was hopeless as couldn't support any free contact home like Skype. The breakfast was good, plenty of choice and nice surrounds. The best thing about the hotel was the location, a very easy walk to anything and in the end what is not to like about Bruges. So I would stay again for the location but next time say I want a room from the website photos!

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs I was practically at the reception so too much foot traffic passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel The Peellaert - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £102 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing