We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Room”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is in an excellent position, close to sites. Superb public rooms.
Was a bit miffed when we had paid extra for a "Quality room" and had a room that was fine
if you had one leg shorter than the other and were under a metre tall. (it was in the roof)
On checking out a rather rude receptionist said the "standard and quality are the same"

Room Tip: Don't take room 2401 unless you have one leg shorter than the other and are under 2' tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiratesofCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,351
    777
    132
    40
    29
See reviews for
537
2,075
60
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were in a tour group so did not select the hotel ourselves; however, if we are ever lucky enough to get back to Bruges, we would return to the Casselbergh hotel. We were assigned to rooms in the new building. The bathroom was modern with separate shower and a very large, luxurious tub. The closet was the largest on our trip through 5 countries and included convenient shelves. The bed was very comfortable. We appreciated the coffee and tea provided in the room. Frankly, we only slept there and ate the included breakfast. Otherwise, we were out exploring the city. We slept well every night without being bothered by street noise or noisy guests.The entire staff was very accomodating and pleasant, The lobby was impressively decorated. The whole place is beautiful and very clean. Our group had a quick meeting in the elegant room by the front desk. Above all, this hotel has an excellent location, just two blocks to the Burg Square.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved this hotel, room was large and modern - 2nd floor with view of the parking lot but the trees were in the way, so it didn't matter. Loved the bathroom with separate shower. Excellent location. A little disappointed with the spa - we thought there was a mineral bath but only steam and dry sauna's - floor very slippery when wet. Lounging area was nice but the road noise came through.
Breakfast was wonderful, excellent selection. Staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We were located in the newer section on the 2nd floor - one floor up would have had a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely lovely. It is somehow luxurious and quaint/charming at the same time. The location is also fantastic, just a few steps from the historic center. The rooms aren't huge, but they are very nice and well appointed. I'm not sure if I paid extra, but my room had a view of the canal, which was absolutely lovely. It was very expensive, but when I booked the hotel it was in the middle of December during the Christmas season and Christmas market and every hotel was very expensive, so I was okay with paying the price for the location and quality.

Room Tip: Canal view room is worth it! Just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had the opportunity to visit Bruges last summer. Originally, we were staying at another hotel but as it was full, they sent us to Grand Hotel Casselbergh. I have to say that it was beneficial for us. The hotel is located in an old house, like a castle and very-well decorated. The breakfast we had there had a huge variety of products and rooms were perfect. What I liked the most was its location. We were in the city centre walking five minutes. I completely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintsnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as a group of 4 women in one of the beautiful split level family rooms for a long weekend. I cannot praise the hotel, surroundings, facilities and our break highly enough! Breakfast was great, facilities clean & beautifully maintained. The location couldn't have been better, 2 min walk to the market square, but no noise at night!! You certainly feel like you have had a touch of luxury!
You won't be disappointed if you visit this amazing place & stay here!
We will be back! X

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

In Bruges, it is still possible to stay in an exceptional hotel at a reasonable price. And it would be hard to beat the Casselbergh - outstandingly located in town, with beautiful facilities in the grand style and with remarkably helpful staff. One weak point: breakfast was quite disappointing for a hotel of this excellence, and as it is the final experience of most guests at the hotel, this is a mistake.

Room Tip: The hotel's old wing is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing