We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent. So close to restaurants, attractions and historic part of Brugge. Hotel is very beautiful. We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was included in our stay and we were not disappointed, very tasty meal, where you could find everything what you wanted. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,536 - 1,542 of 3,589 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

This very traditional hotel could not be better located. Right in the heart of the city and with its own underground parking. The rooms are large, very well equipped, quiet and some have views of the canals. The breakfast buffet is outstanding.

The service was good apart from the bar where there was a trainee whose future does not lie in the hospitality business - or indeed any business where an interface with the public is required.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a tour with Riviera holidays. The hotel is in a quiet road and has an old part containing the public rooms and some bedrooms, and a modern part to the rear, which has more bedrooms. We stayed in the modern part and were very pleased with the size of the room, the quality of the furnishings and the very nice bathroom which had lashings of hot water at all times.
The breakfast, provided in the basement dining room,was very good. The lounges and bar areas were beautifully appointed with luxurious furniture and fabrics. Having a drink or coffee there at the end of the day is a very pleasant experience.
Throughout, the hotel was immaculately clean and there was not even a chip anywhere in paintwork or woodwork. It was also exceptionally quiet and the bedrooms well insulated from neighbouring ones. The hotel is very well situated in the centre of old Bruges.
I think even the most fastidious would be well pleased if they chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This certainly is a grand hotel of the old-fashioned charming ways. We were warmly greeted at reception by Bo who was very helpful and really went the extra mile to make sure we were happy. Considering we arrived looking like wrung out indigents after a horrendous 11 hour drive across Germany, that was generous of her and to offer us an upgrade. We had booked an executive room but were given an upgrade to a superior. Looking at the photos, I can’t tell the difference. That said, the room was very spacious and elegant with 18 foot ceilings and beautiful drapery. There is a large sitting area perfect for our son to escape from us in his rollaway bed! I slept like a log in a VERY comfortable and wide bed. There is a separate shower in the bathroom – a bonus. Although the hotel doesn’t have its own restaurant, there are plenty nearby and the reception will give advice depending on which cuisine you prefer. The breakfast buffet was vast. We will book to stay here when we return for the Xmas markets at the end of the year. Highly recommended if you appreciate class and elegance.

Room Tip: Book and exec or a superior room so that you'll be in the older part of the hotel - fully renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel in June after having already stayed at Hotel Heritage a year before (which i would equally recommend if you're looking for more of a boutique type of hotel). The hotel is situated in the ideal location right by the main squares. The room we stayed in were very comfortable with a good view of the canal. Breakfast was amazing so remember to check if that is included in the price. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb4712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This historic hotel is sure to please. It backs up to beautiful canal and a very short walk to all the sites you want to see in Brugge. Being so close to the Burg and Market squares you have access to many wonderful restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has a wonderful breakfast built into the room rate.
After a full day of sightseeing, cosy up in the bar room for a delightful Belgium beer.

Room Tip: There is no on site restaurant but many great ones within steps from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel has many positives. Firstly it is really well located right in the heart of Bruges and a few steps away from the main sights, for exploring it is excellent. The décor style of the hotel is nice with a level of charm that is both pleasing and different. The service at reception was good and helpful with storing luggage and ordering taxis. The actual room was relatively small and had most things you would expect, but this is where attention to detail let the room down a little. The remote control was broken and the back fell off every time you picked it up. The tea/coffee tray had no milk or cream and only too sachets of tea (black tea at that). There had been a spillage of some kind - cleaning product on 2 areas of the carpet and the chairs had previous small stains from spillages on them. It is this attention to detail and care in the room for guests that makes the room okay and takes it to very good or excellent. Breakfast was buffet which was busy on one on the mornings which affected service a little. The choice was fine. The hotel is about a mile from the railway station and a bus takes you to the centre of Bruges and a short walk to the hotel or a taxi is 9 euro's. I would recommend this hotel for its location and service but for me the little touches in the room and care of furnishings let it down slightly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter1Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £110 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing