We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The location of the hotel is convenient for all sightseeing. We just took a bus from the train station to the Market and then had a less than a 5 minute walk from there. We had booked the least expensive room and I was a little nervous when they gave us a room right off the elevator. I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was. The hotel is lovely, the bathroom was huge and had a separate rain shower. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and had lots of great choices. This is a wonderful hotel and I would highly recommend it. The only small issue I had was that the wifi was a little spotty in the room. If you could live with that, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,324
    767
    125
    40
    29
See reviews for
526
2,052
60
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

First of all - never have I met a more professional and helpful staff at the front desk. So friendly and accomodating. The hotel itself is stunningly beautiful inside and it has a lovely bar and lounge area. Huge sitting area, fitness room and it is very spacious.

Location wise it is in the middle of everything! We had a gorgeous room overlooking the canal which was wonderful. The room was very large and the bathroom was spacious and the king sized bed extremely comfortable. There was nothing wrong with this hotel. There was nothing wrong with Bruges! Just a great vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iannation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in August 2014. What can I say? The Casselbergh is a subtly grand, peaceful haven from which to hide from the hordes. From the moment you step in, you are looked after and immediately feel relaxed. We were upgraded to a deluxe room in the original part of the building and it was just beautiful, with its crystal chandelier and mountains of space. Pure heaven. The public areas were lovely, clean and relaxing. I can't recommend this place enough. There was a Trainee working in the hotel, both on reception and bar called Femke (I think). She was just brilliant. Exceptionally helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. She took a keen interest in her job and in the experience of the guests, and really was brilliant. She deserves a bonus this year, it is not often that you get such exceptional service. I would highly recommend the Grand Casselbergh. The only issue was that there was no restaurant, this would really have made tho hotel faultless.

Room Tip: We had 1107/1110 and they were both spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Allen1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This impressive hotel in such a convenient location, does not disappoint. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Refreshing showers backed up with a first class breakfast to suit all tastes,
provide a sound base for a short break.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDerekA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely hotel , stayed in a room in older section , just wonderful.
Very well located,walking distance to center of the city and to best attractions and sights.
I would get angry if a friend of mine didn´t consider booking there and decided to stay somewhere else .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Quite a comfortable hotel with good rather spacious room. Excellent bathroom with separate bath and shower. Somewhat boring colours beige/brown. Excellent breakfast buffet with comfortable seatings. Very nice bar and adjoining comfortable salons, seating areas with nice chairs and couches. Very well located in centre of pittoresque Bruges. Underground garage with lift at attractive prices, which comes in handy when travelling by car.
Friendly helpful staff. No restaurant, but no big deal as many restaurants are around the corner. Nice to have a room looking on the river. Vey quite.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First, this is a beautiful hotel and our suite in the old section was beautiful. That said, the service and amenities were very disappointing. I would give zero stars for service, except for a very helpful older gentleman at the front desk who helped us with a dinner recommendation. The younger women at the front desk basically told us to take it or leave it with every request. I have three examples:
1. There are no down pillows in the hotel- none. I asked and was told no accommodation could be made. I reported that our pillows were lumpy or very hard and she told me all the rest of the hotel pillows were the same.
2. There is no cappuccino machine in the hotel. When I inquired, I was told they could bring me warm milk to put into my coffee, and then did not bring it.
3. This is my absolute favorite: there are no washcloths in the hotel. When I asked for one, the lady gave me directions for the Inno department store on Steenstraat, where I could buy my own. I actually went and bought two, which cost me €4 each. It only took me 15 minutes to walk there and 15 minutes to walk back. I checked whether they stocked down pillows while I was there, but they did not.

I noticed that the room did not have an iron or ironing board, but at least I saw a note in the book which indicated I could request one, but I was afraid of what the front desk would say if I called.

Considering how excited I was to stay in this hotel, I cannot wait to leave tomorrow. Reserve this hotel if you like a lovely decor, but don't expect good service or basic amenities one would expect with a hotel of this reputation or price point.

Ps, no turndown service, no newspapers and certainly no Belgian chocolates on the lumpy pillow.

Room Tip: The older section rooms are quite beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baptist B, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Madam, Sir

Thank you for your review on Grand Hotel Casselbergh on Tripadvisor.

I see that you were a little disappointed in our service and amenities. Please let me clarify some things for you.

First of all, we do not provide down pillows in the hotel because of not being very hygienic. This will also be the case in 95% of the hotels in Belgium.

Next, I would like to point out that we provide coffee and tea services in the room but we do not foresee rooms with their own cappuccino machines. A cappuccino could be brought up, when ordering it through room service.

Daily multilingual newspapers are provided downstairs in the lobby area.

At least I would like to mention that wash cloths are ‘not done’ in European hotels. It is probably a local habit?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges

Property: Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Address: Hoogstraat 6, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Casselbergh has many qualities that will guarantee you a special stay. Rich history is combined with modern luxury. The location, at the heart of the historical centre of Bruges - a UNESCO world heritage city - with its wonderful mediaeval buildings and idyllic canals, make the hotel unique. This luxurious hotel has been created out of three historical residences known as 'Casselbergh', 'Zeven Torens', and 't Fransch Schildt'. These buildings were owned and lived in throughout many centuries by leading citizens and the local aristocracy. Breathe in and enjoy the atmosphere of a bygone age! To the rear, a new wing has been added with quality architecture that is perfectly integrated with the surrounding buildings. Grand Hotel Casselbergh has 118 elegant rooms. They combine modern luxury with the authentic charm of 18th-century Bruges. The hotel has various meeting rooms, 40 parking places, and a superbly appointed wellness centre in the 16th-century cellars. This romantic hotel is certain to enchant you and welcome you with its attentive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing